We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blu Marlin Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blu Marlin Village to your Saves list
Blu Marlin Village
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kumba Urembo | Kumba Urembo, Kiwengwa, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Kiwengwa
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Located within one of the little villages on Zanzibar this was a lovely find. Blu Marlin offers all of the comforts of a big resort such as a nice pool, private beach, and lounging beds, at a very reasonable price. The rooms are clean and comfy and all have excellent air conditioning (a real must!) Breakfast and dinner which are included in the boarding price are wonderful. It is difficult not to gain weight with such yummy food and multiple courses. I will be back!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    34
    15
    9
    8
See reviews for
19
66
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ambo, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The positive:
Clean, charming hotel in great location. The beach is nice and quiet, with only a few local kids running around and a kite surfing place next door. Looks like an ideal place to learn how to kite surf, with calm, shallow water and few people or boats. The swimming pool is also quite nice. We booked a snorkeling trip to Mnemba Island through the hotel for a half day, which was a good value.

The negative:
For us, the food was a bit expensive and the beer was too warm (I think the fridge was broken). Also, the A/C stopped working both nights we stayed there, but the ocean breeze helped. We had a very early checkout, trying to catch the 7 am ferry, and breakfast was promised to us but never delivered, so we left hungry.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have bunk beds, which are nice for kids, but maybe not as nice for adults, as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

It is a small place in a quiet place of Kiwenga. Good rooms with sea view (though quite small) and very clean.Small private balcony to feel the wind and browse internet freely.
No sellers will bother you on the beach since the owner does not want his customers to be disturbed.
There is a swimming pool.
Just in front of the hotel women grow seaweeds during low tide.
There is a small and comfortable hut on the beach where a professional masseuse can heal your muscles.
The restaurant unfortunately keeps on serving mostly italian food (pasta and things like that ...), but you can ask for something different and more appropriate for the climate and the place.
You can even have prawns and Lobster paying a little fee.
Excursions are managed by Eddy, a nice zanzibarian whose sole defect is that he tends to surcharge a little for his services.
I would suggest to the owners to put shampoo in the rooms and revise the menu of the restaurant in order to include more fish and vegetables instead of pasta. The breakfast too needs a consistent upgrade.

That said, though not being a luxury resort, the price is low, people are nice and the place has everything needed for a vacation by the sea.

Room Tip: Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

A lovely hotel on a beautiful beach. Great area, very quiet and peaceful!! The management were great- a really friendly Italian family. The staff were great too- really helpful- although sometimes there was a bit too much 'African time'! The hotel was very clean. The food was amazing- a starter, pasta dish, main (either fish or meat) and then desert for both lunch and dinner! Really good value. The breakfast was very good too. Asante Sana for a fantastic weekend!!!! We'll definitely be back, and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

.... loved it ... loved it ... loved it. The perfect hideaway, a dream beach away form the hustle and bustle of the major resorts, lovely little hotel with a family like atmosphere, spotless rooms, well maintained facilities.The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We chose the half board option and the dinners were great with a choice of fish, veggie or meat every day. Breakfast is simple and continental, but staff is happy to serve you an omlette if that is your choice. Thanks to the team for a week in paradise!!! :-)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We are a couple tried a relaxing, quiet and beautiful resort to spend two days of our holiday.
Fortunately we chose the Blue Marlin Village in Kiwengwa.
The staff is always available, welcoming and preparated.
Very good value for money for both the bar and the restaurant,excellent cuisine and varied.
Very cheap and delicious lobster dinner on the beach.
We will definitely return soon.

Mark and Rose

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Had an amazing stay there.

Highlights: very very clean
Lovely bar area
Local boys working there are so lovely and helpful
Its around a 30second walk to the most beautiful peaceful beach i have ever seen.

Downside: do not pay 40euro to be dropped off to the port. Complete rip off sorry but that made me so angry. Get a taxi instead

Bring your own alcohal i nearly fainted when i saw the price of a drink

Would recommend this to everyone you will love it just barter well with a taxi, i paid around 18euros to taxi driver

Management need to be nicer to GUESTS

Enjoy :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiwengwa
0.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 799 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
0.0 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#7 of 9 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mvuvi Resort
Mvuvi Resort
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort
#3 of 5 in Pwani Mchangani
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blu Marlin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blu Marlin Village

Address: Kumba Urembo | Kumba Urembo, Kiwengwa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kiwengwa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kiwengwa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kiwengwa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kiwengwa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kiwengwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blu Marlin Village 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BluMarlin Village is in the most peaceful area of the splendid beach of Kiwengwa Zanzibar with its coconut palms and tropical plants not far away is the villafe of Kumba Orembo all around is a scenario of transparent crystalline water and a white beach where one can encounter children who live in the beach huts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Blu Marlin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blu Marlin Village Hotel
Blu Marlin Village Zanzibar Island/Kiwengwa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blu Marlin Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.