We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Sands Island Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sultan Sands Island Resort to your Saves list
Sultan Sands Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Kiwengwa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We were at Sultan Sands Beach Resort in july 2014. It is a super place to stay. Rooms, food, staff and location are perfect. Perfect value for the money.

Tips and tricks: When you want to go on a trip it's best to book it at the Sultan Sands than to book it with your own tour operator. The prices fot trips are better when you book them at the Sultan Sands. Service is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joriskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Food not up to standard. Fried eggs turned to charcoal.
Buffet badly organised. Guests lost temper due to waiting long in queues.
Never any supervisor visible or available. Bahari rooms seaview, but not worth the price. Description of "Each Room (in the both room categories) offers a spacious bedroom, separate dressing room, en suite bathroom and a verandah or balcony' is not true.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franeker, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Best hotel ever!!!! Never got no for an answer! A hotel is just a building (although this one is a lovely building in a lovely environment) but the great staff made this a home far away from home, such lovely people. As were the Masai people! Great to have met them! Dinner was a surprise every evening: dining in the restaurant or on the beach? Meat or fish: all prepared in front of you, lovely salads, plenty of fruits etc.etc. There is an option to change money in the hotel, € or $, all is possible! Booking trips in the hotel is much cheaper then booking it with your host(ess)! The cocktails made by Mussa and Mohammed were the best we've ever tasted!
Zanzibar is a beautiful island and when we come back to visit our Zanzibar friends, we will definately book Sultan Sands again!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the beach are the best: you walk straight from your room onto the silver white beach and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InekevanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The resort is excellent, beach and sea are beautiful. Rooms lovely, the staff fantastic, i felt like home. The landscape is fabulous. If i come again, i'll stay in the same resort.
Habari nakuwashukuru :)

Room Tip: No bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The resort is nicely located on the East coast, and has a beautiful view on the ocean. Quiet environment. Clean rooms. Lovely gardens. Unfortunately, it's about an hour away from Stone town, so if you want to go it's a day trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annasofia_june30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This is the Perfect timeout from the rest og the world and a great location if you want the best out of your stay on this island.
The rooms where nice, tidy and clean. The staff was always friendly and helpfull. The Food was just Perfect. Each night had it own theme for the Food, and you could choose from several different disches for every meal. Great Entertainment at night as well, suiteble for everyone.
If we get the chance, we'll come back to this resort, without any doubt!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth_gm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2,030 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 795 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I love Zanzibar. I have been coming to this same spot every 4 months for the past 2 years. It is pure bliss. Lovely water, warm and blue, little or no waves, tides that go out leaving miles of sand to enjoy...sheer pleasure. The staff at the resort are great. The restaurants are fine, but the Spa is the star here - wonderful. favourite of mine. Will definitely keep coming back!

Room Tip: Get one of the Ocenview Bahari Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibadanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
0.1 mi away
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
17.2 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
12.9 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 158 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Sands Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Sands Island Resort

Address: Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#4 Spa Hotel in Kiwengwa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#7 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sultan Sands Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultan Sands Island Resort is situated on the wide, sparkling beaches of Kiwengwa on the East Coast of Zanzibar Island. Sultan Sands is a resort with a unique character: an inspired blend of Swahili and Arab architecture and decor creates a relaxed ambience, while first-class amenities and facilities ensure complete comfort. The spacious rooms at Sultan Sands are built in the style of traditional African rondavels, each tastefully decorated with hand-carved Zanzibari furniture. All rooms are ocean-facing with some situated just metres from the beach. The resort's wining and dining venues are equally impressive, offering delicious local specialities as well as Far-Eastern and European favourites. Sultan Sands shares a 500m stretch of beach with its sister property - Bluebay Beach Resort & Spa. Guests of the two resorts also share many facilities and amenities, including the famous Oasis Spa and the One Ocean Dive Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sultan Sands Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Sands Island Hotel Kiwengwa
Sultan Sands Island Resort Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing