We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant

Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant
Bwejuu, Tanzania
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Bwejuu
Restaurant details
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The food here is excellent! Freshly prepared every meal, changing menu and friendly service.Don't expect it fast

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Poor!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

After reading other reviews we stopped in at twisted palms for early dinner. Was so disappointed the hut was in desperate need of tlc, it lacked atmosphere, service was robotic and the beach was disgusting. Covered in litter and seaweed(I know this cant be helped but other places rake it up). The chicken masala with rice I ordered was served up mainly consisting of fatty skin and gristle. My partner ordered fish and enjoyed it though so perhaps seafood is their speciality. The menu changes on a daily basis by the looks of it. Toilet facilities were disgusting and need to be improved. Overall was not impressed and certainly wouldn't return.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

we visited twisted palms during our stay in jambiani and we really loved the food and the atmosphere. the staff is very friendly and was very helpfull to inform us about jambiani and paje

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Plenty of seafood options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We came across this place on a walk up the beach from our hotel - we liked it so much we came here twice. What I particularly liked was that the meals were served in a sort of covered deck on legs, which meant you were out of sight from people on the beach (it was Ramadan). The food was very good, I had crab 'Twisted Palm' style which was amazing, a sort of coconut curry sauce. Unfortunately it wasn't on the menu when we went back, as it seems that the menu changes each day. I had a grilled fish the second time, which was good too.

Considering the price, which was reasonable, the place is a very good venue for lunch. However there was an American girl harrasing us to come for a massage while we were waiting for our food which was annoying, she kept banging on the wall of the cabin to get our attention and seemed a bit out of it. Also the beers could have been colder, although there had been some power cuts earlier that day which probably didn't help.

I think when the tide is high the cabin is out over the water, which would make it an even nicer setting to eat in.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delkicious seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We enjoyed seafood platter and kingfish and chips (children). Delicious octopus salad for starter. Very good value. We were staying next door at Evergreen Bungalows - it was good to be able to come here when we had power cuts in the eveing as (unlike some places) they had a generator.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twisted Palms Lodge & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.