We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barefoot chic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shooting Star Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kiwengwa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shooting Star Lodge
Save
You added Shooting Star Lodge to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   P. O. Box 3076, Kiwengwa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Barefoot chic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We discovered this hotel 2 years ago when staying at another resort and knew that it was the place for us. We were not disappointed during our 8 day stay. Our cottage was wonderful, peaceful and cool; the food excellent; the staff welcoming and attentive. There is excellent wifi connectivity if needed but happily no television - it's a place to unwind, rediscover the joys of reading, listen to music, chat to other guests and staff, become obsessed with the Swahili game Bao and watch the constantly changing sea and sky. All kinds of tours can be arranged and there is an excellent spa but the greatest pleasure for us was just to quietly soak up the tranquility in such beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: A good variety from rooms to suites. We were in a lovely cottage - room 15 - would definitely recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    56
    18
    19
    8
See reviews for
36
142
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from an amazing holiday in Tanzania. The only part of the trip that did not live up to expectations was the stay at the Shooting Star. The staff were so much less friendly and helpful than anywhere else we went. The room was spacious but the bathroom smelt terrible and one of the lights didn't work. The shower was old and inefficient. One of the bedside lights was broken and the whole room smelt musty. The food was very average. On the plus side the location was beautiful but when there you are trapped and the beach is very rocky and the tide goes out so far swimming is then impossible without a very long walk.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Shooting star is a fantastic place. A very charming and authentic lodge with an African touch in architecture and design. I was received by sweet staff in the reception and 29 Hawaii flowers in my room and I was jumping from joy from the first second. This is not a huge & noisy resort but a beautiful pearl that only the lucky once find.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I cannot reccomend Shooting Star Lodge Highly enough.It is a small intemate little gem in a wonderful location!
The Staff were welcoming and always smiling and the food excellent.
We stayed in one of the suites which was luxurious - three floors, the roof terrace having a sunken bath and a four poster bed so that you could sleep under the stars if you wanted to. We had our own pool and a private path down to the beach.
The infinity pool is great.
Thank you to Elly and his staff for a wonderfully relaxing stay

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was first stop in for my wife's first visit to Tanzania. I have been many times on business. Wonderful place to stay to recover from jet lag! Setting is amazing, food is great and all the staff were very welcoming and attentive. Strongly recommended!

Room Tip: Stay in beachside cottage room south of main building. Gets the breeze and keeps the mosquitoes away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We only visited this resort for an evening to watch the Bush Babies descend from the overhead trees to eat bananas but enjoyed a super couple of drinks in a fabulous location. The staff were very welcoming and made a real fuss of our children (the reason we weren't staying here) and whilst we didn't end up eating from the set menu it looked like we were missing out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I strongly recommend this small resort.
The ocean-view room was spacious, clean and air-conditionned, which was a must in warm Zanzibar!
The perfect hotel to relax by the infinity pool and eat delicious meals.
Such a gem in a quiet part of Kiwengwa beach.
The staff was very accommodating. I would rate the customer service as superior.
Would return in a heartbeat.
Thanks for a great stay, Shooting Star!!!

Room Tip: the oceanview room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shooting Star Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shooting Star Lodge

Address: P. O. Box 3076, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shooting Star Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shooting Star Lodge is a small family-run lodge set on a cliff on the North end of the stunning Kiwengwa beach. Famous for its good local food and intimate atmosphere, the lodge has 3 different types of accommodation: 3 Garden Lodge Rooms, 11 Sea View Cottages, and 2 Monsoon Villas (suites). The fantastic infinity pool has one of the best views on Zanzibar and is the perfect place to cool down. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shooting Star Hotel Zanzibar
Shooting Star Lodge Zanzibar/Kiwengwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shooting Star Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.