We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baraza Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
You added Baraza Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Baraza Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Abuja, Nigeria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A place to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

For our 10th anniversary, my husband Obi and i (both lawyers, very critical and well travelled) spent 5 days at Baraza resort at an ocean view villa first week in september. The experience was worth every cent as it was exactly what the doctor prescribed. Lots of pampering (which we did not expect but truely needed to de-stress), attention to detail, customer care and ever so accommodating and hands on staff and management. Special thanks to our villa host, who always went the extra mile, the F&B manager who made us feel at home and laugh a lot, the German intern at the bar and the entire team who were simply amazing. The unique architecture reflects the history of Zanzibar. The landscape, nature, unspoilt and beautiful. The people are very warm and easy going.....always hakuna matata, and poli poli. All in all, our experience at Baraza made our get away spectacular. Many thanks from Helen & Obi. Abuja, Nigeria.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed for four nights having done a six night safari and we all thought it was sublime.

Superb two bedroom villa with plunge pool and lovely garden. Wonderfully furnished. Excellent bathrooms.

The pool and gardens are terrific. It was pretty quiet when we were there, but i think even if it was full, there would be tons of spare beds etc.

Food and drinks were very good. We lucked out with the two buffet evenings being our favourite cuisines. Lots of choice for breakfast and lunch. I thought the "inclusive" wines were very decent too.

Super bar for pre-dinner cocktails.

Last word goes to the staff though. Fantastic. Sam went out of his way on numerous occasions to ensure we had a great holiday. Friendly and polite local waiting staff, great housekeeping and gardening staff and lovely villa host too.

I would recommend Baraza to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Baraza from August 21-25 at the start of our honeymoon. After long travel from the US, we were excited to have a beautiful place to relax, enjoy the sun, and decompress.

Baraza was truly spectacular. The resort is beautifully laid out, with a small number of villas and nice lawn/gardens/flowers everywhere. There are beach chairs/tables spread out on the beach overlooking the ocean; there are four covered daybeds by the pool that my wife and I napped on the first day; our private villa was spacious and beautifully appointed; and the food is delicious and five-star, with very nice and extensive options for the breakfast and lunch buffett, and dinner usually from the menu in one of their two restaurants (which alternate every night).

My wife and I were treated to honeymoon specials, including a complementary massage, champagne in the room, and a private beachside lunch. The staff at Baraza went out of their way to look after our needs and we were very impressed.

In short, Baraza was a fantastic place to start our honeymoon, and you will be very happy (and relaxed!) when staying at this wonderful beach paradise. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We spent 10 days on Safari in Tanzania and were told you needed a couple of days rest afterwards to digest the experience. So we looked for a beach in Zanzibar to relax and were told that Baraza was just that.

They were wrong: Baraza is much more than that. Truly amazing surroundings, small number of “rooms” (they only have villas), widely spaced, perfect privacy. Beautiful buildings and amazing food. Sometimes buffet, sometimes a al carte, always surprising in quality and originality. Service is exceptional: my wife walks with a cane so buffet service is always challenging (one hand on the cane, one hand with a plate, now put something on the plate…). The F&B manager is always on the lookout for guests with wandering eyes so he can ask what he can do for you; since I am curious we had a lot of very friendly conversations. He noticed my wife’s problems and immediately allocated someone to the special task of assisting her. This got so far that after two days she was asked if she really didn’t want tomatoes today for breakfast or if she just forgot; he was right and got them for her…
Unforgettable experience, justifiably received many prices.

Room Tip: If you get an ocean view room you are realy on the beach. This means that your privacy is less becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Following our safari in the Kenya and Tanzania my husband and I spent 5 wonderful days at the Baraza in Zanzibar. It was a wonderful experience. We had an ocean view room with our own plunge pool and outdoor day bed. The villas are so spacious and beautifully designed. Our days were spent swimming, reading and relaxing. The food was amazing - we had a package including meals and drinks - so we didn't have to worry about anything but relaxing and enjoying the environment. The staff are friendly, welcoming and make you feel very special. Nothing is too much trouble for them. You can do activities if you like or just chill. This place is wonderful.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room and it was wonderful being able to open the double doors in the morning an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent a thoroughly enjoyable and luxurious week-long stay at the Baraza resort. As a family of four with two teenage boys the SCUBA diving was a great attraction and the boys completed their PADI diving qualification on site. We would have welcomed a wider range of activities as aside from the diving and spa (and the main swimming pool) leisure activities were limited. The hotel and grounds are maintained to a very high standard offering a beautifully designed and spacious hotel set in a landscape of palm tress, verdant foliage and the most beautiful array of tropical flowers. The food was excellent with a wide range of very well prepared dishes (sometimes buffet, sometimes table service). The 'inclusive' package offers a good choice of cocktails and nice wines (South African, French etc) which helps to minimise additional costs from ordering drinks off menu. Food can be ordered at any time of the day includes The hotel staff were friendly, polite, attentive and responded to any requests immediately, including the hotel management who were very accessible and keen to please. The service culture is clearly led from the top. The spa was beautifully laid out but the quality of the treatments wasn't particularly good which was a little disappointing. That said, we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Baraza resort is located roughly at one hour by car from the main city, Stone Town.
It has two great assets : a stunning white sand beach, which stretches on several kilometers, and its local staff. Tanzanians are really welcoming people and thanks to that you will feel at home pretty much everywhere in Zanzibar.
The resort is very clean. The rooms are large. Everything is in walking distance. The water sports center is really helpful. Especially since there are not much things to do.

Apart from that, the resort is by far not meeting the expectations of a 5 stars hotel, which charges a handsome 800 dollars/night in high season. Yes, it is all-inclusive, but you have to pay for many extras and the bill runs high at the end.

The Baraza is not even competing with other hotels in the same category, on other Islands - like the Prince Maurice in Mauritius for instance.

The beach, albeit spectacular, is shared with many other and very close hotels. You can't swin in the sea due to the tide and the massive presence of seaweeds. The architecture is Dubaï/Moroccan style, nice but cold, not african. You can feel that the hotel has been designed to meet the standards of international travel agencies, which it does. But it lacks character.

The food is far from being as good as in Stone Town - at the 246 restaurant on the evenings, the Archipelago at lunch or the Serena Inn restaurant to name a few. You don't have the choice between several restaurants / atmosphere, the resort being so small. There are way too many buffets, which is a very cheap system.

Last but not least, the reservation system is appalling. If you don't go through a travel agency, don't wire the money to them, choose to pay by credit card and pay the 5% tax. It will save you hours of maddening discussion with a very unprofessional and suspicious german/swedish/italian management. As it has been said by other users on Trip Advisor, the management is really a problem at Baraza's.

At the end, we chose to cancel the bank transfer and pay by credit card. We thought of leaving the hotel altogether at some point. But we were staying only for three days and the Tanzanian staff was really nice - and understanding - so we chose to stay.

But, as I said, this is not up to the standards of a 5 stars hotel. You'd be better suited at the Serena Inn in Stone Town (really nice) or wait for the Hyatt that is actually being built in Stone Town, to get some real quality service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valelilly, General Manager at Baraza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We thank you for your comments about the hotel and we appreciate the opportunity to clarify some of the points you have raised.

Guest feedback is very important to us as it helps us improve and we sincerely value our guests’ comments.

We are disappointed to hear that you felt the management was a problem and that it is not a 5 star hotel. Your suggestion that this is a common complaint is simply not true. We get 99% excellent feedback from our customers and overwhelmingly positive comments on our service and guest assistance.

We strongly object to your suggestion that we are not handling reservations or payments correctly. Contrary to what you have said, we feel that we were extremely patient and understanding of the fact that we had never received payment for your stay, despite your insistence that the money had been supposedly sent. Other hotels, even the Prince Maurice, would not have allowed you to even check into the property (on all inclusive basis) without payment or taking a credit card deposit, in high season with the hotel completely full.

The fact that the money never arrived to us and in the end you had to pay by credit card at the end of your stay, is very different to what you have stated in your review. Despite all the correspondence and communication, in the end, even though we had not received the payment, we agreed that you check out from the hotel (which only shows our goodwill rather than suspicion) and we noted (not charged) your credit card number for reference.

Two days after your departure on the 21st August, you wrote to us and agreed in writing that the money had in fact never been credited to us (as we had been saying all along) and therefore allowed us to charge your credit card – which we did and it was unfortunately declined. On the third attempt, hours later, it finally went through. Sorry, but we feel it is fair and important to clarify the facts and give a correct account of what actually happened.

It is obvious and unfortunate that this incident has clearly influenced your impression of other aspects of the hotel, which you made no mention of while you were here.

We fully understand that taste is subjective, and we regret that you did not like the style of the hotel. As all our website and marketing material clearly says, and photos clearly show, Baraza is indeed an Arabic influenced design from the Omani Sultans era in Zanzibar, combined with Swahili traditional hand carved elements. Africa is a diverse and enchanting continent with many different influences and cultures. Zanzibar was indeed ruled by Omani Sultans and this history and era had a great influence on the architecture of the Island. It is therefore African – just maybe not what you imagine Africa to be…..incidentally Morocco is also in Africa.

We can only take great pride in the amazing comments from our guests about the service, design, atmosphere and décor of the hotel.

What is included at Baraza is clearly outlined in our website and brochures, and it would have been good to refer to this before booking, as most of our guests do, to know exactly what is included.

Thank you again for taking time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Baraza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baraza Resort & Spa

Address: Bwejuu Beach, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Bwejuu
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baraza Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful resort evokes the heritage of Zanzibar dating back to the era of the Sultans. A fusion of Arabic, Swahili and Indian design, with beautiful arches, hand carved cement décor, beautiful antiques, hand made furniture and intricate brass lanterns, Baraza offers unparalleled standards of luxury on the Island of Zanzibar. Baraza has set a unique standard of luxury accommodation on the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Baraza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baraza Hotel Bwejuu
Baraza Resort And Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baraza Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.