We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing place....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Bellevue Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bellevue Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   P.O. Box 364 | Stone Town, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Bwejuu B&B and Inns
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
“amazing place....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

bellevue is an amazing place with a great vibe....the hostes are very nice, and I went out with them sometimes. The most beatifull place was the Kai Funk Bar....an amazing beachbar in the middle of nowhere...The food was great and the rooms where clean and nice....I can really recommend this place!

Room Tip: all the rooms are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    29
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
69
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Me and my wife had a very good stay in Bellevue!

The (dutch) hosts are very friendly and they will help you with all the lovely things you can do on the island as Kiteboarding, snorkling, renting a scooter and SUP-ing. The bungalows are clean and the food is good.

We stayed for a little over a week and we were very sad to go off to our Safari in the Serengeti (which was also very good BTW).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We enjoyed much our stay at Bellevue guesthouse and were very satisfied with our choice, and the services and price/quality ratio offered. The room is pleasant and clean, and the terrace where one can eat and relax is wonderfully done. The staff is friendly and helpful, and importantly, the food is very tasty. A great plus is the offer of real coffee (and not instant coffee) at breakfast in the morning. Also, the beach is only 2-3 minutes walking from the guesthouse, and though the coast suffers from high/low tide, one can easily enjoy the sea for a considerable chunk of the day. We highly recommend Bellevue for a relaxing time in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Bellevue is a a good clean nicely decorated relaxed and friendly option. The staff were all friendly, all the plumbing worked which is quite something for Zanzibar. The beds were comfortable the snorkeling at Blue lagoon an hours walk away was good ...but for how long no one knows with the locals netting fish in amongst the corals while you snorkel ....
The restaurant was the only disappointment and one would think with them having only a few choices (which all sounded good) each night that the food would be good but it wasn't and we all felt it to be overpriced.
There are other places to eat within walking distance though.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to eat
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent just two days here, loved it! Not the best beach for swimming but the guest house is stunning. Nestled in the bush, full of character and very peaceful. The food was excellent and the staff super nice. They offer a huge range of activities too and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have had a very good time and stay in this guesthouse in March 2013. The staff is wonderful, very friendly and helpful. The place itself is beautiful, clean and serene. The food is quite good, although not very special and very much overpriced. The special rooms (e.g., jungle) are really very special and totally worth the extra price. I found the regular rooms quite dark and especially the bathroom a bit run down, which gives you the feeling it is not clean. If you want to have an unforgetable stay, book one of the special rooms!
All in all, the service, the surroundings and beautiness of the place will make you forgot its weaker points. I would recommend this place (and advice you to have dinner/lunch at one of the neighboring guesthouses/restaurants).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrkoping, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a perfect guesthouse, no matter what you're looking for this place will meet your needs. The staff here is incredible helpful and they really make you feel welcome (thanks for a great stay Jan and others). The rooms are big and clean, and the beach is perfect (except maybe for the tide, but It didn't bother me that much actually, and it also depends on when your'e visiting). I definitely recommend this place to everyone that just wants to "get away". If you're looking for a "partyplace" this maybe isn't for you, although it isn't that far away from Paje were you surely will find some good parties. Again, I definitely recommend this place and I'm sure I'll visit this place again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bellevue Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Guesthouse

Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Bwejuu
Bellevue Hotel
Bellevue Guesthouse Zanzibar/Bwejuu
Address: P.O. Box 364 | Stone Town, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue Guesthouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the hospitality in our cosy Guesthouse, north of Bwejuu, on the southeast coast of Zanzibar! The area of our guesthouse is a great place to relax and just 50 meters away from the beach. Wake up every morning with the beautiful sunrise and a fresh fruit juice. Discover the delicate food from our restaurant. With local fresh sea food and other fresh ingredients we serve local and international orientated dishes on a daily changing menu!Enjoy our green garden, where you read your book in the lounge area, hammocks or on your own private terrace. Take a nice relaxing walk on the stretched white beaches, and enjoy the spectacular colors and tide changes of the ocean.After you done relaxing go for a kitecourse on the amazing beach and waters of Paje. If this is too hectic let our professional tour guide mr. Mussa reveals Zanzibar’s secrets in a Spice Tour, Stone Town City tour or a Dolphin Tour. Go on a Safari Blue, Sea Safari or let our partners take you on their professional organised dive and snorkel trips.We support the local NGO, by organising the Sea Safari where this income directly benefits the local projects organised by the NGO.Bellevue is a small personal Guesthouse, we hope to give you a homy feeling...There is always staff around or one of our management to assist you with any question you may have!Karibu Sana!Melanie & the Bellevue staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Bellevue Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellevue Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.