We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful on the surface, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Zanzibar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Zanzibar to your Saves list
Melia Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 3140, Kiwengwa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Beautiful on the surface, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I can only rate this hotel with three stars because other than the restaurant staff, they fall short. We found ourselves having to ask for simple things like water in the room. Our request for a wake up call was not fulfilled. I tried to make a call to town from the room and the receptionist told it was too much bother for her to give an outside line. We had to ask for minibar things that just should have been there, like coffee.
It is on beautiful grounds which are meticulously maintained.
The food is not five star quality, not been close.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write the comments about your recent stay with us at Melia Zanzibar, above all is the trust that you chose our hotel as your holiday destination. Although it is never pleasant to hear of our shortcomings, your comments are instrumental in guiding us towards total guest satisfaction. On behalf of the entire team please accept my sincere apologies for the unfavourable experience you encountered during your stay. We take some of your doubts and concerns as a challenge to improve our services, but also we cannot accept any criticism towards our hotel.

On a different note, I would like to remind you that, as soon as you requested for the mini-bar to be filled and bulb to be adjusted, room service and maintenance team were with you within 7 minutes time to make sure all reported issues were rectified. Our Guest Experience Team called you 15 minutes later, of which you confirmed that everything was fine and that you were satisfied.

Lastly but not least, I am proud to inform you that, Melia Zanzibar is part of an international company which comprises with an experienced team. We are qualified company selected to be in the market as a 5 Star Hotel.

We remain at your disposal should you find yourself back in Zanzibar!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    143
    43
    16
    9
See reviews for
82
372
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Hi I stayed here from the 28th December - 7th January. Most of the staff are wonderful especially the lovely lady who made beautiful animals out of the towels every day to display on our beds and the guys who drive the golf carts. The food was lovely, however if you are a vegetarian there is very little to select from the menu, however they will cater for you if you ask. The one drawback is that the beach is a good walk away. Golf carts are provided but get quite busy late in the evening.

P.S. Don't get ill, it cost $100 to get into visit the Dr. before any treatment!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Susie
Thank you so much for sharing your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay at Melia Zanzibar. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with the team here which encourage them to keep up the good work.

I am delighted to read that you found our staff very professional and creative, especially the one who makes beautiful animals out of the towels. Please be assured that your opinion is very important to us, and you have our commitment, from both the hotel management and all the staff, that your comments will be used as a step tool up and also improve our services.

I have noted your comment regards the busiest time at Gabi Beach in the evening. The plan is already in place to add more Golf Carts which will cater every need of our clients. As for the charges from our Clinic; we are guided by the Ministry of Health, the trusted ministry setting the prices, so the costs charged at our clinic are worthwhile.

While hoping to see you in the near future, I remain at your disposal!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After our safaris my husband and I stayed in this beautiful resort in a villa with a private pool and butler service (a big Thank You to Adili and Amina) - it was absolutely worth it: a life-lasting experience! We had a fantastic week with absolute privacy when needed. The other rooms are generously spread on the Grunds, situated in a beautiful garden which is perfectly taken care of. There is also a large infinity pool. The food in all 3 restaurants was varied and good - something for everybody - and much too much temptations. The management team always had an open ear for suggestions, is constantly trying to improve things and takes a lot of efforts to train the local staff (sometimes the serving of the drinks was a bit slow). However, at the end of the week they knew our wishes before we requested! Only the woman at the guest services was always late and not very friendly. The tapas in the Jetty restaurant under a sky full of stars were gorgeous! Gabi Beach is a bit far although they take you there with some electric golf cars; and swimming in the sea is only possible when the tide is high, but this is true for the whole west coast (due to the coral reef). If we decide to spend some time in Zanzibar once again, we'll definetely choose Melia.

Room Tip: If you want to have absolute luxury and privacy for a few USD extra take a villa with a private poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Alvaro,

Warm greetings from the Spicy Island of Zanzibar!
Thank you for trusting Melia Zanzibar to be your recent Honeymoon destination. Your constructive and positive remarks are of great importance to us, we take them as a tool which pushes us to deliver more and meet our guest's expectations.
We are overwhelmed to hear that you discovered hidden treasures in our Romantic Suite, initially you felt relaxed and rejuvenated after spending time with us. Our aim and mission is to create the perfect oasis combined with tranquillity and make sure our guests receive services and care they deserve. As for the beach, it is only available at low tide, when the water goes quite away out leaving a flat sandy area for people to walk around and enjoy. While at high tide, our guests can take full advantage of swimming. We also have a spacious salt-chlorinated infinity pool allowing guests to enjoy the sea water like ambience from the comfort of the pool.

Thank you once again for your presence and wishing you the very best for the year 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I spent a quiet weekend in early December at the Melia Zanzibar between business weeks in Dar. We booked the all inclusive, which I had never tried before. It was great, and at $300 a night for two guests, I thought a terrific value. We had all the food and drink we could ever want. There were too many dining venue choices for our short visit - but all that we tried were beautiful. The breakfast buffet was so complete that we never needed lunch. The grounds and room and facilities are all to die for. We loved lounging by the infinity pool, and the beach. The service was impecable and made even more special by the friendly concierge, John, who made sure that everything was perfect for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Eliabeth,

Warm greetings from Melia Zanzibar!
I am delighted to read your positive review posted on Trip Advisor regarding your recent holiday at Melia Zanzibar.

I have shared your constructive feedback with the team and truly they are more than happy to have met your expectations. I am also pleased to learn that you managed to enjoy our restaurants where we have varieties of meal plans including ALL Inclusive packages, as well as stunning grounds and facilities which leave our guests speechless.

We sincerely hope that, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a week over New Year and absolutely loved it.

All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, nothing seemed like too much trouble (except, funnily enough with the guest services women downstairs who seemed less than interested in helping us out).

We decided not to go all inclusive as we wanted to travel round a bit and try different restaurants, but we did have the breakfast every day which was great. We also ate at The Jetty on New Years Eve which was a lovely experience - I would definitely recommend the Jetty restaurant to anyone looking for something a bit romantic and special.

Out room was fantastic, beautifully clean with an amazing and huge bathroom - and an awesome outdoor shower!

The location isn't great if you want to travel around a bit, and the hotel charges extortionate rates for taxis but it is easy enough to find someone local and book through them instead.

All in all, would absolutely recommend, a very special week.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback from your recent stay at Melia Zanzibar. We are delighted to hear that you loved our services, outlets, facilities and the attention from everyone whom you came across with. We are very proud that our efforts to provide the unique and outstanding services were reflected during your stay.

I am very sorry to learn that our hotel location and company cars charges were not to your satisfaction. In my point of view, the location suits most of our guests as they like a “hideaway” while on holidays. As for the transfer charges, we charge according to the distance, we are situated 40km from town, so the charges are worthwhile.

Our culinary team of professionals are dedicated to create a fusion of experiences to our entire guests, and your enthusiastic feedback has encouraged the team to bring more creativity to their services offered.

I am delighted to be at your entire disposal should you find yourself back in Zanzibar.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A very nice resort, with a sand beach with restaurant a little bit further on the resort - transport with elect. cars-
Good restaurants with a lot of choises of food. During x mass possible all incl for $ 50 pppd on top of bed and breakfast. Good choise for the money if you compare it to other resorts on the island where we were also during the x mass period. O yes, also the big bathroom was very nice with an inside and outside shower.

Bert, from Holland

Room Tip: We got a garden room with terras, very good, again!!! an fantastic resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post this very friendly review about your stay at Melia Zanzibar. I have taken the liberty to share your constructive comment with the team. We aim to extend a warm welcome to all our guest and we are happy to read that you found your stay comfortable and also that you enjoyed our services in our outlets and also bed and breakfast selection.

We hope we will be able to have the pleasure to attend you soon again.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Melia! Melia! Melia! What a fantastic location seafront and in the middle of the most beautiful exotic gardens I have ever seen. The air is naturally fragranced by the flowers, birds chirping wherever you go, very private and exclusive rooms.
I was immediately upgraded to a suite as there were no normal rooms left and it was quite simply breathtaking.
Do not miss: a massage at the thai spa, dinner and drinks at the jetty with live music, lady brigitte to get you out and about on a day trip. Don't miss stone town!
Gabi beach is also fantastic.
Food was always good and varied. I would have personally liked to see some healthy diet options, maybe at aqua. Otherwise you can forget being on a diet here - too many temptations!!
Would have liked to see a dvd library for guests and more books in the library...but I am sure all of this is coming.
Doctor's clinic is available at the melia but very expensive, I would recommend you bring your own medicines.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John E, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Zanzibar, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I want to thank you for choosing us and taking the time to write a review about us. You opinion is very important to us, and you have our commitment, from both the hotel management and all the staff, that all of your comments will be used to improve our services and make sure that all our customers have the best holiday and unforgettable experiences during their stay.

It is a pleasure to hear that we could share our magical garden with plants, flowers and our suspicious room that create an oasis combined with tranquillity which make your holiday more comfortable and relaxing. All staff work very hard and strive to go beyond the expectations of customers and we feel very proud to see results. Also your comments concerning more diet food in Aqua restaurant we have taken your advice into consideration and hope next time you will find more variety. As for Melia Clinic price, we are monitored by Ministry of Health the one who determines the charges.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Zanzibar

Address: P.O. Box 3140, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Hotel and Resort is the Zanzibar's leading international resort, situated on the north-east coast of the island. Melia Zanzibar is built on a 40 acre estate with a beautiful beach of pearlescent white sand lapped by warm ocean waters, 300 meters long, situated at the very end of the property to procure the perfect combination with nature. The resort is ringed by a natural coral reef, making bathing a relaxing and safe experience. The hotel is perfect destination for honeymoon or wedding vacations as well as meetings & incentives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Melia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Melia Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Zanzibar Hotel Kiwengwa
Zamani Zanzibar Kempinski Kiwengwa
Melia Zanzibar Kiwengwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.