We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax in the Indian Ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baraza Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Baraza Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baraza Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymooners’ Offer
Ranked #1 of 12 hotels in Bwejuu
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Relax in the Indian Ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Arrived at Baraza after an eight day safari in Tanzania needing R&R and I was not disappointed.
The accommodations are all villas featuring luxury interiors, large bathrooms, spacious terrace and private plunge pool. The beach has a natural reef so no need to worry about waves. Lots of choices at the breakfast and lunch buffet. Food is good. Staff friendly. Met lots of people from all over the world - Dubai, Russia, France.

Room Tip: The lower numbers are closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    27
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
90
174
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Be advised that Baraza asks East African residents to pay in advance *in full* and will not confirm a booking until said payment in full is received (and, they have a draconian cancellation policy). And theres an egregious 5% surcharge for credit catd payments. Puts you off.
The place itself is delightful and the staff very attentive. What lets it down is:
- Poor English spoken by staff
- Very long waits for food to arrive if ordered by the pool (45 mins for fish skewers and rice)
- Food in restaurant is not quite 5 star
- Other guests. We had to endure American teenagers playing ball incessantly in the pool. Takes the edge off the luxury feeling.
All that said: I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

About an hour in the taxi from Zanzibar airport and you arrive at this great place. We came for 9 nights of relaxation after 4 nights on safari. We just wanted to chill and this was the place to do it. The are about 30 ish villas in total, 7 of which are right on the beach -we had one of these, no.5, and I'd recommend paying the extra for the pleasure. Villas were spacious and very comfortable. The enormous bed ensured I slept as well as I ever have. The bathroom - beautiful double ended bath - and lounge are both very large and comfortable too. Outside there is a plenty of bed space to relax and a nice plunge pool / jacuzzi (although we had to ask for this to be switched on as the control is not within the villa). Staff are great and you get allocated you own villa host who is your point of contact for anything. Food we thought was very good. Breakfast has lots of fruits, breads and other stuff so plenty of choice. Lunch is a buffet with the usual salad etc and the option of made to order pasta. Dinner alternates between themed buffets and what in London would be known as a 'tasting menu' of seven nouvelle cuisine type courses - we loved these. There is wine with food, mainly south african, and all very acceptable. Staff are all friendly and excellent - even the ones who are clearly still learning - and there is a drinks / food service available on the beach too. It was my birthday when we were there and they must have noticed this from my passport and arranged a special "private dining area" on the beach for lunch for my wife and I which made it all very special. There a few really minor things that really differentiate 5 star service that they need to polish up on but nothing that would warrant a complaint or anything near it. If you want to get away from it all in beautiful surroundings then you should consider the Baraza.

Room Tip: Villas 1-7 are right on the beach - pay the extra for this benefit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Wow, we are from Australia and have great beach resorts but this is what we have been searching for..We have travelled the world from Greece to Maldives to Jamaica . This has it all. Beautiful accommodation beautifully appointed..Great bed ( very important) .Lovely staff which are not intrusive. Everyday beautiful food with a lot of healthy options. Smorgasbord lunch allows you to have as much or as little you would like..breakfast was superb satisfying all tastes.. Then different themes of a night. Don't come here if you expect big wild parties. Most guests are pleasant but keep to themselves which is fine because you are here to relax..The beach is excellent when the water is out you can explore or lay by the pool or your punge pool..when the tide is in its picture perfect .We stayed in a beach front villa and it was lovely..We also noticed how particular the staff were around food in regarding to health and hygiene, the standards were very good..Some five star hotels around the world could look at their practices...Well done staff and management .We will reu,rn one day it's shame it's a long way from Aus for a beach holiday.....

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The moment you get out of your car you can see paradise down a long corridor of Arabian arches. It looks like a series of keyholes stretching to the sea and it actually is; keyholes to the tranquility and beauty you find when you step through.

We stayed in a two-bedroom villa and couldn't have been happier. Our villa was three rows of villas away from the beach, but it didn't make much difference as we spent our days on or by the beach and pool.

The beauty of the beach comes and goes with the tide. At times there will be a fair amount of seaweed left on the beach and, when the tide is out, the coral is exposed right up to the edge of the beach. Either way, though, there is beauty to be found. We took hotel bicycles and road a couple kilometers up the hard-packed beach.

We had our own butler who looked out for us 24/7. The food is great and the ambiance of the restaurants is magical. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Baraza in November 2012 for one week. We are experienced travellers and we only book 5-star hotels after spending hours reviewing and analysing the reviews on Trip Advisor. We must say that the Baraza was above our expectations. We stayed at the Baraza after one week of safari.
We stayed in an ocean front villa and it was worth it. During the day, we would simply walk back and forth from our villa to our reserved chairs on the beach because they were so close. Every night, we would go relax on a sultan bed near our plunge pool and watch the moon and the ocean. Our villa was huge. Only downside is that our walk-in closet concisted of only shelves. This could be improved but it is not the end of the world. Every time we had a special request, it was taken care by our amazing host villa, Jemina.
Regarding the beverages and the food, it was very good. The free wine was good compared to many all inclusives. The food was different, fresh and well presented. At some point, we even said that we prefer meat and the next, day, they had prepared a special meal for us.
Regarding the spa, it was very professional and clean. We both recommend it.
Regarding the ocean, it is not the nicest beach. However, what is interesting is the fact that there is a mile difference between the low tide and the high tide. Therefore, during low tide, you can go walk in the water and see octopus, sea urchins, fishes, etc. Also, during low tide, you cen rent a paddle board and go very far.
We must say that the majority of the staff was more than friendly, interesting and professional. A special thank you to Isaack, Ismael, Jemima, Lucas, Ramadan, Jean-Arnaud and Eddy. Usually, we have difficulties to remember the names of the staff but at the Baraza but that was not the case at the Baraza.
At fist, we were suprised that internet was not included in the price but after 3 days of relaxing, we agreed that we were relaxing more because we did not have internet in the villa.
We definitely recommend this hotel to a couple. There is very little entertainment but that was perfect for us. When we were there in November, the hotel was not full so all our requests were answered in a timely fashion. Obviously, we can not render an opinion regarding busy seasons like Christmas. The other good thing was that we did not see many children (beside one that really bad behaved but the staff was trying to compensate for the parents).
While we were there, we went to visit the neighboor hotel, The Palms, owned by the same family as the Baraza. Although for us the Baraza was better (because it is brighter, newer and wider), we can understand that the Palms can be another option for older people.

Room Tip: We had asked a villa at the end to avoid the noise but there was no noise at all. However, we had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This resort is absolutely gorgeous, from the small details all the way up to the buildings themselves. When you enter the resort, a complete sense of serenity and calm washes over you, as the staff speak in hushed voices and the main sound is the wind rustling the palm trees overhead. This is definitely the place to come if you are seeking relaxation and first-class treatment in a 5-star resort. The villas were beautiful both inside and out and all amenities included were excellent. We did not spend much time in the villa at all, aside from sleeping, as there are abundant places to sit outdoors in either the sun or shade. The staff are incredibly attentive and polite, wholly focused on ensuring that you are comfortable and happy. The resort is partnered with 1 or 2 others along the same road, which means that you have access to a multitude of water activities and social gatherings. This seems to be the most romantic and calm of the three, so if that is what you are looking for, definitely go with Baraza.

The meals were delicious with plentiful good food and drinks. One evening's meal was accompanied by local dancing, which was a fun experience.

I went to this resort with my mother and sister at the end of a 10-day safari in Kenya and mainland Tanzania. While it was a terrific way to end such an adventuresome trip, in some ways we felt as though Baraza was designed for romantic getaways, as opposed to family retreats. Loud talking or laughter would have seemed out of place -- which is definitely fine in this setting. But as a family, if I were to return, I would opt to stay at one of the more lively partners of Baraza.

Overall, a stunning, beautiful resort that was well worth the trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baraza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baraza Resort & Spa

Address: Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baraza Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful resort evokes the heritage of Zanzibar dating back to the era of the Sultans. A fusion of Arabic, Swahili and Indian design, with beautiful arches, hand carved cement décor, beautiful antiques, hand made furniture and intricate brass lanterns, Baraza offers unparalleled standards of luxury on the Island of Zanzibar. Baraza has set a unique standard of luxury accommodation on the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Baraza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baraza Hotel Bwejuu
Baraza Resort And Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baraza Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.