We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Melia Zanzibar to your Saves list
Melia Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 3140, Kiwengwa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Hotel's location is amazing on the East Coast of Zanzibar, no corals on the beach and the view is amazing in addition to the huge land scape for the hotel around 43 hectares makes the experience even better.

There are a lot of things to do in the hotel and the surroundings, the staff are very friendly and well trained for service industry. If you are travelling with kids it is better to take mosquitos and insects lotion or cream cause they are too many that may be difficult for high sensitive people to stay outside at night but nothing serious. The weather was perfect, the fruits and vegetables used in the hotel are actually planted in the hotel’s premises.

Room Tip: Since the Hotel has a free wi-fi so it's better to have something close to the main building if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking time to post your rave review about your recent stay at Melia Zanzibar. We are glad to hear that you loved the location of the hotel which is one of the best in Zanzibar; we are also pleased to learn that you enjoyed the beautiful landscape of our property, activities, facilities, services, and friendliness of the staff. We are truly proud to be the one who made your holiday memorable. At Melia Zanzibar we work for excellence and guests’ satisfaction is our priority. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with the entire team of which every individual is so thankful!

Our main goal is to go beyond by exceeding our guests’ expectations; we are thrilled to be your "home away from home" here in Zanzibar.
We wish to welcome you again in the near future!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    133
    42
    15
    9
See reviews for
79
338
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sines, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Excellent for relax. Everything was good, since the food, the room, service. The beach is excellent (Gabi beach) with great water in terms of temperature, color, sand, everything. The hotel offers very pleasant spaces to relax and admire the nature. It features a SPA with a very good quality. It is possible to make sport too. The service was very good. The entire staff responds promptly to any request and very friendly and professional way. I strongly recommend! The motto is Hakuna matata (no problems)!!!

Room Tip: Romance Pavillons are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing Melia Zanzibar as your recent holiday destination and for taking the time to review our property. Your input is greatly appreciated of which we are delighted that you had a wonderful experience especially on the food, rooms, facilities, services, Gabi beach, friendliness and professionalism of the staffs. At Melia Zanzibar we work for excellence and guests’ satisfaction is our priority.

Our main goal is to go beyond by exceeding our guests’ expectations whereby we create the perfect oasis combined with tranquillity and relaxation.

We appreciate you so much and would like to thank you for thumb up endorsement whilst looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent two weeks in January 2013 at the Melia on the Zanzibari East coast. The hotel is very well managed, with highly motivated staff (partly from Germany). The food was superb, in particular the indian style buffets of the
nepalese-indian chef. The two Kasach/Russian musicians entertained us with classical vocal and violin pop music and were never boring even after two weeks. To reach the beach, you have to take the golf car unless you are fit enought for a 30 minutes walk along the beach (during low tide) or on a conrete path.

Room Tip: To avoid long walks, chose a room close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent holiday in Zanzibar. We are so very grateful for your loyalty to our property and also to learn that you enjoyed every moment of your stay.

We are very committed to bring excellent services to our guests, and this makes us different in the Island.

We look forward to having you back again very soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We've only just left and I'm using the free wifi at Zanzibar airport (little traveller tip!) to say what an amazing time we spent at Melia.

The hotel grounds are stunning. It's huge and so well landscaped with gorgeous vistas of the Indian Ocean. The food in the main restaurant and other bars/restaurants is great too with enough variety to keep our 5 day stay interesting.

The rooms are spacious and the modern bathrooms are probably the highlight with an indoor and outdoor shower area.

Gabi Beach (the hotel beach) is fantastic as well. While here we travelled to beaches in Kendwa, Paje, Jambiani and Pongwe as we wanted to be sure to have have seen the top beaches and can honestly say that Gabi was the best by far in terms of beauty and furniture/cabanas etc... We were here in low season though so all of them were quiet and relaxing so if you are looking for crowds and parties/excitement we can't really comment!

My only negative comment is the service is a little slow but that seems to just be the pace of life on the island in general, and our telephone wasn't working properly either with so much static it could by be used or with no dial tone. But despite these minor hiccups we would def recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Meliá Zanzibar as your “hide away” as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.
I would like to send my gratitude appreciation for selecting our resort as your preferred destination and that you had the opportunity to taste our products. On behalf of team, I am pleased to hear your honest and constructive feedback concerning our services.

Guests are priority to us and that is why we go extra miles to bring the touch and meet their needs. We pride ourselves that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay and made your holiday a memorable one.
Once again thank you so much for thumb up endorsement whilst looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

we stayed in Melia, Zanzibar over the Easter holidays with my husband and our 5 months old baby and it was such bliss..lovely staff who payed attention to small details and made even our baby enjoy his holiday.. good food, beautifully set rooms with a view of the ocean.hotel is on a large piece of land so we could find a quiet place when we were looking for one even when the hotel was full. our room was clean, tidy and beautiful renovated bathroom. :). though there was no direct access to the beach, the hotel offered golf carts to transport guests to the private beach and back and hosted some parties on the beach at night which we found really nice. our overall family holiday was fun and we were sad to leave.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms had good access as we had the baby pram.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Melia Zanzibar. I have taken the liberty to share your positive feedback to the rest of the team; especially on the food, beauty and cleanness of the room, grounds, ambience, friendliness of the staff and general services. I am delighted that you found the hotel to be of most convenience for your stay.
We proud ourselves for being unique on the Island and besides our services are incomparable. We are delighted that we were the one to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for trusting Melia Zanzibar to be your host, hoping to see you again in the near future

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at the Melia, Zanzibar for 4 days in 2012, and I loved every moment of it. I found the service provided by my valet to be attentive but not imposing, my ocean-view (a little obscured by palm trees) suite was lovely (though I would have liked to see some furnishings on the rooftop patio which I almost felt was unknown to the world) and clean. The indoor and outdoor showers were a lovely touch. The staff were very friendly and I enjoyed the food very much. It was my first time to Africa so there was considerable wow factor, but I still would say that enjoying a drink and conversation in the pier-end bar (even with the periodic power outages) was pure magic. Gabi Beach (while quite a walk - hotel does provide golf cart rides over there) was charming. Next time I go to Zanzibar, and I intend to return with my family, we will stay there for sure.

Room Tip: The rooms are in buildings of 4 (I think) and can be quite a distance from the main building/pool/re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your moment with us and your comment through trip advisor. I have shared your positive feedback with entire team; they are all thrilled with your compliments.

It is our highest priority to provide our guests with exceptional services, high quality of care and protection from each part of the hotel. Our professional team are working very hard to ensure that the total guests’ satisfaction is imposed and exceeded.

Gabi Beach is 1 kilometre away from the hotel but the golf cars are available every 15minutes from and to the beach. Some of the guests prefer to walk while enjoying the beauty of the landscape and fresh air direct from the ocean.

We are delighted to welcome you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed there during our honeymoon. Place is really romantic, especially if you stay at the bungalows by the sea..
Enjoying delicious cocktais by the pool and the beach was lovely. The ambiance was really nice all around. The food at the beach was very good but the buffet in the main restaurant was so so, should be much better in such a high class (&price) hotel.

Room Tip: If you r going to get a bungalow, I'D suggest you call the hotel and ask for a map to choose, fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed feedback about your experience at Melia Zanzibar posted on Trip Advisor, and also for choosing our hotel to be your option during your holiday.

I am very happy to learn that you really had a good experience at our hotel. We have carefully read and noted your comments about the buffet in main restaurant. We take all comments seriously to improve our services and avoid future occurrences.

Should you find yourself back in the Island, we remain at your disposal to welcome you back.

Bes t Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Zanzibar

Address: P.O. Box 3140, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Hotel and Resort is the Zanzibar's leading international resort, situated on the north-east coast of the island. Melia Zanzibar is built on a 40 acre estate with a beautiful beach of pearlescent white sand lapped by warm ocean waters, 300 meters long, situated at the very end of the property to procure the perfect combination with nature. The resort is ringed by a natural coral reef, making bathing a relaxing and safe experience. The hotel is perfect destination for honeymoon or wedding vacations as well as meetings & incentives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Escapio, Booking.com, Melia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Melia Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Zamani Zanzibar Kempinski Kiwengwa
Melia Zanzibar Kiwengwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.