We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baraza Resort & Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baraza Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymooners' Offer
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Bwejuu
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Baraza in November 2012 for one week. We are experienced travellers and we only book 5-star hotels after spending hours reviewing and analysing the reviews on Trip Advisor. We must say that the Baraza was above our expectations. We stayed at the Baraza after one week of safari.
We stayed in an ocean front villa and it was worth it. During the day, we would simply walk back and forth from our villa to our reserved chairs on the beach because they were so close. Every night, we would go relax on a sultan bed near our plunge pool and watch the moon and the ocean. Our villa was huge. Only downside is that our walk-in closet concisted of only shelves. This could be improved but it is not the end of the world. Every time we had a special request, it was taken care by our amazing host villa, Jemina.
Regarding the beverages and the food, it was very good. The free wine was good compared to many all inclusives. The food was different, fresh and well presented. At some point, we even said that we prefer meat and the next, day, they had prepared a special meal for us.
Regarding the spa, it was very professional and clean. We both recommend it.
Regarding the ocean, it is not the nicest beach. However, what is interesting is the fact that there is a mile difference between the low tide and the high tide. Therefore, during low tide, you can go walk in the water and see octopus, sea urchins, fishes, etc. Also, during low tide, you cen rent a paddle board and go very far.
We must say that the majority of the staff was more than friendly, interesting and professional. A special thank you to Isaack, Ismael, Jemima, Lucas, Ramadan, Jean-Arnaud and Eddy. Usually, we have difficulties to remember the names of the staff but at the Baraza but that was not the case at the Baraza.
At fist, we were suprised that internet was not included in the price but after 3 days of relaxing, we agreed that we were relaxing more because we did not have internet in the villa.
We definitely recommend this hotel to a couple. There is very little entertainment but that was perfect for us. When we were there in November, the hotel was not full so all our requests were answered in a timely fashion. Obviously, we can not render an opinion regarding busy seasons like Christmas. The other good thing was that we did not see many children (beside one that really bad behaved but the staff was trying to compensate for the parents).
While we were there, we went to visit the neighboor hotel, The Palms, owned by the same family as the Baraza. Although for us the Baraza was better (because it is brighter, newer and wider), we can understand that the Palms can be another option for older people.

Room Tip: We had asked a villa at the end to avoid the noise but there was no noise at all. However, we had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    26
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
84
158
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This resort is absolutely gorgeous, from the small details all the way up to the buildings themselves. When you enter the resort, a complete sense of serenity and calm washes over you, as the staff speak in hushed voices and the main sound is the wind rustling the palm trees overhead. This is definitely the place to come if you are seeking relaxation and first-class treatment in a 5-star resort. The villas were beautiful both inside and out and all amenities included were excellent. We did not spend much time in the villa at all, aside from sleeping, as there are abundant places to sit outdoors in either the sun or shade. The staff are incredibly attentive and polite, wholly focused on ensuring that you are comfortable and happy. The resort is partnered with 1 or 2 others along the same road, which means that you have access to a multitude of water activities and social gatherings. This seems to be the most romantic and calm of the three, so if that is what you are looking for, definitely go with Baraza.

The meals were delicious with plentiful good food and drinks. One evening's meal was accompanied by local dancing, which was a fun experience.

I went to this resort with my mother and sister at the end of a 10-day safari in Kenya and mainland Tanzania. While it was a terrific way to end such an adventuresome trip, in some ways we felt as though Baraza was designed for romantic getaways, as opposed to family retreats. Loud talking or laughter would have seemed out of place -- which is definitely fine in this setting. But as a family, if I were to return, I would opt to stay at one of the more lively partners of Baraza.

Overall, a stunning, beautiful resort that was well worth the trip!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We live & work in Nairobi – Kenya and my wife decided to surprise me for Xmas & booked Baraza for a week. From the minute you walk in to Baraza, you feel like you’ve stepped in to heaven on earth.
Baraza is the place to be when you want to relax, feel pampered with no limits & enjoy a beach holiday in style. We really needed a break from our hectic lives & Baraza definitely managed to make our Xmas extra special. The setting of the Hotel is simply superb, amazing beach. On a somewhat too warm day, we treated ourselves to an afternoon at the Spa, Relax – Enjoy & Rejuvenate, one word came to our minds, BLISS..
The villa we stayed in was very spacious & the quality of luxury was beyond our expectations. At the same time, the villa is very cosy. I loved the high quality bed linen most, the spacious bathroom – shower & lovely finishing are top quality, they came straight out of the Homes & Gardens magazine – beach edition, well done on the finishings & extremely elegant atmosphere created & thanks for the massive bed in which I lost my wife one night.
In regards to the food, we would like to compliment the chefs as we have stayed in numerous places over the world & we rated the food quality & variety @ Baraza as one of the top. Buffets and a la carte evenings alternate & the themes were definitely well thought of. The choice of starters, main courses & deserts were overwhelming. We are surprised that anyone would say that the food is of a poor standard. Well done Baraza on the breakfast, what a way to start the day !
The service you get is personalised in to the smallest detail. Staff was excellent, attentive, simply very correct. From the cleaning girl who took initiative & special attention to detail to the waiters & waitresses being extremely efficient & making sure your stay is made very special.
We'll definitely be back !!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Baraza two nights during an 8 days holiday in Zanzibar. Our Villa was spacious, beautifully decorated, with all the amenities you would expect at this level. The private plunge is lovely, shame we had to ask twice to switch it on as it was not running and the water was hot and not clean. Staff is friendly and professional and the manager attentive and available to listen to any request you may have. and The beach is beautiful and unspoilt and we loved our walks with both low and high tides. The Spa, the pools,gym, tennis court, are all wonderful and everything is perfectly kept clean and the gardens manicured. Our only disappointment was related to food : too many buffets ( lunch and one other night) with very limited choices and embarrassing poor quality. The F&B manager tried his best to change our mind and the lobster one night was really good,however I wouldn't expect to have to complain in order to get some decent food in a resort with such ambitions. Given what they charge per night, you expect to have a nice a la carte dinner menu every night and a good choice of wine ( they only serve a type of red and white wine every night). May I suggest to ask Chef William next door ( The Palms) to come and help ??
Overall we enjoyed our stay at Baraza and would recommend it especially to families. For couples, honeymooners and those seeking for something special I would rather recommend the sister resort The Palms for basically the same money.

Room Tip: All the Villas are beautiful. Despite the initial disappointment of not being in one of the first ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Paradise......Baraza is one of the most beautiful hotels in Zanzibar. I cannot fault one thing about Baraza! My family had the most amazing holiday at Baraza over Easter 2012.

After a previous disappointing holiday in one of the bigger resorts in Zanzibar I spent long hours looking into the various hotels in Zanzibar. My requirements were a beautiful hotel that allowed for the kids to have fun, my husband and I to relax, good food and upmarket luxurious accomadation. Baraza didnt disappoint.

My children were 14,11 and 4 and although there is a great childrens club, my kids chose to stay with us at the beach and gorgeous pool. They kept themselves busy with swimming, snorkelling, paddelling, cycling and a stream of drinks and food that is on constant offer!!!

The hotel has recieved negative comments about the tide going out and so the resort has no sea to swim in for half the day. Being on the east coast this is indeed the case and although there is no doubt it is alot more pleasant when the tide is in, we found that when the sea went out the kids played endlessly in the rock pools that were full of amazing things. When the sea was out we just used the pool. The loungers on the beach are great and there are small private areas along the beach that the five of us set up camp everyday. There was always a constant stream of cool face towels, freshly squeezed fruit juices, cut fruit and cookies offered to us by passing waiters.

Our villa was one of the family villa a few rows back from the sea, so we didnt get a sea view however the gardens are totallay private and our private plunge pool was brilliant we used it alot. The villas are beautiful so spacious so the kids had a big bedroom that 3 slept in with ease and we had a huge main suite. We always loved getting back to our immaculate, airconditioned villa after a long day by the pool/sea because it sure was hot!

The food was amazing,always something different and always in a different venue which we loved. Although the main resturant, with air conditing was my favourite due to the heat! The oriental night was a favourite and on Easter sunday they did a seafood lunch that my kids still talk about.....delish!

The staff were fantastic. They all knew us and couldnt do enough for us, they loved my 4 year old and would take such pleasure from watching him play and enjoying his food!

Such a wonderful holiday and we have such great memories of it that we are thinking of going back there again this year as I cant imagine being as happy any where else!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, UK
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

As with other reviewers all I can add are more superlatives! Baraza is simply one of the best villa beach hotels you can find anywhere. The buildings are all wonderfuly styled in a Moorish design. The service is very friendly and attentive and because the maximum capacity is less than 90 guests, you get to know the staff and they get to know you - it seems that nothing is too difficult for them. This is also a "foodies" paradise - all meals are superb with buffets and fine dining days all with very good SA wines. We had a 2 bedroom villa which was extremely spacious and comfortable with loads of places to sit and relax both inside and outside in your garden and plunge pool. The beach is spectacular and you are often the only people on it. Whilst the locals will try and sell you their wares if you are on the beach, they are very friendly and do not push too hard. I cannot fault Baraza in any way and my wife, daughter and I extend our thanks to all of the staff for a wonderful 5 days. Special thanks to Jemima!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This resort is the most exceptional place I have ever stayed!! I stayed here for 4 nights with a friend after travelling through Kenya and Tanzania on safari and it was the perfect to unwind and relax after the safari's. Whilst resorts/hotels of this level always have luxurious rooms and facilities ( & this place is no exception) what is to commended is the quality of service provided by the staff. From the minute we were welcomed at reception to the time we checked out it was just perfect. The bar and wait staff are locals and they are so friendly and exceptionally trained. Both myself and my friend really noticed how exceptional the service is. The quality of food is just amazing. They alternate between buffet and set menu from night to night but you also have the option of room service for a nominal tray fee (approx. $15US) - we did this one night on the day we did a Stone town tour and just wanted to stay in the villa, and they sent some little extras at no charge with the meal. The spa is very luxurious and provides quality services. The only 2 suggestions I could make to improve the experience - is 1) to have the option of internet in the villas (after coming back and reading one of the past reviews I see this option is available by calling front desk and they bring a router to your room) but having it available when you'd like to access the internet would be good and 2) signs at the beginning of each path with the villa numbers would help! You end up so relaxed at Baraza that we ended up walking down the wrong path a number of times.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baraza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baraza Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Baraza Resort And Spa
Baraza Hotel Bwejuu
Baraza Hotel
Baraza Resort & Spa Zanzibar/Bwejuu
Address: Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Baraza Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful resort evokes the heritage of Zanzibar dating back to the era of the Sultans. A fusion of Arabic, Swahili and Indian design, with beautiful arches, hand carved cement décor, beautiful antiques, hand made furniture and intricate brass lanterns, Baraza offers unparalleled standards of luxury on the Island of Zanzibar. Baraza has set a unique standard of luxury accommodation on the island ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baraza Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Baraza Resort & Spa to your Saves list