We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful Oasis” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O.Box 3276 | Kiwengwa, North Coast, Kiwengwa 3276, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“peaceful Oasis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

we spent 2 restful days at the Bluebay after a week of safari. lovely welcome with cool towels and drinks and a beautiful set up with open air dining, plenty of lounge areas and a good beach...a bit of a relief after the long drive from the airport. Water in the Indian ocean was bathlike and pools a little more refreshing. Staff was attentive and eager to please. Rooms were spacious and cool ...AC was very welcome and worked well. We loved our balcony seating area. Food was good. Make sure you order the local beers for real refreshment! We enjoyed entertainment as we ate and the Masai set up a market on our last evening. we had a small problem with a leaking fridge which was addressed right away.Make sure to use your bug spray in the evenings as you will enjoy sitting outside. overall a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

After our safari in the serengeti we visited Blue Bay to relax and reflect.
It is a perfect location on the northeast coast of Zanzibar.
Our second floor balcony room was very nice with a fantastic view of the gardens and Indian Ocean.
The staff were wonderful. The dining room was comfortable and the dining was great.
Beautiful swimming pool and gardens and incredible beach.

The clientel was very international.

I heartily endores this resort.
The beach was very entertaining. At low tide the tide was out almost a kilometer.
The water is very warm and the waterfront has many working boats and fishermen.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at Blue bay for 5 nights at New Year 2013. The grounds and pool are lovely. It is on the very gorgeous coast and lovely to look out at while sunbathing.
I had an accident while travelling and we needed the wheelchair unit and a wheel chair. The staff could not have been more helpful. This unit was very suitable for persons with disabilities and there were ramps most places around the grounds.
We found the service at the bars and when wanting a drink on the beach / lawn area, very friendly and didn't take too long. The pizza restaurant on the beach served very good food. We had lunch there and ate at the buffet for dinner.
I liked our unit. It was a good size. Extra pillows came promptly and turn down was accompanied by spraying. We were not bitten at any time.
My husband and I travelled with our children who are in theirn 20s and their partners. I'm not expecting to return to Zanzibar but would rcommend Blue Bay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coatesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were initially impressed on arriving at the hotel-and ther layout,pools and dining areas are nice if a little tired. The rooms themselves were clean but again, tired.

On the night we arrived a tray with leftovers from the downstairs room's room service was left out awaiting collection. It was still there three days later which shows a lack of attention to basic details.It took several calls to get an extra pillow

Staff were lovely and willing to help but service was very patchy/slow on occasions. Again a symptom of lack of training/attention to detail.

Food was good but we had reservations about how fresh some of the seafood at the buffet was.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay but felt for the levels of service and standard of furnishings the hotel fell short of where it should be for the rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrighty177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Airport-totaly disorganized visa entry, you have to fill in different forms prior paying the visa. No Airconditioning -humidity so be prepared to wait up to 1h before emerging out from the arrivals (if we can call it like that).

Change your money to local currency on the Airport as it is much better then in the Hotels or in the City even though you can pay in USD or EURO's too.

Hotel Blue Bay Resort and Spa: great value for money, excellent service, choice of food for dinner more then I expected, breakfast disapointing could be better choice of food comparing to the rest of services, excuberent price of drinks (local small bear 6,5 euro, mineral water small bottle same)

total experince: we had a great time and would come back to the same Hotel.

Shopping: Stone City shop owners trying to get most of it so from 80 USD to 20 USD after 5 min of negotiations. Best deal we made was on the beach in small shops where you can hagle in a friendly way up to the price you want to pay.

Swiming in the sea was great only tides are nuisance as it is limited time you have for real swiming.

Mosquitos: some issues with this, but rooms are well protected

food : great choice as mentioned previously

Airport: on the way to Arusha (Precision Air) ground staff did not allow me to take hand luggage (previosuly allowed by Air Italia and Ethiopian Arilines) so I have put a paddlock and locked it. After arrival to Arusha Airport we found out that our luggage was opened and we had a missing WI FI loudspekaers for our smart phone.

Upon return to Zanzibar we have reported the teft to Precision Air staff (very unfreindly and uncooperative) and spent 1h trying to explain that it was not stolen on Safari and Arusha Airport) but in Zanzibar. Obviolusly a well organized scheme as after scaning they coudsl easily open the hand bag and remove whatever they liked.

I was duirected to complain to Customer Service of Precision Air (of course no reply on my last 3 mails) so:

fellow travelers: TAKE CARE WITH YOU LUGGAGE AS IT IS A WELL ORAGANIZED SCHEME which is a shame for the Airline Company.

We have reported it to local Police but...

So the lovely Safari and swiming was disrupted by this and whole experinece downgraded.

Room Tip: Blue Bay resort: choose a first floor rooms (less chance of bugs, ants or snakes coming up hahaha) j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nenad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I had the unfortunate experience of dealing with a number of the different managers at BlueBay Beach Resort when attempting to cancel my travel to their resort. Due to an circumstances out of our control we had to cancel our accommodation at the resort at the last minute due to our airlines cancelling our flights. We had contacted the manager of the hotel, Hassan, who assured us that it would be ok to cancel and that they would charge us a single nights accommodation fee. They then proceeded to charge me the full amount of $4006 instead of the $525 that was agreed upon.

I had written confirmation from the manager confirming the agreement. I also thereafter received an email asking me for the $525 dollars even though they had charged me the full amount. I thereafter struggled to make contact with anyone at the hotel. They did not return my calls, nor answer my emails requesting information. I fully appreciate the policy of the booking however this was no longer valid based on the agreement made by the hotel manager and the policy therefore did not apply. They have not refunded the amount to date, nor have they contacted me to inform me of the outcome, whatever the outcome may be.

Horrible service, and in keeping with the other bad reviews this place has received.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank QBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights just before christmas. The rooms were clean and the service was ok. However, we got food poisoned and we were bed ridden for 2 days. we got completely sick and we are 100 % it was food served in bluebay mainly for lunch. The food was not fresh at all. The rates are inflated......carry your own drinks and snacks while staying there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jules m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
1.7 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,023 reviews
18.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
2.9 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 442 reviews
12.8 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 159 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
17.2 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa

Address: P.O.Box 3276 | Kiwengwa, North Coast, Kiwengwa 3276, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury beachfront resort with traditional Swahili charm, Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa is situated on the finest white beach on the east coast of Zanzibar. The resort is one of the island’s most prestigious properties offering the ultimate in beach comfort: excellent accommodation; fine wining and dining; a host of sports and leisure facilities; the famous Oasis Spa; and our award-winning service. Bluebay’s rooms and suites are set within 30-acres of tropical gardens with over 1,000 palm trees, some right at the ocean’s edge. All rooms are spacious, bright and beautifully decorated in Zanzibari style. Dining at Bluebay showcases Zanzibar’s celebrated local ingredients with an emphasis on fresh seafood and contemporary cuisine. As well as being a magical destination for holidaymakers wishing to soak up the sun and absorb the enchanting culture of Zanzibar, the resort offers excellent facilities for meetings, conferences and group incentives. And our weddings and events team can help you plan a private party, a wedding and, of course, a honeymoon! Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa is Bluebay’s premier brand. The resort shares a 500m stretch of beach with its sister property – Sultan Sands Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bluebay Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Bluebay Beach Resort And Spa Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing