We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great vacation destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dongwe

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bwejuu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Dongwe
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   P.O. Box 1283, Bwejuu, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Bwejuu
Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A really great vacation destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I just had a terrific vacation at the Dongwe Club. The most remarkable thing about this resort was the service. Truly, neither of us has ever been so well cared for, and we have both traveled extensively. The staff, led by Sulaiman and assisted by Hamad, Becca, and a number of the waitresses, was constantly checking with us to make sure everything was ok. I mean this was service way beyond the call of duty. Even though we went at the beginning of the monsoon season the weather was wonderful, warm and invigorating. The beach has powdery white sand, and water is very comfortably warm and a beautiful blue-green color. The tide goes out at certain times of the day, making swimming problematic for a little while, but wading out into the ankle-deep water and watching the fish became another form of our entertainment. Anyway, the Club has a very large semi-circular swimming pool, so getting in a good swim is always easy. There are plenty of palm cabanas and lounge chairs by the beach. We signed for the full board meal plan and were quite satisfied with all the selection and quality of the food. Lots of Italians go to the Dongwe, and the club had lots of activities for them and other guests. We preferred lazing about as a couple, tho we did enjoy some volleyball. We got a great price for all this fun, I must say. The only complaint we had was that the internet was slow. For those that have to conduct business while they vacation this will present something of a difficulty. But we give this resort a very high rating!

Room Tip: Try to get the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    496
    112
    22
    1
    3
See reviews for
87
348
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Very hospitable and friendly staff. All Italian speaking and partially (only th local people) also English speaking. It is a closed club, very well managed, authentic local architecture and set up of the exterior and interior of the buildings; very clean; lovely gardens. There is a big swimming pool on the beach which provides fascilities both for adults and kids. The ocean in front is not the best of Zanzibar but is still spectacular. The jetty is a romantic place for aperitivo or dinner: they serve lobster there. The place is perfect for both romantic and family vacation. Being a closed place, the Management tries thru animation and sports activities to entertain the guests. The animation is well balanced and not intrusive. Not all animators are at level but there are two guys who in my opinion mostly contribute for he good mood of the people- Pasquale and Fabio. At Dongwe club you can also find a shop for local souveniers and clothes but it is rather expensive and the staff sold is same you can find in any souvenier shop in Stone Town or from the beach boys. The guests are offered excursions, among which I would recommend the one to Prison Island as it is well organised. As for the rest, they can be rather expensive compared to what you can get from the beach boys. The latter are reliable, accurate and very well organised. If you go to Stone Town, do it alone or with the beach boys. The excursion from he hotel is more expensive and as there is nothing so special and the old city is not big- one can manage alone. There is also a professional photograph but the pictures are available on paper only(rather outdated) and they cost 15 Eur each if you want to have an electronic version, which is rather expensive.
I think the place and staff deserve to be trusted for your desired vaction. All is lovely.
The food is enough and good quality - Italian cuisine predominantly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Veneto, Italy
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My first experience in this Hotel was outstanding. The Staff plus the General Manager Mr. Giorgio Scudo are fantastic. They really know what customer care means. If you are looking for a place to go for your vacation, this is the place !!

Thanks and Complements also to the Kitchen Brigade

Regards
David Mwadime
GM - Bagamoyo

Room Tip: Rooms are of the best quality and well located
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar, Zanzibar Urban, Tanzania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

A great discovery during our last trip to Dongwe Club Vacanze in October 2011. Not far from Paje beach and easy access. The Dongwe Club Jetty which stretches 300 mt into the Ocean was a fantastic location for a pre-dinner cocktail. We had a special dinner as well. Seafood, of course, is a prominent feature at the resort’s restaurant. A great place to recommend ,advice you better book in advance.Doreen froM Arusha Tanzania

Room Tip: suite a more queity and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Great beach resort attraction with excellent activity packages and service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We loved it. The location is fantastic and the staff is the kindest ever. One suugestion: if you don't care of the night entertainment, ask for a room far from the theatre.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

relax
ottima accoglienza
ottimo staff
otimo trattamento
cibo ottimo
manca struttura per sport acquatici: wind surf, canoa.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dongwe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dongwe

Address: P.O. Box 1283, Bwejuu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Bwejuu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bwejuu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bwejuu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dongwe 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dongwe Club Hotel Bwejuu
Dongwe Hotel Zanzibar
Dongwe Resort Zanzibar
Hotel Dongwe Zanzibar/Bwejuu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dongwe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Dongwe to your Saves list