We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mustapha's Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mustapha's Place to your Saves list
Mustapha's Place
Paje, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Bwejuu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Iringa, Tanzania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

For someone not looking to spend too much and to have a great time, this place is perfect! Great prices, especially for Zanzibar, which is typically more expensive that mainland Tanzania. We stayed here for three nights and loved it because it is cheaper as it is not right on the beach but it's about a 3 minute walk through a little pathway just outside the hotel entrance! Perfect! So close you don't need to take anything, just put your cosi on and go! Everyone knows this hotel so it is easy to get a taxi or shuttle bus right outside. If you get a shared bus you can get the price to about 10,000 tsh each as it is only an hour drive from Stone Town and you will be sharing with other people. It is easy enough to do as lots of people are making their way over to the east coast. And it is easy to get back. Bwejuu beach is lovely and quieter than a lot of the other beaches like Paje, which is nicer and more relaxed, but you still get the occasional masai wanting to show you their 'pole pole' shop! We had a problem with a first room, even though it was lovely, the 'treetop' room, very different and unique and sort of romantic! Shared bathroom but for $30 for the room, including breakfast, you cannot complain (this was not in peak season, it may be more in the busier times). The shared bathroom was fine and even though I am a little picky, we had no problems with it, it was clean and everything was functional! Better to shower in the afternoon not the morning as I think the sun heats the water up a little! However, as I said, we had a little problem with it, but they moved us straight away into a bigger room with a private bathroom for the same price as the cheaper one and so we have no complaints at all! Our second room was the Jasmine room which is normally $50, but you get your own bathroom, more space and a nice balcony! It really depends on you, but this hotel has rooms for people wanting to spend less or more! The breakfast was delicious, fresh fruit, eggs and chapati! Perfect, especially for the price you are paying. The best thing about this hotel is how flexible and easy going the staff are. We went on a dolphin trip on our last day and the timing meant we would miss breakfast but they let us have it a little later out of normal breakfast time with no problem at all! Lovely campfire to sit round in the evening, great place to chat to other guests and meet new people! Very social place with games you can play.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieAmelia93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We originally booked 3 nights, but stayed for 14. We felt very well taken care of and the atmosphere was very welcomming and warm. And relaxing! If you, like us, want to experience a stay in Zanzibar that brings out more than the usual hotelexperience Mustapha's Place is an exellent choice. We hired the driver for a few days, and got to experience so many beautiful places safely, but adventurous at once. We went for snorkeling, sunset, daytrips to far away beaches among other things. We absolutley loved our stay, and would highly recommend it to others, honeymooners, backpackers.. anyone!
Travelling two young girls, we could not have felt more safe than we did. Every single person at this hotel is warm people with everyones best at heart. The food is great by the way!
We felt as if we became "part of the family" and we are definitly going back there soon.
The rooms are nice, cosy and clean, fresh flowers on the bed when you get back from a day at the beach. The last thing you want when you are travelling is probably to feel at home, but at Mustaphas´s Place you do, but in a good vacation-way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madelene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I went to Mustapha's Place to stay on the East Coast of Zanzibar, which I had heard was a much better area to stay than the North Coast for someone not trying to party every night. There's still plenty to do, even partying if you want to, but the experience is more true to the real Zanzibar. Originally, I went to stay for 11 nights. A month later I was back again and I ended up living there for two months... I felt that at home. Hope that sums it up for everyone. Without a doubt, this is the place you need to be.

Room Tip: There are plenty of room options. Shared bathroom for those who want a cheaper price and private bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Awesome stay. This is the perfect place to kick back and unwind. Mustapha's is 50 meters from the water and you can almost taste the breeze from your room. The staff is full of good people and are very hospitable. Every maintenance detail is always swiftly taken care of to keep the day moving smoothly. The food here is unbelievable, if you are a fan of seafood and fruit then this is definitely the place for you. Two thumbs up, I recommend Mustapha's place to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KenyattaLives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessalonike, Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

we spent some nights with some friends at mustaphas place and had a really great time!the people were wonderful, friendly and very helpful!they were eager to answer any question and to help us arrange some excursions and day trips.the rooms were special, causy, clean and not at all expensive for the quality offered. breakfast was fresh and delicious and lunch was verey tasty as well. at nights we spent some relaxing time next to the fire at the hotel..or went to some of the closest beach bars in the region.
the best place to really let go and relax next to the beach with great company!!thank you for you hospitality!miss u alessandra!hope to see you again;))

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spilimbergo, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

It was a fantastic experience. I was there with some friends, some of them left some arrived.. we change every day the reservation but it wasnt a problem. Its a very Hakuna Matata place!
People there were very useful for every information and problem, they find for us bikes and boat for snorkeling. There is not much to do on Bwejuu but this wasnt our plane, we find a relax area, fire and amaca, 7km beach, different kind of activities are close to them (village, boat for snorkeling, see woman collecting see vegetable, safariblu, bike on the beach ecc) some party on the beach, food is super and brekfast is with fresh fruit and gnammy omlete including in the price :)
Room are silent, clear and very tipical. People were fantastic, friendly and nice, I didnt feel good one day and they cared about me.

You can feel like home, without stress, in a safety place, with reggae music, far from resort and "fancy" peolple, and in HakunaMatata philosophy.

You have just to know that this place is far 1hour from StoneTown and u can't find bank there so get the money and all u need before your arrived. If u want with a DallaDalla (mini public bus) that cost just 1euro u can arrive in the city every day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silvia_blazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Mustapha's Place is a nice accomodation. A good atmosphere, thanks to creatively decorated rooms (each with its own style), lovely music (for example Bob Marley ans Sam Cooke) and a campfire every evening. Not expensive at all. Close to the sea, where swimming is good during high tide and impossioble during low tide. Food was ok, not excellent but not bad either. Staff was sometimes a bit grumpy, except for Culture, one of the owners, with a rasta look and a very friendly attitude.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RolfHarbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bwejuu
1.6 mi away
Evergreen Bungalows
Evergreen Bungalows
#8 of 12 in Bwejuu
4.5 of 5 stars 65 reviews
11.8 mi away
Pumzika Beach Resort
Pumzika Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Makunduchi
5.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
6.9 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 11 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#7 of 11 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
23.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
0.8 mi away
Summer Dream Lodge
Summer Dream Lodge
#1 of 15 in Paje
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mustapha's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mustapha's Place

Address: Paje, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your idea of nirvana is to unwind totally in a friendly, unique and unpretentious guesthouse set in stunning gardens, minutes from one of the most gorgeous beaches anywhere, you’ve come to the right place...Our rooms, restaurant and bar are funky and original, and there’s always a good mix of travellers and locals. If you want to meet new people, exchange ideas and experience the real Zanzibar, Mustapha’s is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mustapha's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mustapha's Place Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing