We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A paradise on earth!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mustapha's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mustapha's Place
Paje, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Bwejuu B&B and Inns
Nantes, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A paradise on earth!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed twice this year 2013 in Mustapha's place.
This is simply my favourite place in Zanzibar, in Tanzania, in Africa and yes maybe in the world I visited.

You can live there at our own rythm. Share if you want to share. Relaxing if you need it.
There is a true natural mystic in this place.
Obviously the beach looks like paradise.
But it is definitely the paradise when you take time to meet the people managing the place.
I will definitely come back and spend all my time of vacations in this place!

Come there, wake up and live...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
14
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Absolutely no sign in the village the place is located, the hotel isn't located on the road either so hard to find. You literally have to just wander around asking locals (who don't necessary speak your language) where it is.

The hotel is in a nice little compound but a bit too natural in ways, lots of ants everywhere - including hundreds in one of our beds, maybe just bad luck though.

Restaurant is very expensive, ten times local prices if you just wander outside and go to cafe.

Just a one minute walk to the beach. The beach is nice but not ideal for swimming as the water's only 50 cm deep for hundreds of metres out to sea, so you can crawl in the water but not swim.

No wifi but you can use owners laptop to check mail.

Great breakfast, yum yum yum.

Room Tip: Check for ants and make sure net is relatively hole free. Just a couple of bathrooms (shared), take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed @Mustaphas place for a total of 5 nights. Previous reviews describe it pretty accurately: it is a really laid back place and some of the sea food curries are divine, its set 50 metres back from a lovely beach, the staff are all really friendly and it's undoubtedly good value for bwejuu.

Having said that we did think there were a couple of things worth noting;

The rooms are small and pretty basic (loud ceiling fan and not a lot of storage space)
The bar drinks are slightly overpriced, when you consider the price of the rooms.
Our room was not cleaned over the 5 nights we were there
No wifi (no big deal but nice to have)

Anyway overall definitely a 4 out of 5.




Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the end of our 9 days on Zanzibar. Mustapha's is quirky and laid back. The grounds are so welcoming we spent most of our stay just relaxing in the compound--reading in the hammocks, playing cards while enjoying a drink, and eating their delicious food. The beach is a quick walk away and is very quiet. There's quite a bit of seaweed right near Mustapha's and we ended up walking about a quarter mile south to swim in clearer water. We were only there one full day and wanted to relax so we didn't explore the area much. Bicycles seem to be the preferred mode of transportation and Mustapha's could rent them to you. The compound was always full of happy people, most of them young backpackers full of lively conversation. Regae music added to the atmosphere.
We had a room with a private bath and hot water (Hickman). It was nice with a huge mosquito net but the fan wasn't really up to the task of working up a breeze. If I had it to do over, I'd probably spend less money for a room without a bath since the extra humidity of the bathroom contributed to the stuffiness of the room.
The service was friendly and accommodating. We had to leave before 6AM for an early flight. When I asked if we could get a banana the night before since we'd miss breakfast they offered to get up early and give us breakfast so we had the full plate of fruit and juice at 5:30AM (we didn't have eggs--that would have been too much to ask for).
There's no wifi, but we didn't miss it.

Room Tip: Be aware that a private bath adds humidity to the room which can be an issue since there's no ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I miss them so much!!
Fantastic place, fantastic people!!
We were travelling around tanzania and zanzibar, and we ended in the most perfect place in the most perfect way, meeting all the people we've met at Mustapha's Place, such a nice and creative place, the houses are beautiful, the rooms are really nice, the music is perfect for the spot! I would live there...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalomo, Zambia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights over New Year. The room was how expected and compared to other places on the island everything worked. The place in total very nicely made. The service and food were excellent, the staff very friendly!! Definitly a place to be recommendet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at Mustaphas Place for 10 nights over Christmas and New Year. It was the perfect place for us (a family with 3 couples). The rooms with fans were ok, what we expected and since we only spend time there to sleep they were sufficient. We enjoyed the good food (which is actually cheaper than in the other restaurants along the beach) and the super friendly and helpful staff. Every request we had was fulfilled. It was really good value for the price (we paid 35 USD for a double room without bathroom and although it was high season the prices were not increased). Mustaphas place is 50m away from the beach which did not bother us because we simply took our sun shade when high tide was coming and went into the direction of Paje and set the sun shade up whereever we wanted. When it was low tide we spend time on the very nice compound of Mustaphas Place, enjoyed fresh fruit juices in the shade and played cards. If you are not looking for a luxurious hotel, but for a friedly place with very nice and helpful people and if you are considering your budget, Mustaphas Place is the perfect choice! We recommend it and would come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mustapha's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mustapha's Place

Address: Paje, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bwejuu
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your idea of nirvana is to unwind totally in a friendly, unique and unpretentious guesthouse set in stunning gardens, minutes from one of the most gorgeous beaches anywhere, you’ve come to the right place...Our rooms, restaurant and bar are funky and original, and there’s always a good mix of travellers and locals. If you want to meet new people, exchange ideas and experience the real Zanzibar, Mustapha’s is the place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mustapha's Place Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mustapha's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mustapha's Place to your Saves list