We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and do nothing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shooting Star Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kiwengwa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shooting Star Lodge
Save
You added Shooting Star Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   P. O. Box 3076, Kiwengwa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and do nothing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here after a Safari (although with hindsight we would probably have stayed at the Arusha coffee lodge for three days relaxation and saved a flight).
We found the staff to be friendly and always keen to respond to our requests. We had a beachfront bungalow (no 7 i think) and the location was perfect. We were happy to sit in the garden or on the day sofa and enjoy the view and the warm breeze. It was very quite and relaxing. The room was basic and comfortable with a few issues on maintainance, loose wires on the bedside lights and the shower head was broken. The bedding was in good order and clean as was the room. We enjoyed the food, it was tasty and well presented and the outdoor restuarant was nice for the evenings and breakfast. The wine was too expensive for me but the beers were well priced.There was a beach bar and hammocks along the deserted beach but we hardly saw anyone use them. We were happy on the clifftop garden.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    53
    18
    19
    8
See reviews for
35
140
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We will be going there at Christmas for our third time. We always stay in one of the suites, which maybe gives the trip an extra edge for us. To sit on the room for a sundowner or to swim in your own private pool (a real pool, not just a plunge pool) is wonderful. The food is great, the service can be a little slow (don't bother asking for breakfast in bed- 1 hour later..)The drinks are a bit expensive- i think the cocktails are $8 or $10. Lovely infinity pool and great bar area for relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Don't go there! It's not worth his price. Also prices are very expensive for drinks,... when you compare it with other lodges on the island. (for a bottle of wine it's twice the price with an other lodge next door!) There are 2 cats always in the restaurant and the kitchen... I have done a lot of hotels - lodges before and never I have seen such a bad staff!
You can see they don't like to work there! They never smile, some of them look really depressed (what you don't want on your holiday) A smile is too much for the most of them. They are lazy and don't help you searching for a solution in case of any problem.
The food is really not extraordinary, it is really not worth this price!!
Go to Fumba beach lodge! Also a 4 star on the other side of the island and this one is really worth his price!
Don't spill your time and money in Shooting star lodge!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaimani, Manager at Shooting Star Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
We are very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and appreciate your comment as it gives us a chance to improve our performance.

It is true that we have two cats on our premises which are dearly loved by most of our guests. Though, of course we understand that this won’t suit everyone. When asked, staff are always capable of keeping them away. We also feed them during meal times so that they don’t bother our guests. Please be assured that they have never seen the kitchen, though I’m sure they’d love to!

As to our staff, we are terribly sorry to hear what your feelings are. Many of them have been with us for a long time now and are very well looked after. After all, we do try to employ as many local people as possible.
They are always very friendly and open. Glad to have a chat and a laugh with our guests. Almost every comment we’ve received up to now has been very positive. However sometimes they can be intimidated by some guests and don’t want to look unprofessional. Perhaps you might have misinterpreted their formal demeanor.

We are always willing to provide assistance and solutions to any of our guests. This gives us to improve their stay.

With kind regards,

The Shooting Star Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was a beautiful resort. The beach was stunning and the property was well decorated and maintained. Super friendly staff and delicious food. I was traveling solo, so it felt a little too romantic for my style, but had I been there with my boyfriend, it would have been perfect. I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to get away to a private paradise in Zanzibar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Loved our simple rooms here.....close to the pool, beach& and common area but felt sooo private.
Staff was fantastic, food was amazing........every meal which is surprising for me since I am a foodie. I loved that they delivered early morning coffee to my room since I'm an early riser so i enjoyed early mornings with coffee and a view by the pool. Loved the day snorkeling too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ouderkerk aan de Amstel, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Beautiful spot, somewhat secluded from and much more intimate than the huge Italian and Spanish resorts (though you'd like the pizza and espresso at Gabi next door!). The infinity pool is very nice.
We had two spacious two-storey cottages with great sea-view. Especially room 15 is fantastic. Maintenance needs attention though (the remote control of our airco was missing and replaced by a stick to get the thing started) Some of the staff are as kind as they are slow: take at least one hour for breakfast. We asked the front-office manager three times how much it would cost to upgrade from half to full board. We never got an answer. Food is generally ok but nothing special. Lunch a little, and wine very overpriced, the most expensive on our three week Tanzania stay. Don't understand the great reviews about the food. Soup as a starter of the three course dinner everyday is not very inventive. Some of us had stomach-problems after one dinner.
Owner Elly (?) is a very (too) smooth talker.
Hard to swim due to tides and seaweed. No snorkeling or diving in front of the hotel. For snorkeling: don't let the guys on the beach take you to Mnemba. Try Nungwe or Kwenda instead.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I am currently staying at the shooting star and quiet mismurized by the magic of the place.
For those who love nature, an eco friendly environment, fresh organic food, a twisty of mistery, the smell of excentric spices, a cool and friendly service, the cry of bush babies at night, the sound of the palmtrees in the wind and those of the crushing waves on the coral reef and the list goes on..... If you need to chil and find your soul again this is the place to be. I am in an amazing suite 'Kaskazi" and it is just to die for.... I feel like a little queen in her palace.
I feel sorry for those who made a bad revieuw as they did not have a chance to experiance or see what I am. Maybe "Las Vegas" is the sort of trip they are looking for. This place for me is "simple going to extrodinary" and I will be back at Shooting Star again an again.... :)

Room Tip: Kaskazi suite is a double story suite with a roof top and an amazing view. Very spacious and with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shooting Star Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shooting Star Lodge

Address: P. O. Box 3076, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shooting Star Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shooting Star Lodge is a small family-run lodge set on a cliff on the North end of the stunning Kiwengwa beach. Famous for its good local food and intimate atmosphere, the lodge has 3 different types of accommodation: 3 Garden Lodge Rooms, 11 Sea View Cottages, and 2 Monsoon Villas (suites). The fantastic infinity pool has one of the best views on Zanzibar and is the perfect place to cool down. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shooting Star Hotel Zanzibar
Shooting Star Lodge Zanzibar/Kiwengwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shooting Star Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.