We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mustapha's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Mustapha's Place
Save Saved
You added Mustapha's Place to your Saves list
Paje, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Bwejuu B&B and Inns
Kalomo, Zambia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great spot, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for two nights over New Year. The room was how expected and compared to other places on the island everything worked. The place in total very nicely made. The service and food were excellent, the staff very friendly!! Definitly a place to be recommendet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
16
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at Mustaphas Place for 10 nights over Christmas and New Year. It was the perfect place for us (a family with 3 couples). The rooms with fans were ok, what we expected and since we only spend time there to sleep they were sufficient. We enjoyed the good food (which is actually cheaper than in the other restaurants along the beach) and the super friendly and helpful staff. Every request we had was fulfilled. It was really good value for the price (we paid 35 USD for a double room without bathroom and although it was high season the prices were not increased). Mustaphas place is 50m away from the beach which did not bother us because we simply took our sun shade when high tide was coming and went into the direction of Paje and set the sun shade up whereever we wanted. When it was low tide we spend time on the very nice compound of Mustaphas Place, enjoyed fresh fruit juices in the shade and played cards. If you are not looking for a luxurious hotel, but for a friedly place with very nice and helpful people and if you are considering your budget, Mustaphas Place is the perfect choice! We recommend it and would come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Visited Bwejuu in the east coast and stayed at Mustapha's place for 9 nights,our flight arrived at 19.00hrs and the hotel had arranged for someone to pick us at 25$( from Kisauni to Bwejjuu is 1hour) It was a lovely place, friendly people, value for the money. Initially stayed in a shared room which was 30$,however was very hot given the time of the year(November- December is very hot), the administrator was very quick to help and we moved to a slightly more expensive one which was 50$ per room(Hickman) with a larger bathroom and all was well. The staff was very helpful when asked for advise where to go an the activities to engage into. Safari Blue was the highlight of my stay in Zanzibar. The beach was very close, 30 seconds walk. The locals were friendly. Lovely fresh juice they make and very cheap. You can get a massage anytime you need it, just let the administrator know and it will be done (at a cost ofcourse). I loved the aromatheraphy massage especially. Will definetly return and stay here.
Tip: Don't even think about forgetting your sun cream because it can get pretty hot especially November, December and January it doesn't matter which colour your skin is,you need it!!! Carolyne.

Room Tip: Visited Bwejuu in the east coast and stayed at Mustapha's place for 9 nights,our flight arrived...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iringa, Tanzania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

For someone not looking to spend too much and to have a great time, this place is perfect! Great prices, especially for Zanzibar, which is typically more expensive that mainland Tanzania. We stayed here for three nights and loved it because it is cheaper as it is not right on the beach but it's about a 3 minute walk through a little pathway just outside the hotel entrance! Perfect! So close you don't need to take anything, just put your cosi on and go! Everyone knows this hotel so it is easy to get a taxi or shuttle bus right outside. If you get a shared bus you can get the price to about 10,000 tsh each as it is only an hour drive from Stone Town and you will be sharing with other people. It is easy enough to do as lots of people are making their way over to the east coast. And it is easy to get back. Bwejuu beach is lovely and quieter than a lot of the other beaches like Paje, which is nicer and more relaxed, but you still get the occasional masai wanting to show you their 'pole pole' shop! We had a problem with a first room, even though it was lovely, the 'treetop' room, very different and unique and sort of romantic! Shared bathroom but for $30 for the room, including breakfast, you cannot complain (this was not in peak season, it may be more in the busier times). The shared bathroom was fine and even though I am a little picky, we had no problems with it, it was clean and everything was functional! Better to shower in the afternoon not the morning as I think the sun heats the water up a little! However, as I said, we had a little problem with it, but they moved us straight away into a bigger room with a private bathroom for the same price as the cheaper one and so we have no complaints at all! Our second room was the Jasmine room which is normally $50, but you get your own bathroom, more space and a nice balcony! It really depends on you, but this hotel has rooms for people wanting to spend less or more! The breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit, eggs and chapati! Perfect, especially for the price you are paying. The best thing about this hotel is how flexible and easy going the staff are. We went on a dolphin trip on our last day and the timing meant we would miss breakfast but they let us have it a little later out of normal breakfast time with no problem at all! Lovely campfire to sit round in the evening, great place to chat to other guests and meet new people! Very social place with games you can play.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We originally booked 3 nights, but stayed for 14. We felt very well taken care of and the atmosphere was very welcomming and warm. And relaxing! If you, like us, want to experience a stay in Zanzibar that brings out more than the usual hotelexperience Mustapha's Place is an exellent choice. We hired the driver for a few days, and got to experience so many beautiful places safely, but adventurous at once. We went for snorkeling, sunset, daytrips to far away beaches among other things. We absolutley loved our stay, and would highly recommend it to others, honeymooners, backpackers.. anyone!
Travelling two young girls, we could not have felt more safe than we did. Every single person at this hotel is warm people with everyones best at heart. The food is great by the way!
We felt as if we became "part of the family" and we are definitly going back there soon.
The rooms are nice, cosy and clean, fresh flowers on the bed when you get back from a day at the beach. The last thing you want when you are travelling is probably to feel at home, but at Mustaphas´s Place you do, but in a good vacation-way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I went to Mustapha's Place to stay on the East Coast of Zanzibar, which I had heard was a much better area to stay than the North Coast for someone not trying to party every night. There's still plenty to do, even partying if you want to, but the experience is more true to the real Zanzibar. Originally, I went to stay for 11 nights. A month later I was back again and I ended up living there for two months... I felt that at home. Hope that sums it up for everyone. Without a doubt, this is the place you need to be.

Room Tip: There are plenty of room options. Shared bathroom for those who want a cheaper price and private bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Awesome stay. This is the perfect place to kick back and unwind. Mustapha's is 50 meters from the water and you can almost taste the breeze from your room. The staff is full of good people and are very hospitable. Every maintenance detail is always swiftly taken care of to keep the day moving smoothly. The food here is unbelievable, if you are a fan of seafood and fruit then this is definitely the place for you. Two thumbs up, I recommend Mustapha's place to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mustapha's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mustapha's Place

Address: Paje, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bwejuu
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your idea of nirvana is to unwind totally in a friendly, unique and unpretentious guesthouse set in stunning gardens, minutes from one of the most gorgeous beaches anywhere, you’ve come to the right place...Our rooms, restaurant and bar are funky and original, and there’s always a good mix of travellers and locals. If you want to meet new people, exchange ideas and experience the real Zanzibar, Mustapha’s is the place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mustapha's Place Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mustapha's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;