We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity & Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baraza Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Baraza Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baraza Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymooners’ Offer
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Serenity & Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This resort is the most exceptional place I have ever stayed!! I stayed here for 4 nights with a friend after travelling through Kenya and Tanzania on safari and it was the perfect to unwind and relax after the safari's. Whilst resorts/hotels of this level always have luxurious rooms and facilities ( & this place is no exception) what is to commended is the quality of service provided by the staff. From the minute we were welcomed at reception to the time we checked out it was just perfect. The bar and wait staff are locals and they are so friendly and exceptionally trained. Both myself and my friend really noticed how exceptional the service is. The quality of food is just amazing. They alternate between buffet and set menu from night to night but you also have the option of room service for a nominal tray fee (approx. $15US) - we did this one night on the day we did a Stone town tour and just wanted to stay in the villa, and they sent some little extras at no charge with the meal. The spa is very luxurious and provides quality services. The only 2 suggestions I could make to improve the experience - is 1) to have the option of internet in the villas (after coming back and reading one of the past reviews I see this option is available by calling front desk and they bring a router to your room) but having it available when you'd like to access the internet would be good and 2) signs at the beginning of each path with the villa numbers would help! You end up so relaxed at Baraza that we ended up walking down the wrong path a number of times.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    28
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
98
178
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful hotels in Zanzibar. The beach is just stunning and the rooms too have a lovely Sultan's era like feel to them.
The spa is definitely something worth trying out. I felt like a queen :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We arrived at Baraza after an amazing safari in Tanzania and found a little piece of heaven on a beautiful beach in Zanzibar. The rooms are villas which are spacious and nicely furnished, the gardens and pool are very well maintained and the beach front cooling with the sea breezes. The food was excellent and very varied and, finally, the quality of the staff and service were impeccable. This is a wonderful place for a complete chill out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous one week stay at the Baraza resort - we are well travelled 'foodies' and just loved everything about this beautiful and stylish hotel. We were frankly a bit apprehensive about our first 'all in' package but were not at all disappointed.

The breakfast choice is fabulous whether you want a simple fruit platter or a freshly cooked omelet etc. Lunch is a similarly extensive buffet with a selection of salads, curries, pasta with sauce cooked with your own selection of ingredients or (our choice) either for example, a tandoor roast chicken kebab or griddled lobster. Dinner alternates between a set 5 course meal or on two nights in the week during our stay, stunning Indian and Swahili buffets. The wines served as part of the inclusive deal were very good quality and there is a beautiful bar for pre dinner cocktails

Rooms are gorgeous & spacious with really comfortable beds, lovely pool area, beautiful white sand beeches, friendly attentive staff - I could run out of superlatives.... one gripe, the sun loungers are not the most comfortable but in defence, they are plentiful if you prefer a degree of solitude and tropical storms perhaps don't make it practical to have padded loungers

A must try experience

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faggeto Lario, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

When we were booking our stay in Zanzibar it was not so evident which place is better and which is not so good so we booked 5 nights in Zanzibar and 5 nights in a different hotel (where we were supposed to get a better beach) and it was our biggest mistake.
The first thing - the hotel exeeded our best expectations. We travel a lot and always stay in top hotels, we have lots of needs because of our 4 little kids, we are quite spoiled with high quality service and high standard facilities but this time we were really surprised.
The quality of service is fantastic - everywhere starting from reception, guest relation manager (we had Daniel) and restaurants (and other food and drink service) we met professional people who offered us lots of attention, assistance and positive emotions. I can not understand reports where guests tell about low quality of food or lack of choice...That is not true. The choice is big and if you don't like something they will prepare you a special dish according to your taste with smile and with excuse that you would need to wait couple of minutes more...
We felt like in a magic palace where all your problems/issues can be resolved by helpful staff.
I really do not have enough of words to describe all positive moments of this hotel. I can only say that my kids were crying when we moved to other place and they were telling me: we don't have problems with our current hotel, the hotel is not bad, it is because Baraza was too good and comparing to it any other hote seems ugly...
I would really to thank all hotel staff and owners of this hotel who made our stay unforgettable. I want to say "thank you" to Daniel, our villa manager, "thank you" to the manager of "food and drinks area" who was always nice and helpful and who coordinated preparation of all kind of different food for our kids and they were changing their ideas every 10 minutes...
Of course there is a low tide (but in almost all Zanibar beaches you will see it) but during this low tide you can have a walk on the reef, you can have a bicycle, you can realax at the swimming pool area with cocktail or fresh coconut....
We definitely will come back. I already promised it to my kids.

Room Tip: Actually all villas are very good, with lots of space and with private pool and small garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a stunning all inclusive Resort. Baraza hotel offers only the most luxurious & elite facilities for its guests. services included are Breakfast, lunch and dinner ,Afternoon tea ,In-house alcoholic drinks ,Soft drinks, juices & mineral Water, Beer, in house wines and cocktails , Use of tennis court, Fitness center & Swimming pools

The Villas which are very spacious , include TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, your own plunge pool, lovely bathroom amenities, fresh, crisp towels, very large comfortable bed, tea/coffee making facilities,

It is important to note that young guests at Baraza Resort & Spa are exceptionally well catered for - there is an excellent children's club for 4 to 12 year olds and babysitting services can easily be arranged.

we spent most of our time by the pool side, drinks are brought to you at regular intervals, you will be spoilt whilst you are there. The food is out of this world, so much to chose from , whilst we were there for lunch they had Buffet as well as light lunch menu that you could chose from incase you weren't upto buffet. Dinner was a set menu, we loved the food so much, we asked to see the Chef to thank him personnaly, I forgot the name but he was from mauritius !

The Dhahabu Bar & Lounge opens in the evenings until midnight is a nice place to stop for a drink before & after dinner.

The whole place is so stunning whilst we were by the pool side we enjoyed being there thouroughly and when we went to our villa we didnt want to go out, i cannot express in words how nice this place is. You have to be here to experience it as no word can do justice to this lovely place

The staff are extremely Courteous. We want to thank the entire Baraza team for making our stay a non forgetable one, we highly recommend it and will definately be back. Thank You ! Thank You, Thank you !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Kent
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights post safari in a 2 bed family villa. These aren't beachside, but have a pretty enough garden and are extremely comfortable. We've done similar beach-post-bush breaks in Mozambique and Mauritius but this was probably the nicest. The staff were outstandingly good as was the food. We loved our pre-supper cocktails (teenage kids) and for us the evenings struck the right balance between formal and casual. For our more sophisticated kids (!) they were a bit sniffy about the number of younger kids around the pool area, but thankfully they were for the most part well behaved. The sea (principal reason for these things for us) was lovely but we got lucky - if you choose the wrong few days as far as the tide is concerned you'd be stuck. You can only really swim for maybe 3 hours a day when the tide is at its very highest. Tours are vastly overpriced and you're quite a way from a lot of stuff on this resort (1 hour to Stone Town, about the same for your Spice Tour) but they're interesting and provoke lively discussion. I've read in the papers since that Stone Town has become unsafe because of a rise in unrest and some targetting against tourists which is a shame but this is a colossally poor place behind the 5 star loveliness. We were there in Ramadan which wasn't a problem, but were surprised at the lack of consideration given by a lot of tourists. Good spa - again 5 star prices - but the service, pleasant atmosphere and great food were all a plus for us.

Room Tip: Family villas aren't beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baraza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baraza Resort & Spa

Address: Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baraza Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful resort evokes the heritage of Zanzibar dating back to the era of the Sultans. A fusion of Arabic, Swahili and Indian design, with beautiful arches, hand carved cement décor, beautiful antiques, hand made furniture and intricate brass lanterns, Baraza offers unparalleled standards of luxury on the Island of Zanzibar. Baraza has set a unique standard of luxury accommodation on the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Baraza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baraza Resort And Spa
Baraza Hotel Bwejuu
Baraza Resort & Spa Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baraza Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.