We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In love with Baraza !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baraza Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Baraza Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Baraza Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Spa   |   Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Honeymooners’ Offer
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Bwejuu
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“In love with Baraza !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a stunning all inclusive Resort. Baraza hotel offers only the most luxurious & elite facilities for its guests. services included are Breakfast, lunch and dinner ,Afternoon tea ,In-house alcoholic drinks ,Soft drinks, juices & mineral Water, Beer, in house wines and cocktails , Use of tennis court, Fitness center & Swimming pools

The Villas which are very spacious , include TV, hair dryer, mini fridge, your own plunge pool, lovely bathroom amenities, fresh, crisp towels, very large comfortable bed, tea/coffee making facilities,

It is important to note that young guests at Baraza Resort & Spa are exceptionally well catered for - there is an excellent children's club for 4 to 12 year olds and babysitting services can easily be arranged.

we spent most of our time by the pool side, drinks are brought to you at regular intervals, you will be spoilt whilst you are there. The food is out of this world, so much to chose from , whilst we were there for lunch they had Buffet as well as light lunch menu that you could chose from incase you weren't upto buffet. Dinner was a set menu, we loved the food so much, we asked to see the Chef to thank him personnaly, I forgot the name but he was from mauritius !

The Dhahabu Bar & Lounge opens in the evenings until midnight is a nice place to stop for a drink before & after dinner.

The whole place is so stunning whilst we were by the pool side we enjoyed being there thouroughly and when we went to our villa we didnt want to go out, i cannot express in words how nice this place is. You have to be here to experience it as no word can do justice to this lovely place

The staff are extremely Courteous. We want to thank the entire Baraza team for making our stay a non forgetable one, we highly recommend it and will definately be back. Thank You ! Thank You, Thank you !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    28
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
100
183
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, Kent
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights post safari in a 2 bed family villa. These aren't beachside, but have a pretty enough garden and are extremely comfortable. We've done similar beach-post-bush breaks in Mozambique and Mauritius but this was probably the nicest. The staff were outstandingly good as was the food. We loved our pre-supper cocktails (teenage kids) and for us the evenings struck the right balance between formal and casual. For our more sophisticated kids (!) they were a bit sniffy about the number of younger kids around the pool area, but thankfully they were for the most part well behaved. The sea (principal reason for these things for us) was lovely but we got lucky - if you choose the wrong few days as far as the tide is concerned you'd be stuck. You can only really swim for maybe 3 hours a day when the tide is at its very highest. Tours are vastly overpriced and you're quite a way from a lot of stuff on this resort (1 hour to Stone Town, about the same for your Spice Tour) but they're interesting and provoke lively discussion. I've read in the papers since that Stone Town has become unsafe because of a rise in unrest and some targetting against tourists which is a shame but this is a colossally poor place behind the 5 star loveliness. We were there in Ramadan which wasn't a problem, but were surprised at the lack of consideration given by a lot of tourists. Good spa - again 5 star prices - but the service, pleasant atmosphere and great food were all a plus for us.

Room Tip: Family villas aren't beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burwash, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at Baraza for 6 nights. Initially I was disappointed at location of our room - Villa 29 - last villa against perimeter wall in last line of villas. Not my ideal spot but villa was very nice. Hotel gardens are still very young so will look better in a few years. Interior design - all a bit monotone - gold and ivory. Could do with a flash of other vibrant colours. We really liked the high and low tides and at high tide the sea is beautiful to have a dip in. I see people moan about the tides but being a hotel of 30 villas, hardly anybody goes into the sea at high tide! Food and beverage - very good beach service - little treats during the day offered - fruit cocktails, iced coffee etc. We did appreciate this. Breakfast is good and the fruits are amazing. Lunch is fine - small buffet. Dinner was our least favourite meal. For us we prefer a quality buffet and yes, we did get this, perhaps nearly every other night which was very enjoyable. What we didn't like were the 'set menus' - it felt like they were trying too hard - 5 course bland meals. The only thing in these menus I was interested in eating were the delicious soups. Please, Baraza, re-think the fine dining experience. I just don't think it works. House wines were fine. Spa is very good. Regarding the internet, perhaps the Baraza could explain why they charge for internet access. In most hotels I stay at nowadays, it is free and at the hotel they own in Nairobi, internet access is free. That did annoy us. Also in East Africa, we find that laundry services are normally included in this sort of resort. Here we had to pay extra. Water sports were also at an extra cost. I think at an all inclusive resort they should include laundry, internet access and non motorised waterspouts (they don't have motorised). We loved the rising of the moon and were lucky enough to see the full moon for several evenings. Be warned, you will be informed on arrival that check out time is 10. am. We were not due to leave until 1.30 pm. If I had known beforehand I would have asked my tour operator to organise and pay for a late check out as this ruined our last morning. The staff were really delightful. They were trying so hard and I realised they didn't speak or understand English as well as some other East African countries. All in all, it was an enjoyable experience. Stone Town is a must to visit - very colourful in every respect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights. The resort was OK though sea weeds made it impossible to swim in the sea (probably due to tide season). Villas were spacious and A/C was OK. Beware of the internet. Extremely slow. Lots of geckos and mosquitos, though beds had nets. Restaurant was very well run&managed by Mr. Jean-Armond Kalei. He went out of his way to accommodate your wishes with a great smile and in courteous manner.

Room Tip: Beware of villas near the wall surrounding the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent 8 nights here in October after a short safari in the Selous Game Reserve in Tanzania. The resort was everything we expected and more. Excellent food, a real variety of pan asian and international cuisines. Highly attentive service. The place is big enough that you don't really see other guests, especially if you have an ocean front villa where you simply stroll out of your balcony and onto the beach. It was the perfect compliment to our safari experience. The spa is not to be missed! An excellent resort. Thanks to Jemima for being a great hostess.

Room Tip: we had Villa 5 which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is an excellent hotel by African standards. Very stylish, friendly staff, secure.
The food is good, however there was no a la carte option, and make sure you finish your set course dinner otherwise you will be bombarded with questions if you have enjoyed it and why you have not eaten everything.
POWER CUTS every evening remind you that you are in a third world country, but we got used to it by the end of our holiday.
The biggest let down was the shop. The prices are outrageous and the quality is as poor as it can be. We bought flip flops which broke on the 2nd day, goggles which leak water and impossible to use, and the sun screen which had to be re-applied every hour according to instructions. I dont mind paying a premium for good products but these were as bad as Chinese cheap products can be.
The beach is nice and the water is warm, but the tides are very strong and you can only swim for a couple of hours per day.
Having said all that, we had a very nice time at the resort, our villa was great and I loved the design. The same company owns a nearby hotel and I think that they should integrate them in order to offer more facilities and dining options for guest. That way this hotel could attract not only guests who are doing a safari before, but also people coming to Zanzibar for a beach holiday in a five star resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaraza, General Manager at Baraza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Baraza We
greatly appreciate feedback, both positive and negative, which helps us to
improve.

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the style and the decor of
the hotel, as well as the hospitality of our staff and we thank you for
acknowledging this in your review.

The power cuts are unfortunately a fact of life in Zanzibar but Baraza is
equipped with an extensive back up system in place 24 hours a day to deal
with this. We would like to clarify that what you have experienced was a
2-3 minute transition from landline power to our back up generators. We are
sorry to hear that you found this inconvenient, but we want to make clear to
other potential guests that there is always power at Baraza.

Concerning the shop, we are very sorry to hear that your experience was not
positive. Our shop was noted by Tatler and Conde Nast for being an
exceptional hotel gift shop with unique, eclectic items which range from an
impressive collection of Africana, Kaftans, decorative items & Zanzibari
antiques. Also we would like to point out that the sunscreen, flip flops
and goggles we are selling are all imported from the USA. But we have noted
your comments on them and we are reviewing the products accordingly.

As our guests enjoy Baraza on an all inclusive basis, we change the dining
locations with different themes, menus and venues. Our guests are always
able to order from the a la carte beach side menu available from 11.00am to
19.00pm and we can also organize beach barbeques, as well as private dining
experiences arranged with our chef at an extra charge.

The difference between the high and low tide is a normal phenomenon along
the entire East African coast, and for this reason East Africa and indeed
Zanzibar is one of the few places where you are able to enjoy reef walks
during low tide and hence admire the incredible marine life of the Indian
ocean.

Thanking you once again for your comment, we hope to have the pleasure to
welcome you back again.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A beautiful hotel. We're just departing at the airport now. But a number of little missteps along the way that don't warrant its extensive price or rating. Nothing was enough to warrant a call to a manager, but the totality of misses had us second guessing what otherwise would be a great resort on a great beach. Food was great in quality, but 5/6 meals are buffets. Meaning, every day breakfast and lunch, and then dinner every other night. At these prices, I'd want a menu to order from. If you wanted room service or something else, there was a charge. Out of about 5 calls to either the beach club or reception, we'd be told we'd get a call back. So we'd wait a bit in the villa with no response. And after returning, there would be no message waiting. So either, there is no voicemail or no follow-through. I hope its the former, but makes getting any resolution of issues an effort. We were surprised to find on our last night a bottle of champagne waiting on our return from dinner. Nice intention, however it was room temperature -- no thought about putting it in the fridge or better on ice. Big deal? No, but it shows that the service issues aren't thought through. Gym? Especially in a hot climate, but even in any hotel, you'd expect a water service, or water bottles, or anything. No thought. Internet, they ask when you check in if you want it for $15/night. I'd think paying over $1k/night it would be part of "all-inclusive", but even when our villa host brought a router, he couldn't make it work. Said he'd come back to fix, never did. Fortunately we didn't get charged even though we were able to figure out on our own it was plugged into the wrong switch.

Lot's of potential if those things we're accustomed to just happened. But something is just missing. Maybe in a few years the management can get it up to the level its being priced/marketed at.

Room Tip: Beach Front Villas. Even includes reserved loungers in prime beach spots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBaraza, General Manager at Baraza Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your kind comments about the hotel and would like to say that
guest satisfaction is something that we take very seriously and feedback
from our valued guests is something we appreciate. I hope you will allow me
to clarify some of the points that you have raised in your review.

We do provide complimentary bottled water in the spa which is the same
location as the gym as well as a selection of teas and lime water. We
apologize if they were not immediately made available to you.

Actually, the bottle of sparkling wine was in your fridge since the first
day you arrived, as a complimentary gesture from us for your honeymoon,
which is as per our normal policy and was indicated by your villa host upon
arrival when showing you the room. Since you had not consumed it, he
removed it from the fridge on your last night and put it out as he thought
you might like to take it with you. Therefore it was not put in an ice
bucket, which needless to say, would have been the case if it had been
brought to the room for you.

We regret that you interpreted it as a negative issue since the intention
was in fact completely the opposite. In fact the villa host, only wanted to
make sure that you noticed the bottle and he is extremely sorry to read on
the internet that this upset you.

We try to offer a mix of dining venues, menus for our guests. As is
communicated upon arrival by the Villa host, although we always offer a
buffet option for lunch, we also have the a la carte lunch menu available
every day which is part of the all inclusive plan and is not at an extra
charge for guests who do not want to have the buffet.

Of course, our staff are always available to prepare anything special or
particular for our guests and it is so unfortunate that you did not express
a preference for something other than the buffet that one evening during
your stay, as the Chef would have been more than happy to assist you. As it
is a beach resort, with guests coming to breakfast at their leisure, we
prefer to serve a premium breakfast buffet so that our guests feel relaxed
in a more informal setting.

I am sorry to hear that you felt the communication was not good when you
called the reception. As you may know, for the local population English is
not their first language and when opening Baraza we were committed to
creating jobs for the local community and therefore made a conscious choice
to hire young Zanzibaris and Tanzanians and give them an opportunity and
training in the hospitality industry. Sometimes communication can be a bit
challenging and I hope you can understand that I am not in any way excusing
the fact that you did not receive the correct follow up or communication, I
just want to explain that the language can sometimes be a barrier. We are
following up on this and again, please accept our apologies. The
overwhelming feedback that we get from our valued guests is that it is the
Zanzibari people’s hospitality and friendliness is in fact what goes above
and beyond making it a five star experience.

The hotel provides internet connection in the business centre for all our
guests at no charge but for connection in your villa there is a charge of
US$ 15 per night.

I know that the villa host assisted you with connecting the router and that
there were some internet problems on Saturday. Our IT manager came to your
villa (though you were not there) and checked and confirmed that the
wireless was working. As you say, you were not charged for your internet
use during your entire stay, which I hope you will agree shows our
commitment to guest satisfaction.

Again, we appreciate feedback and indeed this is how we continuously
improve. It is this dedication of our staff which has helped us earn an
excellent reputation among tour operators, specialised travel agents and
direct guests around the world, as well as the place on the prestigious
Conde Nast list of top 60 best new hotels in the world, of which we are very
proud.

We thank you for your feedback and I hope that you will take into
consideration our comments above, which shed light on some of the issues you
have highlighted.

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baraza Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baraza Resort & Spa

Address: Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
#1 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#2 Spa Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Baraza Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful resort evokes the heritage of Zanzibar dating back to the era of the Sultans. A fusion of Arabic, Swahili and Indian design, with beautiful arches, hand carved cement décor, beautiful antiques, hand made furniture and intricate brass lanterns, Baraza offers unparalleled standards of luxury on the Island of Zanzibar. Baraza has set a unique standard of luxury accommodation on the island ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Baraza Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baraza Resort And Spa
Baraza Hotel Bwejuu
Baraza Resort & Spa Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baraza Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.