We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty happy with our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Kiwengwa
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pretty happy with our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights at the start of June as part of a longer stay in Tanzania. The resort itself is very nicely laid out and the grounds are well maintained with a large swimming pool into the deal

The greeting on arrival was very nice and we were given cool drinks while we checked in. We were on honeymoon and the reception staff made a special mention of this and congratulated us on our marriage which was nice. As part of being honeymooners were upgraded to a complimentary sea view bungalow as part of the deal with our travel agent. The room was very comfortable and nicely furnished. We were brought fresh fruit and flowers on the day of arrival and every day the cleaning staff would leave flower petals etc on our bed when they made up the room. We were also given a private meal on the beach one evening under floodlights because we were honeymooners. This was a lovely touch and something we will always remember.

The staff at the resort were exceptionally well trained and friendly and could not do enough for you. Part of the appeal of this place was how nice everyone was.

We were on half board and the food was good. Buffet breakfast with a live omlette/egg cooking station, al la carte lunch (mostly western options) and buffet dinner (every night is a different theme). There was a very extensive selection of hot and cold dishes at the dinner buffet, along with a good selection of deserts, ice creams and fresh fruit. There was entertainment every evening with dinner which was mostly of a reasonable standard but sometimes felt a little bit "package holiday".

The resort was not full during our stay as we were out of peak season, but the grounds are large enough that I imagine it could comfortably accomodate everyone even during the peak seasons and there appeared to be an abundance of sunbeds.

There was a large projector screen showing sports in the evenings at bar up by reception. This is a lovely bar in its own right. Staggerred over multiple levels with views out over the palm tops of the sea and chess and other games left out for guest to play. They even showed the Irish footbal international against Faroe Islands while I was there which I was pleased about. However this bar is far enough removed from the other bar and dining areas that if you did not want to have anything to do with sports you would not ever know it was going on.

The wifi connection here was mostly good (although there were a few occasions during my stay where it stopped working for short periods) and was provided for a $15 fee for the week.

The beach here is lovely white sand and amazingly coloured clear water, however you can experience hassle from beach sellers wanting you to buy their wares/tours. This resort to very remote so if you have visions of walking to the nearby village for a bite to eat or some shopping you will be disappointed.

My main complaint with the hotel is not actually a problem with the hotel itself but with the Dive Shop on their grounds which was operated by an external company. Having this dive shop on the site was one of the main reasons we chose to stay at this particular resort (it was the only one recommended by our travel agent which had a dive centre). However the day we arrived we found that the dive centre was shut. We asked about this and found out that they were on a half day for Sunday (fair enough). On the following day we found the dive shop open but manned by a man who had never scuba dived (only snorkeled) and had no real concept about any of the dive related questions we were asking him.
He informed us that because there were only 2 of us and there was no one else booked in that they would not be going out the following day. We ended up diving with another company. Be warned that if the tides are not right you will need to travel for up to an hour by car to get to any of the dive sites (which are all in the north of the island). My advice, be sure to contact the dive centre in advance if you wish to dive.

Overall, very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear DublinTraveller79

Thank you for your review and compliments.

It was an absolute pleasure to be your host for your honeymoon and we are happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We aim to make sure all our guests have a pleasant, relaxing and entertaining stay.

We have relayed your concerns regarding the Dive Centre and they are looking into this matter. The Dive Centre has also committed to ensuring that they will be holding regular training sessions for their staff to avoid this recurring again.

For the sport fans we like to keep them informed and entertained while on holiday and like with your stay, we are more than happy to broadcast sporting events like the Irish Football International against Faroe Islands.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Warm regards
The Ocean Paradise Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    87
    28
    12
    13
See reviews for
48
144
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed at the Ocean Paradise Resort from June 3rd to June 7th and I want to share some of my observations with the rest of the world. The first impression one gets upon arrival is to be welcomed by friendly staff with a cold towel and a refreshing drink. You have a chance to get your first glimpse of this place as you are standing in the massive reception area. An open concept, you have a thatched roof over your head with a sweeping view of the resort, ending in a gorgeous view of the ocean. During my stay, I found out something interesting. The resort has 200 rooms and they all are alike. There are no larger or smaller rooms. All of them have a large bedroom, an amazing bathroom and a spacious closet area. The difference in cost between rooms is simply based on the distance from the ocean. The closer you are, the higher the cost. However if you take one of the rooms near the reception, you may have to walk five minutes to get to the beach, but every morning you are welcomed by a breathtaking view.
One thing we as travellers always are concerned about is the food. Breakfast and dinner is served buffet style and lunch is a la carte. The choices for breakfast were plentiful and it was a good mix of breads and pastries, hot foods, cereals and of course fruit. All was very tasty. Dinner is themed every night. During our stay we had a Seafood night as well as a Swahili night with local and traditional dishes being on offer. We missed one buffet dinner in exchange for a special dinner by the beach in honour of my wife's birthday. We had a beautiful meal by the ocean and the night culminated with the entire staff coming out to sing first a traditional song of celebration followed by Happy Birthday to my wife. It was by far one of the most memorable moments during our stay. The resort has everything one could ask for. The third largest pool on Zanzibar, great facilities, friendly staff and a gorgeous beach. There is only one negative and that has nothing to do with the resort but afflicts all of the hotels located on Zanzibar's East Coast. While the beach is absolutely gorgeous, the ocean is not so great for swimming due to its extended shallow coast line. One would have to walk at least 500 meters before coming to deeper waters and most of us will not do this. Making up for this however are the free canoe rentals and the option to do dive and snorkeling excursions. One can even become PADI certified within four days. These services are of course extra but if diving was something you always wanted to do, here is your chance to learn.
My overall rating of the hotel at this point would be a 4 1/2 star property. However, once the new spa has been finished, the place will be a 5 star resort.
One last note. We were at the resort during the end of the rainy season. We had nice warm weather every day but there were moments of cloudiness and even some small rain showers. One could say this is not the best time to go, but the trade off was that there were maybe a total of 40 guests at the resort in total. This meant that we never had to look far for a pool side or beach side chair and every time I went into the pool, I was the only one in there. It felt like the place belonged just to me. I gladly gave up some hot sun for that exclusive feeling.

Room Tip: If you want to be as close to the beach, go and select the rooms located right by the beach. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Andy T

Thank you for your review and compliments.

Kindly note that in total we have 98 rooms not 200.

The sea is tidal so there is a low and high tide. During High tide the water comes in and you only need to walk a few meters to enjoy this. During low tide it is difficult to swim, but there are plenty of other activities to partake in or to relax by the pool.

The pleasure was ours to host you and your wife at our Resort. We will convey you compliments to the Ocean Paradise Resort Team. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future for another relaxing holiday.

Warmest Regards
The Ocean Paradise Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

After a hectic (but amazing) week's Safari Tour on mainland Tanzania, we were looking forward to relaxing on Zanzibar. As we didn't know anything about the island, we chose the Hotel because of its appealing name - and we weren't disappointed! It's on the north-east coast, about an hour from the airport, so you get a nice taste of the island as you drive across. Beautifully-designed Resort, with African bandas as your home. Lush vegetation and African decoration everywhere. The main restaurant was by the pool and the buffet food was delicious - and varied each night. There was also a special restaurant on the beach, which as we were celebrating both our Birthdays and our Wedding Anniversary (24th = Tanzanite!), we decided to try - and it was great! We told the Hotel it was our Birthdays and they presented us with a cake on each of our special nights - together with the staff singing & dancing around our table - and also decorated our room with lovely flowers :o)

Room Tip: We were in the top floor (of just two) in a Garden banda and it had beautiful views over the grounds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Mrs. Carol

Thank you for your kind words and compliments.

It was our pleasure to be your host for a relaxing beach holiday and celebration of your special occasions.

Asante Sana (Thank you)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I spent only four days at the Ocean Paradiese Resort to recharge after a stressful work project - it truly worked. Spacious grounds, beautiful and clean rooms, very friendly staff. Sporting activities and possibilities like windsurfing or volley ball keep from gaining weight from the great buffet style food options. Unfortunately weak WiFi.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review Sonja.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Ocean Paradise Resort. It was our pleasure to host you for a well-deserved break.

We trust you will share your experience with family and friends and hope to see you soon again.

Asante Sana (Thank you)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent a few days here after a week of safari. It was the perfect break!

The resort is amazing. Gorgeous grounds, beach, rooms (oh my god I love the round rooms!!), and nice pool area. Great food. Excellent service - truly the nicest staff I have ever encountered.

My only wish is that the wifi was better. But that's it. Everything else was just perfect!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Mrs. Jeff

Thank you for your kind review.

It gives our team great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and take great pride in giving the hospitality to our guests that Zanzibar is known for.

Yes, the fact that our rooms are built in the African Roundhouse style do offer that African Island feel and experience surrounded by the great amount of coconut palm trees.

Due to the infrastructure on the Island the Wi-Fi connection may give poor signal through from time to time, however the issue is being addressed with our suppliers.

Thank you once again and trust you will share your great experience with friends and family.

Asante Sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe Twp.,NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The grounds are lovely and the setting on the beach is beautiful. We enjoyed our room located close to the beach and the pool area. The room itself was very nice and spacious, but the bathroom left something to be desired. It was poorly designed (long and narrow) and the shower was painted an unappealing black. The towels were hung in a very inconvenient location. The staff was accommodating and friendly. My husband enjoyed the 3 massages he got at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mrs. Judy

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is our pleasure to announce that our bathrooms are undergoing a refurbishment this year, although the size won’t change. Due to the unit built as an African Roundhouse the bathroom might feel a bit narrow or long due to the rounding walls of the unit.

We are also happy to announce the opening of our brand new Spa and Fitness Centre this year. The Centre will offer 4 Treatment Rooms, Sauna, Steam room, Salon, Jacuzzis, Fitness Centre and locker rooms. This will offer our guests a wider variety of treatments.

Thank you again for staying at Ocean Paradise Resort. Asante Sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great rooms on a beautiful beach (only problem is that it's a coral beach so can't swim all day - only in high-tide)

Staff is very professional and kind, food is great and facilities are well maintained.

We had a great time! thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms down on the beach level are great if you don't want to climb the stairs every time you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPR_SMM, Manager at Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and compliments.

It gives us great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ocean Paradise Resort.

The sea is tidal and this is the case for most areas of the Island, however , this is the perfect opportunity to take our reef tour which is organized by our Animation Team or relax by the pool with the view over the beach sipping on a nice cold cocktail or smoothie.

It is our pleasure to serve our guests with the warm hospitality that Zanzibar is known for and we will definitely convey your message to the entire team .

We trust that you will share your wonderful experience with friends and family.

Once again a heartfelt thank you. Asante Sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa

Address: Pwani Mchangani, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Zanzibar’s picturesque North East coast overlooking the turquoise Indian Ocean, it is as the name suggests a little piece of paradise. From your arrival at Zanzibar Airport, the resort is a meandering 45 minute journey through un-spoilt scenery, passing typical African villages where the way of life has changed little for hundreds of years. At Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar, you will be greeted by a blaze of colour as you sweep down the imposing driveway, saluted by a Masai warrior as you pass through the entrance gate and be captivated as you arrive in reception and look out over the resort and the azure blue sea. Mature coconut palms swinging in the breeze, white sandy beach, beautiful landscaped gardens, traditional style round chalets with pitched makuti roof, a stunning waterfall feature and the largest swimming pool in Zanzibar are just some of the sights that await you. A big smile and the greeting of "Jambo" will be the first words you hear, as you begin to feel the warmth that the people of Zanzibar are famed for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Paradise Hotel Kiwengwa
Ocean Paradise Resort Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Zanzibar
Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa Zanzibar/Kiwengwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Paradise Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.