We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best snorkeling in East Africa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Sands Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sultan Sands Island Resort to your Saves list
Sultan Sands Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 3276 | Kiwengwa Beach, Kiwengwa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best snorkeling in East Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

I had the joy of visiting Sultan Sands and Blue Bay Resort with my wife and colleagues from East and Central Africa in February. The rooms were great and the staff very helpful in organizing our conference facility.

The buffet menu was only fair, but the beach side restaurant was better than most hotels I've been at in the region.

The highlight was a snorkeling trip around a nearby island. Simply the most spectacular snorkeling I've ever experienced.

Great value option for a visit to Zanzibar!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    126
    30
    7
    11
See reviews for
74
233
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Food is really expensive for what you get (quality and quantity) with fairly poor service. We were most disappointed by this aspect of our stay. The service was also very spotty, great by some servers terrible by others. The pool area and facilities were wonderful though, and almost to the point where we could overlook the terrible food situation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Great place, great food, nice and clean rooms and very friendly personnel. Outside the resort there is not much to do, besides the beach. But we had a great personnal tour guide for three days. He showed us everything we wanted to see on the island and we had a lot of fun. Ask for Ali Siraji Suleiman at the tour office of the hotel. He is a great guide and It's cheaper than via the official touroperators, who normally offer group trips. We really loved the beauty of Zanzibar!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very nice rooms/huts, great food, entertainment every night and a quiet place to stay(in march that is).
It was easy to book trips for Stone Town etc from the hotel.

Although their lunch is very expensive and without a good selection, the breakfast and dinner/supper makes up for it. Exellent food!

The only thing we chose to complain about was the staff's poor english skill and odd approach to service. Some of the staff chose to ignore if they didnt understand, and food orders etc got messed up many times. Also there was a particular one who wouldnt go away and kept bugging and interrupting us with gibberish talk in half german half english about selling us homemade whiskey. Maybe some of them dont know what is expected when it comes to service(given we paid alot to stay there).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My family and I vacationed in Sultan Sand and the service was awesome.

The room service was good,they provided child minders,they provided variety of food in the buffet setup, the pool was clean and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My boyfriend decided to treat me on my off days to come to Zanzibar.Right from the entrance of the hotel you can see the architectural buildings,artifacts which was just incredible.
The rooms are spacious with a lounge and balcony plus the shower is what I needed.
We had great food,entertainment,water sports and so much more.
I would like to specially thank the Operations Manager Mr. David Ambani for hosting us and making us feel at home. He is such a wonderful man with a good heart.
I would definately come back again with my friends on holiday very soon.
Thank you one again David and his team.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Xmas Holidays 2013-2014 - we spent a wonderful week at Sultan Sands! Nice rooms, wonderful pool and gardens area and friendly staff to help us and to support us!
The rooms are nice and clean and the food is good. Every day we had a wide choice of fruits, vegetables and local and global selection of food!
If I have to underline one point - internet connection only in one area of the hotel and not so speed ... the should empower it !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sultan Sands Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Sands Island Resort

Address: P.O.Box 3276 | Kiwengwa Beach, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#7 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sultan Sands Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Sultan Sands Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Sands Island Hotel Kiwengwa
Sultan Sands Island Resort Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultan Sands Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.