We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Retreat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mvuvi Resort

Save Saved
You added Mvuvi Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mvuvi Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kiwengwa Beach, Kiwengwa, Tanzania   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Kiwengwa
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Really Good Retreat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just what the doctor ordered after a grueling 5 day Safari.

Arrived late at night due to flight issues but a hot dinner was waiting for us on arrival.
Wonderful place to relax with a warm personal service.
Thoroughly enjoyed this small resort

Please keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    19
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
59
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our three-day stay at Mvuvi was wonderful - from the delicious Italian-inspired meals, the chic local architecture, the warm personal service, and the beautiful lounging areas. In contrast to the much larger adjacent beachfront resorts, Mvuvi was tiny (10 rooms at most), peaceful, and quiet, but still with all the necessary amenities like a beach-side bar, massage options, and a pool. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with much-needed air conditioning, a comfy daybed, charming decor like driftwood furniture, and nice touches like a large umbrella (which we didn't end up needing) and fresh bougainvillea blossoms on the bed when we arrived. Simona and Paolo were always available if we needed anything, and the local staff was ceaselessly helpful, friendly, and professional. Constant sales attempts by locals made long walks on the beach a bit frustrating at times, but the resort had so many comfy areas for lounging near the beach that we were more than happy to stay close by. We also did a Spice Tour/Stone Town Tour one day, which was well-organized by Simona. We went with the half board rather than full board option, and were glad that we did - the dinners are huge (four courses), so we ended up only wanting a small a la carte lunch, and on Sundays there's a free "brunch party" pasta buffet with live music.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I spent 1 week there with a friend. The location is magnificent and the service provided by the staff was outstanding. There are some limitations in the excursions you can do but are unrelated to the resort and bound to the development of Zanzibar. If you want a good, low key, great food, great beach resort, thos is the place.
Great!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It was my 3rd stay in Mvuvi after 2007 and 2010. Since then, it only improved, even though it was already very beautiful before.

There is now as well a little pool inside the resort, in case there is low tide and you are too lazy to walk and reach the seawater:-)

Food is still delicious, breakfast basic, but lunch and especially dinner just amazing!

The rooms are beautiful, furnished and decorated with local objects, and including moskito net around the bed, hair dryer, A/C, fan, safe, big bathroom.

Further, the hotel offers laundry service, massages (from locals), WLAN in the restaurant area, a small library and many nice daytrips and excursions which can be booked and paid directly at the hotel.

I have seen several hotels in Kiwengwa from out- and inside, and I dare to say that Mvuvi is the most relaxing and laid back one. The other hotels are simply too big, impersonal and hectic (animation, loud music etc). I consider as well the beach just in front of Mvuvi the as the best part around.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapella
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We came to Mvuvi after visiting wild preserves in tanzania. We experienced a ten days relaxing stay here, good food and all areas really clean. Every day all tables were decorated beautiful to make you feel like sitting in a garden. Helpful and very friendly staff makes a stay in mvuvi relaxing. Beaches in front of the hotel as well deepblue water are very clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed at Mvuvi for 3 nights in October 2012. It was relaxing, laid-back, with a beautiful setting and very friendly and helpful staff. I don't speak Italian while most of the guests are from Italy (as with hotels in Kiwengwa generally) but I was made to feel welcome and included and I really liked the small hotel atmosphere.
For me, the food was a highlight. Its not 'traditional Zanzibari cuisine' (whatever that is). Its really great quality and varied Italian food. I loved it.
A solid, quality hotel and good value for Zanzibar. Well recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We came to Mvuvi on short notice and felt like we landed in heaven. The boutique hotel is quiet, great location (on the sand of a gorgeous and isolated beach), decorated beautifully to make you feel in paradise, the rooms and bathrooms are brand new and luxurious, the restaurant/chef/staff are five star (we felt like we were dining in Italy), and the kindness of Andrea the hotel manager made our experience perfect. We would highly recommend for couples on honeymoon or others looking for a romantic, luxurious and QUIET Zanzibar vacation. Thanks for the hospitality!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mvuvi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mvuvi Resort

Also Known As:
Mvuvi Resort Zanzibar/Kiwengwa
Address: Kiwengwa Beach, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mvuvi Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Mvuvi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mvuvi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.