We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best in Zanzibar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Kiwengwa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Zanzibar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We - father (68) and son (30) have an 8 night rest in that excellent resort, very near to the sea situated and the fine sand strand before. If you like a pool, you can have, very clean with view to ocean. Nice bungalows and good standard rooms, also with seaview. All very clean, large rooms with veranda and strong water-shower! The staff very competent and friedly over all. But the best was the delicous meals in the evening, allways fresh fruits also to breakfast. - Nice entertaiment at evening and over the day you enough action possibilities, espacially for divers gives a Padi 5* station. Over all we were satisfied and will give 5 stars.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Lutz

Thank you for your review and feedback.

We are pleased to hear father & son enjoyed their stay with us here at Ocean Paradise Resort.

We trust you will share your experience with friends and family.

Thank you once again.

The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    87
    28
    12
    13
See reviews for
48
144
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My fiancee and I spent two nights at this resort, after our safari in the Northern Circuit and a couple of days spent in the busy streets of Stone Town, and we got the rest and relaxation we badly needed. Everything about this resort is absolutely wonderful. Suits are very luxurious, spacious and pretty. Gardens, brimming with flowers and palms are amazing and so relaxing. Restaurant and the food prepared by master-chefs is one of the best we have ever had. From traditional Swahili meals, to international and Indian cuisine specialties, fresh and wonderfully prepared sea food - everything looks and tastes amazing. The fact that dinners are open buffets means that you'll definitely gain a few extra pounds and be very happy about it! Seriously, the food is definitely one of the highlights of this place.

The beach is really nice and good for sunbathing, beach soccer, relaxing in the sun and all sorts of fun, summer activities, but, unfortunately, because of the nearby coral reef, the water is very, very shallow, so don't expect that you'll be able to swim much. Of course, you could always walk to the reef, as a sort of exercise, and swim your way from there.

All in all - this resort offers so much and is very much worth a visit, especially after an exciting safari.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear JankoJerinic

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you had a relaxing holiday with us.

It has been our pleasure to host you.

Paradise Greetings,

The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have just returned for a holiday of a lifetime, the circular shaped thatched huts/rooms I stayed in were set amongst beautiful gardens and palm trees right by aqua sea and sandy beach. The food was tasty, varied and plentiful. The staff were hard working, polite and happy, they had JAMBO for everyone. The massage I had was the best deep tissue/Swedish I have ever had (and I have had many all over the world), the sail out on the catamaran I had was professional and enjoyable (thanks Ali) and the kayaks were fun.The room cleaning staff were courteous, trustworthy and towels were changed daily along with toiletries and tea, coffee and complimentary water.
The swimming pool was only half full of water with an uneven base and was frequently stubbing my toes while I was trying to swim, I believe this was due to re plastering the pool edges which happened throughout my stay. I did feel a little intimidated by the sales people/Masai who zoomed in on you the second you trod on the sand, however one must remember this their home and their livelihood and they did have a smile for everybody.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Edenequine62

Thank you for review and feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We did have an unfortunate leakage in one of our pool’s main pipelines which is being fixed as we speak .We do apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.

We will convey you compliments to our team.

Thank you once again.

Kindest regards

The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

On arrival we were very pleased as the hotel was absolutely beautiful and in a good position with mature gardens. We were shown to our room/hut which was very close to the beach with security guards at the beach entrances. The room itself was spacious and charming. Tea and coffee making facilities and 2 bottles of water. The bed however looked lovely but the mattress was almost non existent / rock hard. Nice patio area with chairs.
The food was absolutely superb with a massive choice and during dinner there was always entertainment. We were half board but the drinks and lunch were very reasonable and an excellent choice.
The staff were all so lovely, smartly dressed and were always smiling, they work hard, long hours and for very little I believe. I gave tips directly to 2 staff who were ecstatic yet in comparison the sellers that line the beach demand $20 for a scarf.
The pool was disappointing as it was dirty with many dead insects in the water, the water level is very low meaning that over half of the pool you can not swim in and being that when the tide goes out you are unable to swim as it goes out several hundred metres to the reef and not safe to swim in if you like swimming as part of your holiday this is not the place. The beach however is beautiful and stretches as far as the eye can see. You are however immediately set upon by Tanzanian Beach Boys trying to get your money one way or another, you are warned about this and the government are trying to do something about it. Masai walk you up and down the beach trying to get you into their beachside shops. When the tides in it is lovely to swim in and when the tide goes out the locals go to work with the women collecting seaweed and the men collecting octopus and fish. There is part of the beach where there are hundreds of fossils in the wall and ground.
Overall it was a very relaxing place to be an oasis set steps away from the reality of Africa.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear breconjack

Thank you for your review and feedback.

We will convey your compliments to our departmental teams.

We did have an unfortunate leakage in one of our pool’s main pipelines which is being fixed as we speak .We do apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.

The low tide goes far back a few meters, however we offer a variety of activities to keep our guests busy during this time or just relax while sipping on a cool tall drink on our private beach area.

We thank you again for your feedback and trust we will welcome you back in the near future to the Oasis, Ocean Paradise Resort.

Warmest regards
The Ocean Paradise Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed at the Ocean Paradise Resort for the middle two weeks of June and had a holiday of a lifetime. Upon arrival I was rendered speechless by our first impressions. The view down from the beautiful thatched roof swept down onto the resort leading out onto a power white beach with crystal clear water. It really was picture perfect.

Upon arrival we were welcomed by such an incredibly friendly staff with beaming smiles (which remained constant by every member of staff throughout our stay) with a cold towel and a refreshing drink. Much needed after a long flight.

Room wise we opted to upgrade to the Superior Garden Room which was well worth the additional cost as this basically felt like we had our own bungalow on the beach! The room was beautiful and had a separate long sweeping bathroom.

With regards to the food we went for the half board option with breakfast and dinner is served buffet style. The choices at breakfast were vast with good mix of pastries, hot foods, cereals and fruit. Dinner is themed every night - Swahili night with local and traditional dishes was our favorite. On our final night we decided to eat at the Al la Carte restaurant on the beach which was simply breath taking with the Seafood food tasting out of this world. The perfect sign off to the perfect holiday.

My rating of the hotel would be a 4 1/2 star property. Once the new spa has been finished and the gym updated (this was the only negative to the resort as its was woefully inadequate) I would give this resort a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Elliot D

Thank you for review and feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Ocean Paradise Resort.

As you have mentioned our new Spa will be opening soon and our gym will move into the Spa area with upgraded equipment.

Thank you once again for the review and compliments. We trust that you will share your experience with your friends and family.

The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

What stood out was the level of customer service from the staff..We had 2 small kids but we managed to do just fine especially with the assistance of the staff...they were ready to assist in anyhow to ensure our stay was comfortable..we appreciate that! The rooms were nice with a spacious balcony for kids to play around. The food was excellent with lots of varieties, the only pity thing was it was quite little on the plate (i.e the fries, mashed potatoes etc). Though there wasnt much kids activities but generally it was a great vacation. Keep it up!

Room Tip: Rooms starting 150s...superior garden views...great view, private and quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear fshamid

Thank you for your review and comments.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our friendly animation team is always ready to assist our guest’s children with activities so that the parents can also relax at leisure.

Thank you once again and we trust we will see you again soon as one of our Resident guests.

The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We enjoyed the resort very much. The rooms are spotless and spacious. The service excellent and all needs met. The common areas around the pool are lovely and the staff is most helpful. We enjoyed activities as well as relaxing time.
The only down side of our stay was when one of our rooms was not ready upon arrival until almost 3PM - odd since there were numerous empty rooms but it may have been due to the timing of our arrival which was before 11AM. Still staff was very helpful and kind about it. They waited to give us a room that we could keep the entirety of our stay.
The food was quite varied and offered many choices including a great number of options for vegetarians as well as others. We had half board which was more than enough with big breakfasts and dinners. The bar area is great with terraced sitting lounges for each small group. There is nightly entertainment which was nice while not being intrusive.
The beach is gorgeous with a vast change in depth as tides ebb and flow. The beach is clean and the ocean wonderful but be prepared to be approached by folks selling stuff on the beach pretty much constantly. The people are nice and they are respectful but it gets a bit tiresome at times. Not something the resort can contain as it only happens outside their borders.
One suggestion is to book excursions outside the hotels office as the prices are substantially lower. For the Safari blue trip we paid only $65 per person while the resort was charging $110 each. It was a nice time but not worth $110. Scuba was also pricey at $150 for a two tank trip while you can get it outside for $110.
Overall a lovely stay and would return again

Room Tip: like the elevated rooms removed from the busy areas. We felt like it was nicer there with a cooling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Jude K

Thank you for your review and compliments.

Our check in time is 14:00, however, where hotel occupancy levels and room availability allow us, we are pleased to assist with an early check in should Travel Consultants inform us of our guest’s early arrival. During peak times we offer guests luggage storage facilities while they can enjoy lunch while awaiting their room. As you mentioned we do assist our guests to ensure a smooth check in process.

Our buffet breakfast & themed dinners offer a wide variety of dishes. We are also pleased to announce that we will have an All Inclusive supplement offer effective from 18 August.

Thank you once again for your review and we trust we will see you again in the near future on your return.

Warm greetings
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Address: Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Zanzibar’s picturesque North East coast overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean, it is as the name suggests a little piece of paradise. From your arrival at Zanzibar Airport, the resort is a meandering 45 minute journey through un-spoilt scenery, passing typical African villages where the way of life has changed little for hundreds of years. At Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar, you will be greeted by a blaze of colour as you sweep down the imposing driveway, saluted by a Masai warrior as you pass through the entrance gate and be captivated as you arrive in reception and look out over the resort and the azure blue sea. Mature coconut palms swinging in the breeze, white sandy beach, beautiful landscaped gardens, traditional style round chalets with pitched makuti roof, a stunning waterfall feature and the largest swimming pool in Zanzibar are just some of the sights that await you. A big smile and the greeting of "Jambo" will be the first words you hear, as you begin to feel the warmth that the people of Zanzibar are famed for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Paradise Hotel Kiwengwa
Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Zanzibar/Kiwengwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.