We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Melia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Zanzibar to your Saves list
Melia Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 3140, Kiwengwa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Melia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

we stayed in Melia, Zanzibar over the Easter holidays with my husband and our 5 months old baby and it was such bliss..lovely staff who payed attention to small details and made even our baby enjoy his holiday.. good food, beautifully set rooms with a view of the ocean.hotel is on a large piece of land so we could find a quiet place when we were looking for one even when the hotel was full. our room was clean, tidy and beautiful renovated bathroom. :). though there was no direct access to the beach, the hotel offered golf carts to transport guests to the private beach and back and hosted some parties on the beach at night which we found really nice. our overall family holiday was fun and we were sad to leave.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms had good access as we had the baby pram.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Melia Zanzibar. I have taken the liberty to share your positive feedback to the rest of the team; especially on the food, beauty and cleanness of the room, grounds, ambience, friendliness of the staff and general services. I am delighted that you found the hotel to be of most convenience for your stay.
We proud ourselves for being unique on the Island and besides our services are incomparable. We are delighted that we were the one to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for trusting Melia Zanzibar to be your host, hoping to see you again in the near future

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    144
    43
    16
    9
See reviews for
83
372
26
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed at the Melia, Zanzibar for 4 days in 2012, and I loved every moment of it. I found the service provided by my valet to be attentive but not imposing, my ocean-view (a little obscured by palm trees) suite was lovely (though I would have liked to see some furnishings on the rooftop patio which I almost felt was unknown to the world) and clean. The indoor and outdoor showers were a lovely touch. The staff were very friendly and I enjoyed the food very much. It was my first time to Africa so there was considerable wow factor, but I still would say that enjoying a drink and conversation in the pier-end bar (even with the periodic power outages) was pure magic. Gabi Beach (while quite a walk - hotel does provide golf cart rides over there) was charming. Next time I go to Zanzibar, and I intend to return with my family, we will stay there for sure.

Room Tip: The rooms are in buildings of 4 (I think) and can be quite a distance from the main building/pool/re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your moment with us and your comment through trip advisor. I have shared your positive feedback with entire team; they are all thrilled with your compliments.

It is our highest priority to provide our guests with exceptional services, high quality of care and protection from each part of the hotel. Our professional team are working very hard to ensure that the total guests’ satisfaction is imposed and exceeded.

Gabi Beach is 1 kilometre away from the hotel but the golf cars are available every 15minutes from and to the beach. Some of the guests prefer to walk while enjoying the beauty of the landscape and fresh air direct from the ocean.

We are delighted to welcome you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed there during our honeymoon. Place is really romantic, especially if you stay at the bungalows by the sea..
Enjoying delicious cocktais by the pool and the beach was lovely. The ambiance was really nice all around. The food at the beach was very good but the buffet in the main restaurant was so so, should be much better in such a high class (&price) hotel.

Room Tip: If you r going to get a bungalow, I'D suggest you call the hotel and ask for a map to choose, fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your detailed feedback about your experience at Melia Zanzibar posted on Trip Advisor, and also for choosing our hotel to be your option during your holiday.

I am very happy to learn that you really had a good experience at our hotel. We have carefully read and noted your comments about the buffet in main restaurant. We take all comments seriously to improve our services and avoid future occurrences.

Should you find yourself back in the Island, we remain at your disposal to welcome you back.

Bes t Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stay at Melia Zanzibar for week in March.
Review a lot of information before to come about the Hotel and the destination, we were pleasently surprised in everything. Zanzibar is very beautiful place with wonderful nature.
The Hotel is located on the first line of the Ocean, the territory is very big but comfortable. We were greeted by very friendly Reception staff and quick escorted to the room.
The room had spectacular ocean view, very big bathroom with all necessary amenities, comfortable bed with amazing light curtains around. Room was clean every day according all standards.
The Hotel exceed our expectation in food selection, every meal was very tasty and fresh. Especially we liked Indian Dinner at Main buffet restaurant and breakfast food selection with fresh juices, pineapples, mango. There was alive music on the Restaurant terrace every evening, very nice touch.
Hotel staff in every outlet is very polite, friendly and taking good care of you.
In every Bar it is very good selection of imported alcohol and soft drinks.
The territory of hotel very well organized, clean, with ocean view from the main pool.
We will definitly recommend the Hotel to all friends and would like to come back!
Thank you Melia Zanzibar for great, relax vacation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Melia Zanzibar. I have taken the liberty of sharing your positive compliments and feedback to the rest of the team; especially on the food, outlets, rooms, grounds, ambience, live music, friendliness of the staff and general services at large. I am delighted that you found the hotel to be of most convenience to you during your stay.

As you mentioned that Zanzibar is very beautiful place with wonderful nature, it is very true and I would like to assure you that, among other beautiful things, Melia Zanzibar is very unique; we have our own style which makes us different.

We are very proud that we were the one to exceed your expectations with our outstanding services. We do believe that you will be a good ambassador to your friends and family telling them about Melia Zanzibar. This is truly a thumb up endorsement for us which we carry along to reach the highest place in hospitality industry.

Should you find yourself back to the Island, please don’t hesitate to contact us as we remain at your disposal.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es salaam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

You guys are amazing! We had a great time over the Easter break at Melia Zanzibar! Everything from the party at the Jetty and Gabi Beach party was awesome. Pool bar service was great, many congrats to Mr. Mohamed and his team! You guys are something else. Without forgetting our swift booking experience for accommodation as well as Gabi Beach party Cabana which was done by the wonderful and professional lady Rukia. Customer services and assistance that we got from Mr. Cesar was great as well. Thank you all, we will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Romance ocean front pavilion are most romantic rooms as the name suggest!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Warm greetings from the Spicy Island of Zanzibar!
Thank you for trusting Melia Zanzibar to be your recent Easter break destination. Your constructive and positive remarks are of great importance to us, we take them as a tool which pushes us to deliver more and meet our guest's expectations.

We are overwhelmed to hear that you discovered what Melia Zanzibar is capable of, initially you were left relaxed and rejuvenated after spending time with us. Amazing part of it is the way you enjoyed the party at the Jetty and Gabi Beach, and also that you loved pool services. I have taken the liberty to share your sincere feedback with the team, especially all mentioned team members. We have a very professional team of which you can trust to bring endless and unforgettable memories.

Our aim and mission is to create the perfect oasis combined with tranquillity and make sure our guests receive services and care they deserve.

Thank you once again for your presence and wish to welcome you again on your next break.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The scenery is great, but the service is not of a 5 stars. The food also is not great. The staff is not well trained. On the pool side there are no enough waiters. When you finally get to order drinks or food, it take forever to get served. I was disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Melia Zanzibar and that you loved our hotel.

On a different note, I sincerely do apologize for were we lacked in details to meet your expectations during your stay. Regards the performance of our staffs, please be assured that, we provide a continuous training sessions to make sure the expected service to our guests is met. Melia Zanzibar as an International Company, we give priority to employ local staff and train them to meet our standards. It is very unfortunate that you didn’t feel and experience that. However, I have taken the liberty to share your comments with my team and we will work on your comments to avoid future occurrences.

While hoping to welcome you in the near future, I remain at your disposal!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Fantastic resort on East Coast. The service and quality of this place was fanatastic. The staff from check in to Security staff were great! I want to especially recognize John who was working the Service desk, he was unbelievable ; friendly, helpful and always smiling. He is a great asset to the hotel.
We had a Romance Pavilion which while pricey was definitely worth it! The food and drink quality was great and we had a all-inclusive package that met all of ur needs included.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Meliá Zanzibar as your “hide away” as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.
I would like to send my gratitude appreciation for selecting our resort as your preferred destination and that you had the opportunity to taste our products. On behalf of team, I am pleased to hear your honest and constructive feedback concerning our services.

Guests are priority to us and that is why we go extra miles to bring the touch and meet their needs. We pride ourselves that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay and made your holiday a memorable one.
Once again thank you so much for thumb up endorsement whilst looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Zanzibar

Address: P.O. Box 3140, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Hotel and Resort is the Zanzibar's leading international resort, situated on the north-east coast of the island. Melia Zanzibar is built on a 40 acre estate with a beautiful beach of pearlescent white sand lapped by warm ocean waters, 300 meters long, situated at the very end of the property to procure the perfect combination with nature. The resort is ringed by a natural coral reef, making bathing a relaxing and safe experience. The hotel is perfect destination for honeymoon or wedding vacations as well as meetings & incentives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Melia Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Zamani Zanzibar Kempinski Kiwengwa
Melia Zanzibar Kiwengwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.