We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sultan Sands Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sultan Sands Island Resort to your Saves list
Sultan Sands Island Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   P.O.Box 3276 | Kiwengwa Beach, Kiwengwa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Great place, great food, nice and clean rooms and very friendly personnel. Outside the resort there is not much to do, besides the beach. But we had a great personnal tour guide for three days. He showed us everything we wanted to see on the island and we had a lot of fun. Ask for Ali Siraji Suleiman at the tour office of the hotel. He is a great guide and It's cheaper than via the official touroperators, who normally offer group trips. We really loved the beauty of Zanzibar!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    127
    31
    7
    11
See reviews for
74
235
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very nice rooms/huts, great food, entertainment every night and a quiet place to stay(in march that is).
It was easy to book trips for Stone Town etc from the hotel.

Although their lunch is very expensive and without a good selection, the breakfast and dinner/supper makes up for it. Exellent food!

The only thing we chose to complain about was the staff's poor english skill and odd approach to service. Some of the staff chose to ignore if they didnt understand, and food orders etc got messed up many times. Also there was a particular one who wouldnt go away and kept bugging and interrupting us with gibberish talk in half german half english about selling us homemade whiskey. Maybe some of them dont know what is expected when it comes to service(given we paid alot to stay there).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My family and I vacationed in Sultan Sand and the service was awesome.

The room service was good,they provided child minders,they provided variety of food in the buffet setup, the pool was clean and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My boyfriend decided to treat me on my off days to come to Zanzibar.Right from the entrance of the hotel you can see the architectural buildings,artifacts which was just incredible.
The rooms are spacious with a lounge and balcony plus the shower is what I needed.
We had great food,entertainment,water sports and so much more.
I would like to specially thank the Operations Manager Mr. David Ambani for hosting us and making us feel at home. He is such a wonderful man with a good heart.
I would definately come back again with my friends on holiday very soon.
Thank you one again David and his team.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Xmas Holidays 2013-2014 - we spent a wonderful week at Sultan Sands! Nice rooms, wonderful pool and gardens area and friendly staff to help us and to support us!
The rooms are nice and clean and the food is good. Every day we had a wide choice of fruits, vegetables and local and global selection of food!
If I have to underline one point - internet connection only in one area of the hotel and not so speed ... the should empower it !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
94 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

At our arrival everything was promising... ad there were some good things;
+ out door environment
+ the pool and it's cleanliness
+ friendly staff
+ rich buffet
+ sport facilities

Yes, but
- Internet connection; the free wifi was very poor, the payble one was OK but very expensive considering that is was valide for only one device
- the internal travel agency did merly know anything about the tours they offered, every signle tour went went was fare from what was promised
- I have some doubt on the hygene. A big part of our tour team had serious stomach problems.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is a small attractive resort, whose staff work hard to keep guests happy. Our 1st room was not good, but we were moved on request to one on the flat which was also much nicer. The gardens and pool area are well kept and attractive and most sunbeds overlook the beach, which does have quite a bit of seaweed when the tide's out.
The food is the best we have experienced on an all inclusive deal, but there is only one restaurant to eat in. If you use the sister resort you have to pay, it is not dine around, as we were lead to believe when booking. The evening entertainment was good, there during dinner but not intrusive.My only gripe was the white wine-utterly undrinkable. The staff did sort this out by allowing me to 'upgrade' to a chenin blanc, which was acceptable, but there was a slight palaver every evening as l had to explain the manager had ok'ed this. On the up side, my other half was happy with the beer, sorry should say lager, - served out of bottles and cold enough.

Room Tip: Unless you like an uphill hike, ask for a low numbered room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
3.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bluebay Beach Resort and Spa
4.6 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
4.5 of 5 stars 860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
4.5 mi away
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach Club
0.7 mi away
Mvuvi Resort
Mvuvi Resort
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Sands Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Sands Island Resort

Address: P.O.Box 3276 | Kiwengwa Beach, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#7 Family Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sultan Sands Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sultan Sands Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Sands Island Hotel Kiwengwa
Sultan Sands Island Resort Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sultan Sands Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.