We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from the madding crowd” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mvuvi Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mvuvi Resort to your Saves list
Mvuvi Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiwengwa Beach, Kiwengwa, Tanzania   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Far from the madding crowd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Kiwengwa beach is for sure one of the best on Zanzibar Island; the only drawback is that is is crowded with big and loud resorts (most of them italian). Mvuvi ("fisherman" in swahili) is the antidote: a small, family-owned hotel, in which you can enjoy calm, silence, relax with only the best aspect of Italy (i.e., italian-style cooking, though with local, and therefore fresh, ingredients).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    20
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
71
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in July after one of us doing a safari and the other climbing Mt Kilimanjaro, for a bit of R&R. It was just perfect for this. Simona and Paolo made us feel very welcome and were great hosts. Having only 6 rooms, it is quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Our room was a good size, tidy and clean. We had taken the dinner, bed, breakfast option which worked out fantastic and while we went out one night with friends from another resort, our evening meal was transferred over to a lunch time which we really appreciated. The food was lovely and we enjoyed the open air restaurant and meeting the chef who came out several times for a chat. Enjoyed the afternoon tea served daily. A great location re beach wise and we appreciated Simona organising a snorkelling trip for us. We travelled onto Stone Town for 3 days afterwards, and commented several times that we wished we had spent more time at the Mvuvi than in Stone Town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Like many others, we stayed here to chill out after a safari in Kenya. Unfortunately, our stay was only three days. We would have stayed longer but we had already purchased plane tickets to Arusha as well as hotel accommodations. Needless to say, it was hard to leave.

From the driveway the Mvuvi looks somewhat unimpressive but once you enter the front gate you know you've made the right choice! The grounds are absolutely beautiful... artsy, supper cool, supper funky... it's paradise. Simona and Paolo are are the perfect hosts and made us feel right at home. The restaurant is gorgeous and the food is fantastic. The fresh pasta dishes and bread are incredible.

We took many walks up and down the beach and the Mvuvi is best. The surrounding resorts are much bigger and don't offer the same cozy, relaxing atmosphere that you get at the Mvuvi. We will definitely stay here again next time we come to Zanzibar.

Cheers!

Room Tip: They are all good but we preferred the rooms on the second story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Would give it 4.5 stars if I could. Despite wanting to stay in the very north of the island after careful research I happily settled upon Mvuvi based on the other reviews on here. It almost seemed too good to be true. I couldn't have been happier with my decision and was exactly what I wanted in a hotel for the end of my holiday. Simona and Paolo are excellent hosts and ensure guests are comfortable and happy. The rest of the staff was extremely attentive and friendly and felt like they really cared for the guests. If anyone is looking to go to Zanzi this is where they need to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went there for 8 days in August. The resort is very small, only 6 rooms, and this creates the perfect conditions for a relaxing holiday.
If you are looking for paradise you found it. Amazing food prepared by the local chef, mainly Italian with a pinch of Zanzibar cuisine. Freshly made pastas and bread and all kind of fish to please the guests. Breakfast is simple but fresh and nice as well as the afternoon tea.
Staff extremely nice, happy and helpful.
You can literally wake up and walk into the water.
Will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just what the doctor ordered after a grueling 5 day Safari.

Arrived late at night due to flight issues but a hot dinner was waiting for us on arrival.
Wonderful place to relax with a warm personal service.
Thoroughly enjoyed this small resort

Please keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our three-day stay at Mvuvi was wonderful - from the delicious Italian-inspired meals, the chic local architecture, the warm personal service, and the beautiful lounging areas. In contrast to the much larger adjacent beachfront resorts, Mvuvi was tiny (10 rooms at most), peaceful, and quiet, but still with all the necessary amenities like a beach-side bar, massage options, and a pool. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with much-needed air conditioning, a comfy daybed, charming decor like driftwood furniture, and nice touches like a large umbrella (which we didn't end up needing) and fresh bougainvillea blossoms on the bed when we arrived. Simona and Paolo were always available if we needed anything, and the local staff was ceaselessly helpful, friendly, and professional. Constant sales attempts by locals made long walks on the beach a bit frustrating at times, but the resort had so many comfy areas for lounging near the beach that we were more than happy to stay close by. We also did a Spice Tour/Stone Town Tour one day, which was well-organized by Simona. We went with the half board rather than full board option, and were glad that we did - the dinners are huge (four courses), so we ended up only wanting a small a la carte lunch, and on Sundays there's a free "brunch party" pasta buffet with live music.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mvuvi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mvuvi Resort

Address: Kiwengwa Beach, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#2 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mvuvi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Mvuvi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mvuvi Resort Zanzibar/Kiwengwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mvuvi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.