We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay at Kiwengwa Beach, Zanzibar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mvuvi Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mvuvi Resort to your Saves list
Mvuvi Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiwengwa Beach, Kiwengwa, Tanzania   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Best place to stay at Kiwengwa Beach, Zanzibar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Like many others, we stayed here to chill out after a safari in Kenya. Unfortunately, our stay was only three days. We would have stayed longer but we had already purchased plane tickets to Arusha as well as hotel accommodations. Needless to say, it was hard to leave.

From the driveway the Mvuvi looks somewhat unimpressive but once you enter the front gate you know you've made the right choice! The grounds are absolutely beautiful... artsy, supper cool, supper funky... it's paradise. Simona and Paolo are are the perfect hosts and made us feel right at home. The restaurant is gorgeous and the food is fantastic. The fresh pasta dishes and bread are incredible.

We took many walks up and down the beach and the Mvuvi is best. The surrounding resorts are much bigger and don't offer the same cozy, relaxing atmosphere that you get at the Mvuvi. We will definitely stay here again next time we come to Zanzibar.

Cheers!

Room Tip: They are all good but we preferred the rooms on the second story.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    20
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
67
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Would give it 4.5 stars if I could. Despite wanting to stay in the very north of the island after careful research I happily settled upon Mvuvi based on the other reviews on here. It almost seemed too good to be true. I couldn't have been happier with my decision and was exactly what I wanted in a hotel for the end of my holiday. Simona and Paolo are excellent hosts and ensure guests are comfortable and happy. The rest of the staff was extremely attentive and friendly and felt like they really cared for the guests. If anyone is looking to go to Zanzi this is where they need to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went there for 8 days in August. The resort is very small, only 6 rooms, and this creates the perfect conditions for a relaxing holiday.
If you are looking for paradise you found it. Amazing food prepared by the local chef, mainly Italian with a pinch of Zanzibar cuisine. Freshly made pastas and bread and all kind of fish to please the guests. Breakfast is simple but fresh and nice as well as the afternoon tea.
Staff extremely nice, happy and helpful.
You can literally wake up and walk into the water.
Will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just what the doctor ordered after a grueling 5 day Safari.

Arrived late at night due to flight issues but a hot dinner was waiting for us on arrival.
Wonderful place to relax with a warm personal service.
Thoroughly enjoyed this small resort

Please keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our three-day stay at Mvuvi was wonderful - from the delicious Italian-inspired meals, the chic local architecture, the warm personal service, and the beautiful lounging areas. In contrast to the much larger adjacent beachfront resorts, Mvuvi was tiny (10 rooms at most), peaceful, and quiet, but still with all the necessary amenities like a beach-side bar, massage options, and a pool. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with much-needed air conditioning, a comfy daybed, charming decor like driftwood furniture, and nice touches like a large umbrella (which we didn't end up needing) and fresh bougainvillea blossoms on the bed when we arrived. Simona and Paolo were always available if we needed anything, and the local staff was ceaselessly helpful, friendly, and professional. Constant sales attempts by locals made long walks on the beach a bit frustrating at times, but the resort had so many comfy areas for lounging near the beach that we were more than happy to stay close by. We also did a Spice Tour/Stone Town Tour one day, which was well-organized by Simona. We went with the half board rather than full board option, and were glad that we did - the dinners are huge (four courses), so we ended up only wanting a small a la carte lunch, and on Sundays there's a free "brunch party" pasta buffet with live music.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I spent 1 week there with a friend. The location is magnificent and the service provided by the staff was outstanding. There are some limitations in the excursions you can do but are unrelated to the resort and bound to the development of Zanzibar. If you want a good, low key, great food, great beach resort, thos is the place.
Great!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It was my 3rd stay in Mvuvi after 2007 and 2010. Since then, it only improved, even though it was already very beautiful before.

There is now as well a little pool inside the resort, in case there is low tide and you are too lazy to walk and reach the seawater:-)

Food is still delicious, breakfast basic, but lunch and especially dinner just amazing!

The rooms are beautiful, furnished and decorated with local objects, and including moskito net around the bed, hair dryer, A/C, fan, safe, big bathroom.

Further, the hotel offers laundry service, massages (from locals), WLAN in the restaurant area, a small library and many nice daytrips and excursions which can be booked and paid directly at the hotel.

I have seen several hotels in Kiwengwa from out- and inside, and I dare to say that Mvuvi is the most relaxing and laid back one. The other hotels are simply too big, impersonal and hectic (animation, loud music etc). I consider as well the beach just in front of Mvuvi the as the best part around.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mvuvi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mvuvi Resort

Address: Kiwengwa Beach, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#3 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mvuvi Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your Mvuvi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mvuvi Resort Zanzibar/Kiwengwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mvuvi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.