We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlative hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baraza Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Baraza Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Baraza Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE scuba diving!!!
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Superlative hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

How do I start to relate how superb this resort is? Beautiful rooms, superb staff and extraordinary levels of service. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - tape to mend your suitcase - no problem! Unripe papaya to take home with you to your country - no problem!
Two members of staff - Ms Jemimah and Mr Kalei are two of the most sophisticated guest relations managers you will ever encounter anywhere in the world.
We enjoyed FABULOUS food. The served five course meals were divine. Buffets were slightly more hit and miss, but there was always one truly wonderful choice.
The moment I arrived at this beautiful place, I was already plotting how I could get back there for another stay!
I've stayed in some fabulous hotels over the year, but this rates among the very, very best anywhere.
The only possible improvement is in the provision of towels - there is a rather stingy allocation, which guests have to go and almost beg for!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful. Some have beach views, but the garden villas are lovely too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    29
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
108
190
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed at the Baraza for a week, after a safari in Kenya for our honeymoon. The hotel is absolutely stunning. We stayed in an ocean view villa. The rooms are huge, beautifully furnished and very luxurious. The main pool is fantastic as is the Spa. The food is exceptional in choice, quality and execution. Then onto the staff. I've traveled a lot and have never experienced staff who are so attentive, kind and hardworking. There are so many little details and touches by everyone there to ensure you have a perfect holiday. It is of course not a cheap place to go, but if you can afford, DO IT!! Because if you're looking for a really special holiday - it is totally worth it!

Room Tip: Ocean view just as good as ocean front, with a little more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This resort is absolutely outstanding in every way. Aesthetically beautiful with it's Swahili style Arab architecture , lush tropical gardens and a location to die for, Baraza is a perfect chill out destination. The villas are exquisite, tastefully appointed and very large with the bonus of a great walk in wardrobe/ dressing area so no ugly bags invading the bedroom or relaxation space. The food was first class, meals were a treat and the staff were the friendliest and most helpful I have encountered anywhere in the world. Genuine but not servile..
This resort lives up to it's advertising and I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We had a one bedroom villa , one row back from the ocean front villas. Plunge pool and garden area c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed at the Baraza for three nights, the perfect conclusion to a week plus of safari. The drive from the airport to the resort was interesting. Long and a bit edgy. Upon arrival, we knew we had made the right choice. This is without a doubt the best place we have ever stayed. Everything looks as if does on the website and promotional material....only better! The grounds, the public spaces, gorgeous! Our beachfront villa was pure perfection. We never used the plunge pool, but it was simply lovely. The furnishings and the amenities were all awesome. How many adjectives can I use? Well, the food was delicious at every meal. While some may not like the buffet, there is just so many options. One dinner was plated and not buffet. Excellent lobster! The beach is stunning with the sand the texture of flour. At low tide, the reef walks are rather cool. The spa was deluxe. Internet service was weak. We had to sit under our beach canopy to access wifi. No biggie, but I heard from another couple that they are working on this improvement. They got a booster from the front desk and it helped their service. Speaking of service, housekeeping was excellent. I never saw them in our room, but it was always spotless. The concierge arranged a tour into Town Town, which is a must. So, there was a little bombing in Stone Town the evening after we left. Terrorists suck. The drive from the airport and town to Baraza is an adventure! I am surprised more people don't get run over! Zanzibar is overall beautiful and the Baraza is the crown jewel on the island.

Room Tip: We had an oceanfront villa. Splurge if you can. The wandered around and saw the villas that are not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We have just returned from a magical 10 days at Baraza.It was a second visit and unbelievably it was better.I totally agree that the set menus are Michelin star standard.The lobster Thermidor with orange hollandaise is up there with the great restaurants of the world.The staff at all levels are attentive at all times and know when to be discreet.We felt totally safe at all times both on the beach and in Stonetown,the locals were helpful when we got lost without being a pain.Last year we visited for 7 days this year we did 10 Which is perfect..We love the beach front villas as it is so convenient,and not at all overlooked due to the design of the villa.We never go to a repeat resort,Baraza is the exception we will be back again next year.

Room Tip: Beach front villa very convenient.All villas are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

There aren't words to describe the beautiful villa you'll get to stay in here. The private pool is large (when you compare to the sister hotel palms) and the service was top notch. Their kid quarter is to recommend if your traveling as a family!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was our second stay here and again it was outstanding. The service is exceptional with the staff offering you drinks before you realize you need one! The food is absolutely amazing and I would say that it is michelin star standard every night. The villas are huge and are decorated beautifully. They have large bathrooms, a pretty garden with a plunge pool, a lovely lounge and good sized bedrooms. They often have live music in the evenings whilst you're having drinks in the bar or at dinner. The breakfast buffet is incredible- so much choice including waffles, pastries, cooked breakfast, fruit, continental breakfast, prosecco etc. The SPA is definitely worth a visit - a lovely arabian experience and the beach and pool are also very beautiful. We cannot fault this resort. I would give it 6 stars!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Baraza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baraza Resort & Spa

Address: Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baraza Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful resort evokes the heritage of Zanzibar dating back to the era of the Sultans. A fusion of Arabic, Swahili and Indian design, with beautiful arches, hand carved cement décor, beautiful antiques, hand made furniture and intricate brass lanterns, Baraza offers unparalleled standards of luxury on the Island of Zanzibar. Baraza has set a unique standard of luxury accommodation on the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Baraza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baraza Resort And Spa
Baraza Hotel Bwejuu
Baraza Resort & Spa Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baraza Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.