We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mustapha's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mustapha's Place
Save Saved
You added Mustapha's Place to your Saves list
Paje, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Bwejuu B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The perfect stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We originally booked 3 nights, but stayed for 14. We felt very well taken care of and the atmosphere was very welcomming and warm. And relaxing! If you, like us, want to experience a stay in Zanzibar that brings out more than the usual hotelexperience Mustapha's Place is an exellent choice. We hired the driver for a few days, and got to experience so many beautiful places safely, but adventurous at once. We went for snorkeling, sunset, daytrips to far away beaches among other things. We absolutley loved our stay, and would highly recommend it to others, honeymooners, backpackers.. anyone!
Travelling two young girls, we could not have felt more safe than we did. Every single person at this hotel is warm people with everyones best at heart. The food is great by the way!
We felt as if we became "part of the family" and we are definitly going back there soon.
The rooms are nice, cosy and clean, fresh flowers on the bed when you get back from a day at the beach. The last thing you want when you are travelling is probably to feel at home, but at Mustaphas´s Place you do, but in a good vacation-way.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    11
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
17
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I went to Mustapha's Place to stay on the East Coast of Zanzibar, which I had heard was a much better area to stay than the North Coast for someone not trying to party every night. There's still plenty to do, even partying if you want to, but the experience is more true to the real Zanzibar. Originally, I went to stay for 11 nights. A month later I was back again and I ended up living there for two months... I felt that at home. Hope that sums it up for everyone. Without a doubt, this is the place you need to be.

Room Tip: There are plenty of room options. Shared bathroom for those who want a cheaper price and private bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Awesome stay. This is the perfect place to kick back and unwind. Mustapha's is 50 meters from the water and you can almost taste the breeze from your room. The staff is full of good people and are very hospitable. Every maintenance detail is always swiftly taken care of to keep the day moving smoothly. The food here is unbelievable, if you are a fan of seafood and fruit then this is definitely the place for you. Two thumbs up, I recommend Mustapha's place to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessalonike, Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

we spent some nights with some friends at mustaphas place and had a really great time!the people were wonderful, friendly and very helpful!they were eager to answer any question and to help us arrange some excursions and day trips.the rooms were special, causy, clean and not at all expensive for the quality offered. breakfast was fresh and delicious and lunch was verey tasty as well. at nights we spent some relaxing time next to the fire at the hotel..or went to some of the closest beach bars in the region.
the best place to really let go and relax next to the beach with great company!!thank you for you hospitality!miss u alessandra!hope to see you again;))

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spilimbergo, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

It was a fantastic experience. I was there with some friends, some of them left some arrived.. we change every day the reservation but it wasnt a problem. Its a very Hakuna Matata place!
People there were very useful for every information and problem, they find for us bikes and boat for snorkeling. There is not much to do on Bwejuu but this wasnt our plane, we find a relax area, fire and amaca, 7km beach, different kind of activities are close to them (village, boat for snorkeling, see woman collecting see vegetable, safariblu, bike on the beach ecc) some party on the beach, food is super and brekfast is with fresh fruit and gnammy omlete including in the price :)
Room are silent, clear and very tipical. People were fantastic, friendly and nice, I didnt feel good one day and they cared about me.

You can feel like home, without stress, in a safety place, with reggae music, far from resort and "fancy" peolple, and in HakunaMatata philosophy.

You have just to know that this place is far 1hour from StoneTown and u can't find bank there so get the money and all u need before your arrived. If u want with a DallaDalla (mini public bus) that cost just 1euro u can arrive in the city every day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Mustapha's Place is a nice accomodation. A good atmosphere, thanks to creatively decorated rooms (each with its own style), lovely music (for example Bob Marley ans Sam Cooke) and a campfire every evening. Not expensive at all. Close to the sea, where swimming is good during high tide and impossioble during low tide. Food was ok, not excellent but not bad either. Staff was sometimes a bit grumpy, except for Culture, one of the owners, with a rasta look and a very friendly attitude.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We loved Mustapha's Place. To be sure, Bwejuu is not the place to go if you're looking for nightlife or want to meet lots of other foreigners, it's just a small village of local people with a few other hotels. It's not too far from Paje, which has more going on, but Bwejuu itself is a calm place for just relaxing at the beach. Maybe a bit pricey ($40 for the tree room), but it was the perfect beach hotel.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mustapha's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mustapha's Place

Address: Paje, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bwejuu
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If your idea of nirvana is to unwind totally in a friendly, unique and unpretentious guesthouse set in stunning gardens, minutes from one of the most gorgeous beaches anywhere, you’ve come to the right place...Our rooms, restaurant and bar are funky and original, and there’s always a good mix of travellers and locals. If you want to meet new people, exchange ideas and experience the real Zanzibar, Mustapha’s is the place for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mustapha's Place Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mustapha's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.