We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slice of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mvuvi Resort

Save Saved
You added Mvuvi Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mvuvi Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiwengwa Beach, Kiwengwa, Tanzania   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Kiwengwa
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“slice of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed there after a 6 day Northern Tanzania safari. Very relaxing chic resort, with extremely attentive service. Rooms are very large with comfortable beds. Food is excellent with a nice mix of Italian and African flavours. Milli, our hostess was very accommodating when we bought octopus from the fishermen and had the chef make octopus salad for all the guests as an added course for dinner one night. The beach is superb. The massages great. Wished we could have stayed for a week!

Room Tip: Stay on the second room for a view of the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    20
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
62
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Kiwengwa beach is for sure one of the best on Zanzibar Island; the only drawback is that is is crowded with big and loud resorts (most of them italian). Mvuvi ("fisherman" in swahili) is the antidote: a small, family-owned hotel, in which you can enjoy calm, silence, relax with only the best aspect of Italy (i.e., italian-style cooking, though with local, and therefore fresh, ingredients).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in July after one of us doing a safari and the other climbing Mt Kilimanjaro, for a bit of R&R. It was just perfect for this. Simona and Paolo made us feel very welcome and were great hosts. Having only 6 rooms, it is quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Our room was a good size, tidy and clean. We had taken the dinner, bed, breakfast option which worked out fantastic and while we went out one night with friends from another resort, our evening meal was transferred over to a lunch time which we really appreciated. The food was lovely and we enjoyed the open air restaurant and meeting the chef who came out several times for a chat. Enjoyed the afternoon tea served daily. A great location re beach wise and we appreciated Simona organising a snorkelling trip for us. We travelled onto Stone Town for 3 days afterwards, and commented several times that we wished we had spent more time at the Mvuvi than in Stone Town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Like many others, we stayed here to chill out after a safari in Kenya. Unfortunately, our stay was only three days. We would have stayed longer but we had already purchased plane tickets to Arusha as well as hotel accommodations. Needless to say, it was hard to leave.

From the driveway the Mvuvi looks somewhat unimpressive but once you enter the front gate you know you've made the right choice! The grounds are absolutely beautiful... artsy, supper cool, supper funky... it's paradise. Simona and Paolo are are the perfect hosts and made us feel right at home. The restaurant is gorgeous and the food is fantastic. The fresh pasta dishes and bread are incredible.

We took many walks up and down the beach and the Mvuvi is best. The surrounding resorts are much bigger and don't offer the same cozy, relaxing atmosphere that you get at the Mvuvi. We will definitely stay here again next time we come to Zanzibar.

Cheers!

Room Tip: They are all good but we preferred the rooms on the second story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Would give it 4.5 stars if I could. Despite wanting to stay in the very north of the island after careful research I happily settled upon Mvuvi based on the other reviews on here. It almost seemed too good to be true. I couldn't have been happier with my decision and was exactly what I wanted in a hotel for the end of my holiday. Simona and Paolo are excellent hosts and ensure guests are comfortable and happy. The rest of the staff was extremely attentive and friendly and felt like they really cared for the guests. If anyone is looking to go to Zanzi this is where they need to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went there for 8 days in August. The resort is very small, only 6 rooms, and this creates the perfect conditions for a relaxing holiday.
If you are looking for paradise you found it. Amazing food prepared by the local chef, mainly Italian with a pinch of Zanzibar cuisine. Freshly made pastas and bread and all kind of fish to please the guests. Breakfast is simple but fresh and nice as well as the afternoon tea.
Staff extremely nice, happy and helpful.
You can literally wake up and walk into the water.
Will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just what the doctor ordered after a grueling 5 day Safari.

Arrived late at night due to flight issues but a hot dinner was waiting for us on arrival.
Wonderful place to relax with a warm personal service.
Thoroughly enjoyed this small resort

Please keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mvuvi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mvuvi Resort

Address: Kiwengwa Beach, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mvuvi Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mvuvi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mvuvi Resort Zanzibar/Kiwengwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mvuvi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.