We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellevue Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Bellevue Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bellevue Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   P.O. Box 364 | Stone Town, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Last Minute Deal: 25% off
Ranked #1 of 7 Bwejuu B&B and Inns
Norrkoping, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a perfect guesthouse, no matter what you're looking for this place will meet your needs. The staff here is incredible helpful and they really make you feel welcome (thanks for a great stay Jan and others). The rooms are big and clean, and the beach is perfect (except maybe for the tide, but It didn't bother me that much actually, and it also depends on when your'e visiting). I definitely recommend this place to everyone that just wants to "get away". If you're looking for a "partyplace" this maybe isn't for you, although it isn't that far away from Paje were you surely will find some good parties. Again, I definitely recommend this place and I'm sure I'll visit this place again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    29
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
71
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den haag
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very nice management , friendly staff, excellent food! The rooms are very comfortabel and the lounge/restaurant is very cosy and inviting. Of the five places we visited on zanzibar this guesthouse was one of the best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have stayed at Bellevue for 12 days during the last week of December and the first week of 2013! If you are looking for a quiet place to stay, next to the beach, with friendly staff and comfortable rooms, THIS IS IT!
Trips can be arranged anywhere you like to go. We enjoyed kite-surfing, diving, scooter trips, and a SUP-tour in the mangroves! The food is great and the menu changes every day!
We can recommend Bellevue to anyone! Asante!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We've been here for a week after 8 days safari in Kenya. It's a nice, charming guest-house with very nice rooms. We had a standard room in tropical style, with a nice place outside to sit with an amazing view on the sea. The restaurant serve very good meals, every day the menu changed. We rent a scooter for 3 days to day, walked along the beach and even there was time for kite-surfing. The local staff was always kind and smiling. We want to come back ! Rien & Jose Idema

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights during NYE. Very relaxed, small size guesthouse with just a few rooms.
Stayed in a standard room which has a spacious bathroom, rooms are sprayed nightly and have 2 fans, so had no issues wiht the heat or mosquitos.
Enjoyed both lunch & dinner in the restuarant a few times, all freshly prepared, enough to choose from and very tasty! There are also a few bars/restaurants directly left and right on the beach if you want some change.

The local staff takes great care of all your needs/wants and does so with a smile.

The management offers a variety of tours, of which we did quite a few. All were delivered on time and as agreed, and were reasonably priced. Can highly recommend renting a scooter to go around the southern end of the island. Stand Up Paddling (SUP) in the Mangroves is fun as well.

The properry is away from the big resorts so you get to see a lot deserted beached :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We just came back from the Kilimanjaro and went straight from Moshi to Bellevue Guesthouse in Zanzibar. It is a charming guesthouse with cozy bungalows. The rooms are well furnished and clean! The restaurant serve good meals with a daily variation of the menu.

It is a really nice place to relax, but the guesthouse also offer a lot of trips and the staff is willing to help you with all your questions. The European staff is excellent. They really know the places to go to and they help you with even the smallest things. They even managed to send my lost watch back to the Netherlands! I would definitely recommend bellevue guesthouse!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
377 helpful votes 377 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

After a disaster at a nearby place we found this charming little collection of neatly kept guest bungalows, with a cozy open air restaurant perched above the beach. The rooms are clean and basically bug-free; no easy fix in Zanzibar. Rooms are simple in keeping with tropical style but the European hosts make sure you have everything you could need.

When planning your Zanzibar trip, decide what part of the island you want to be on first, then select the hotel. If you are coming to the East Coast I heartily recommend Bellevue Guest House and restaurant.

- Christopher, USA

Room Tip: The "luxury" room which is only a little higher in price than standard has extra bed (good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zanzibar4, Manager at Bellevue Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Christopher & Natalia,

Thank you very much for all your kind words! It was a pleasure to have you and to help you spend your last days of your holiday with a good feeling!

Warm regards,
Bernard, Nicoline & Bellevue Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bellevue Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Guesthouse

Address: P.O. Box 364 | Stone Town, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellevue Guesthouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the hospitality in our cosy Guesthouse, north of Bwejuu, on the southeast coast of Zanzibar! The area of our guesthouse is a great place to relax and just 50 meters away from the beach. Wake up every morning with the beautiful sunrise and a fresh fruit juice. Discover the delicate food from our restaurant. With local fresh sea food and other fresh ingredients we serve local and international orientated dishes on a daily changing menu!Enjoy our green garden, where you read your book in the lounge area, hammocks or on your own private terrace. Take a nice relaxing walk on the stretched white beaches, and enjoy the spectacular colors and tide changes of the ocean.After you done relaxing go for a kitecourse on the amazing beach and waters of Paje. If this is too hectic let our professional tour guide mr. Mussa reveals Zanzibar’s secrets in a Spice Tour, Stone Town City tour or a Dolphin Tour. Go on a Safari Blue, Sea Safari or let our partners take you on their professional organised dive and snorkel trips.We support the local NGO, by organising the Sea Safari where this income directly benefits the local projects organised by the NGO.Bellevue is a small personal Guesthouse, we hope to give you a homy feeling...There is always staff around or one of our management to assist you with any question you may have!Karibu Sana!Melanie & the Bellevue staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Bellevue Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Bwejuu
Bellevue Guesthouse Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellevue Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.