We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matemwe Retreat, Zanzibar, Asilia Africa

Save Saved
You added Matemwe Retreat, Zanzibar, Asilia Africa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Matemwe Retreat, Zanzibar, Asilia Africa
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
38% off | $400 pppn
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We spent 5 nights at Matemwe Lodge in July 2011 in the Zamzam villa. The villa itself was spectacular, with abundant outdoor space and a private 2nd floor with a pool overlooking the ocean. The living and sleeping areas were well appointed - not too fancy but appropriate for the environment - and the bathroom was spacious, featuring both a shower as well as a very large tub that opened out onto the balcony. The food and service were great. While there were the occasional 'lost in translation' moments the staff immediately corrected any errors. There's not an abundance of activity to do while at the lodge (we did a reef walk and a 1/2 day snorkel trip - both were great) - perfect for relaxing or catching up on reading but probably not a place you'd want to stay if you wanted more adventure.

Room Tip: Of the 4 villes, the 1st is the leav private so ask for one of the others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    9
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
64
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed at the Retreat, Nuru, for 8 nights after a 7 day safari in Tanzania (we got married in the Serengeti - arranged by Aim4Africa and Kirawira Luxury Tented Camp - this was amazing too!). We were worried by the recent bad review, but we contacted Matemwe through Nancy at Aim4Africa and they answered our concerns brilliantly.
We were after some pampered relaxation and we got it in spades here! Nuru is a beautiful 'villa' and our butler Thadeo was great fun and extremely attentive and caring. Nuru was spotlessly clean and well maintained by Thadeo during our stay.
We loved having a bath looking out over the Indian Ocean, or plunging in the pool when the weather got too hot. We spent most of our team reading on the top deck and dipping in our pool, only venturing downstairs to have a wonderful meal served to us.
The mini-bar was very well stocked, and we loved Tusker beer, so Thadeo made sure he kept the fridge full of it!
The food was superb - we ate at the restaurant on three nights - the main BBQ and Swahili dinner nights and the food was just as excellent as when served at our 'home'.
We went on the snorkelling excursion to Mnemba, and never have I been in such warm, crystal clear water... The guys who took us out let me take the tiller on the sail back too!
We tried a good few cocktails, at the bar and brought to us (this takes a little time, but who's rushing?? It says this in the guide pack too) and all were good.
The Retreat is perfect if you want beautiful scenery and a chance to relax - it isn't promoted as a fun-filled rollercoaster ride of a place. It provides you with a wonderful chance to unwind - your every whim is catered for and you don't need to do anything...
There are mosquitoes, but we had spray, the room was netted and sprayed and we had our malaria tablets so we weren't worried and they didn't affect us greatly.
We had a bush-baby visit and nick our nuts, but we got some lovely photos :-)
The Retreat is close to nature - from our deck there was a few feet of bush, a few more of beautiful white sand as soft as flour, and then the Ocean...
If you want to relax, as we did after a hectic safari and wedding then the Retreat is perfect. Have a massage looking out over the Ocean (massages were very good). Sit and read by your private pool. Decide what you want to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner and have a very talented chef prepare it, and, if your lucky, Thadeo will be looking after you and he will bring it to you with a smile and some funny stories.
On our last night Thadeo set up the table on the top deck by the pool. We ate a wonderful meal of our favourite dishes from the week and gazed up at the stars, drinking the champagne that had so kindly been given to us...
We loved it. Bear in mind it's not the Ritz, it's not New York. It's Zanzibar and thank heaven for that!!!

Room Tip: Nuru has never had a bad review I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Marketing Manager at Matemwe Retreat, Zanzibar, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear Neil,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of our Retreat. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at Matemwe Retreat and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in the in Matemwe Retreat on Zanzibar.

Best Regards,

Gordie Owles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed at Safina at the Matemwe Retreat for our honeymoon for 4 nights following a safari in Tanzania. This was to be our blow out luxury relaxation time. Safina was really beautiful. Our private butler Rashid was attentive but left us to relax. The food was amazing cooked by the wonderful Chef Yummy Yummy! But I always had an underlying sense of disappointment. The weather was rubbish, out of our control of course but there was nothing to do apart from sit on the bed and read while it was raining. Our private terrace and plunge pool was again beauiful but the seating area was full of ants and the plunge pool freezing. We spent what sunny time there was at the main hotel pool area which was lovely. The beach wasn't quite what we expected, not really a private White sandy beach...a bit of a walk away it was more a rock pool accessible only when the tide was out.the main beach didn't have many beds and no service in that area. We ate in the main restaurant for two nights and again, the buffet was amazing..I can't fault the food, fresh fruit, fish..very good. The management were also very friendly and helped ease our concerns with our tour operator, contacting them on our behalf. It was truly a relaxing time and we were very well looked after but it didn't quite live up to what we were expecting....

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

+ great service - have your dedicated help to serve food and cater for all your needs. staff is well trained, friendly, polite.
+ food is excellent - fresh fish, salads, fruit, juices
+ very spacious accommodation, with charming furniture and design


- no easy access to the beach - can't wake up and take a dip, which is what you expect from this price point
- mosquitoes managed to intrude despite spraying, insent burning and the net - woke us up most of the nights. this was a nuisance because of the malaria risk in the area
- facilities and maintenance are not up to what you would expect for this price point - e.g., some pillows are worn off, the shower head needs to be changed, swimming pool had some leaves
- very close to nature is charming, but you have to be prepared for unexpected encounters. In our case it was ants (we had to change rooms), a tick which took a bite on me (!), two cockroaches and a spider, inside the apartment.

Overall, although the retreat is a great place, I would not have chosen it for my honeymoon, where I want all to be carefree and easy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Marketing Manager at Matemwe Retreat, Zanzibar, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
We are happy that you found the Retreat to be a great place.

With regards to your comments about the mosquitoes and insects as well as the worn off pillows and broken showerhead, I assure you that your comments have been taken in the most serious light. I have passed on your feedback to all the relevant managers and corrective measures have been taken to prevent a similar incident from occurring in future.

Please accept my sincere apologies for your partly unsatisfying experience during your honeymoon, as it is most definitely not the standard of service we strive to achieve but are comforted by the areas where it worked well.

Kindest Regards,

Gordie Owles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Very Disappointing

We have just returned from 8 days at this resort after a safari in Kenya then a couple of days stay in Stone Town. We are celebrating a big birthday this year so decided to push the boat out a bit and go for a bit more luxury than usual. We stayed in three excellent hotels – and this one!
We were greeted very well – given cold towels and a drink then a tour of the resort by the two charming managers – Rachel and Jolene. We were both impressed. As we were early and the room was not ready we had lunch in the main restaurant which was very nice.
This is probably a good time to say that the One Ocean Dive Centre on site was great, really professional, lovely staff, new equipment and some awesome dive sites. We were even fortunate enough to snorkel with a large pod of dolphins, wonderful.

We were then taken on the trek to Safina – through the gardens, up the numerous steps and along the path in the blazing sun to the most remote room in the hotel. Rachel informed us during the walk that our butler and the chef will offer menu suggestions each morning but that the three ‘retreat’ rooms had their own dedicated kitchen in this part of the resort so we could order anything we wanted for any meal and it would be prepared for us.
As you first walk in it really does have the wow factor. Large veranda, view to the sea, beautiful rustic furniture, double hammock, plunge pool on the roof - just like the pictures. It’s not until you start living in the space that you realise it’s all a bit tired and grubby. As mentioned by a previous reviewer, the bedding and soft furnishings were stained, there was rust in the bathroom fittings, the crockery and cutlery were all a bit ‘Woolworth value brand’ and the glassware really naff. Food arrives with ill fitting lids and was never hot.
Despite asking, the room only had some rather nasty thick blue wine glasses – useless for beer or a G&T. We used the tooth mugs from the bathroom.
Oh and at 8am the workmen who are building the fourth retreat next door arrive, but they would usually wait until 8.30 before they started hammering. An attempt has been made to screen the workmen from Safina and it does work- most of the time.
The bedroom was fitted with air conditioning on the back wall. To one side is the archway leading to the bathroom and to the other is the archway to the stairs leading to the roof. Neither archway has a door and therefore the air conditioning unit is trying to cool three large spaces. We had it set to 16 degrees but the thermostat never read less than 27 degrees.
Add to that the essential mossie net around the bed and you were sleeping in a hot muggy tent. Someone has realised this and thoughtfully provided an electric fan on the headboard. Switch it on and you are sleeping in a hot muggy tent, with a draught.

The veranda was often splattered with rook droppings. The land in front of the veranda looking down to sea is a scrub/jungle area – natural & wild and full of wildlife. The veranda is at the height of the top of the majority of the trees. We were often chasing out bugs and cockroaches and we did have a rodent of some kind one night – but it was to dark to make out what – just saw a large tail as it disappeared over the side. As soon as we realised we stopped going barefoot and wore flip flops at all times.
It also means that you cannot access the ‘private beach’ from your room – you have to walk most of the way back to the main hotel then veer off left. ‘Private’ is an exaggeration as the locals use it all the time and anyone from the hotel can as well – they just don’t as it’s not very nice. We were told you can’t swim from it by Rachel. It has three double sun beds on it but they did look old, unused and forlorn.
The veranda has just two dim lights and the closest is some distance from the dining table so be prepared to eat almost entirely by the light of a single candle if you dine after about 6.30 pm.
Also while we were there (and I do realise that this is a time of year thing) it got really windy in the evenings and made the veranda an unpleasant place to be. It was enough to blow beer bottles and glasses over & make my hair look like a scarecrows. There are plastic screens but not positioned adequately to prevent the wind, more for the rainy season I think, and there is nowhere out of the weather to eat.

On being asked if we would like a cocktail before dinner on the first evening Rashide assured us that he knows how to make a very dry martini. We ordered two. When they arrived they were approx equal quantities vodka & vermouth - also warm. The following night I requested a marguerita. It arrived sweet, warm and without salt on the rim. We later realised that they were being made in the main bar and carried the 10/15 minute trek to our room. Despite the fact that we couldn’t drink them Rashide did not offer to replace them. In fact when I pointed out that the marguerita was unsalted he went away, came back with salt and another glass, salted the rim and poured the old drink into the new glass. I went down to the main building the following day and spoke to Rachael about this (and a couple of other problems). It was clearly not the first time she had had similar complaints and promised to talk to the food & beverage manager.
The following day she went back to Kenya.
We tried 4 different fresh juices on four consecutive mornings and told Rashide they were too sweet (no orange juice, that was not available we were told). We stopped ordering juice.
On our last morning he proudly produced orange juice (?) and assured us we would like it as he hadn’t put any sugar in it!
Restocking the bar one day Rashide asked us which beer we preferred. We said either Tusker or Kilimanjaro would be great – he brought Safari.
In the information pack in the room it says, and I quote
‘We aim to provide you with the highest standards of service possible. You have your own personal butler who will attend to all your needs with best efforts. The chef will visit you between 10am and 11am each morning to tempt you with the delights of the day and will implement innovative efforts to facilitate your meal preferences.’ We saw the chef on the last two days of our stay only. By then I think it was just curiosity on his part. His English is as good as our Swahili – ‘Thank you’ and ‘you’re welcome’. All translations went through Rashide
In fact what happened was that Rashide would wait until we had finished one meal and then we would have to decide what we wanted for the next – and at what time. Apart from breakfast, there was a choice of only three items, one each of vegetarian, fish or meat. Anywhere else this would be considered the ‘specials’ of the day – not the entire list of options. As I don’t like fish it reduced my options to two. As the chef only really had one sauce and put it on everything we got quite bored and decided to order ‘off specials’.
So, one lunchtime, we asked Rashide for cold meat and salad. We thought this would be straightforward. This first ‘ad hoc’ meal was a blueprint for all of the rest.
We asked Rashide what cold meat was available. It was like pulling teeth but he finally confessed that the kitchens had salami, beef and impala. We asked for a selection of all three. He asked what we wanted in the salad. We said tomato, lettuce, avocado, cucumber and whatever else the chef thought was good that day.
What arrived was tomato, lettuce, avocado and cucumber. Slapped on a plate with no garnish, dressing, mayonnaise, or indeed cold meat. No options to replace the lack of cold meat. No apology or explanation. Just a shrug.’ No cold meat’ he said.
As Rachael had gone by this time I went and had a quiet word with Jolene and said that I felt we were not getting the most from our time as there is no menu in the room and we had no idea what can be easily produced from the kitchens. Please could she produce a reasonably comprehensive list of available meal options or at least a list of available ingredients? I explained some of the difficulties we had encountered and she was surprised as she had come upon Rashide earlier that day with packs of cold meat in his hand. He had told her it was for us. We never did get to the bottom of why we didn’t get any.
She assured me that she would do what she could and that from here on in she was going to get personally involved in our meals. She also suggested we eat in the main restaurant. Not quite the solution we were looking for. I got the impression that she had had this kind of complaint before.

Two days later I told Rashide that Jolene was making a list for us of meal options and could he ask how she was getting on. He told us that she had gone into town for the weekend. I can only assume she wanted a decent meal. We neither saw nor heard from her again. I have no idea if she came back to the hotel or not.
After that the food lurched from bad to disaster. I will name some of the more memorable incidents. The breakfast fruit plate wasodd lumps of fruit plonked on a plate. Not nicely sliced or presented in any way. One meal we ordered prawns from the daily choice. The prawns were delivered for dinner with a baked potato and cauliflower. Bizarre!. Another prawn dinner for my husband came with noodles. They had been marinated in soy sauce. Then fried in soy sauce. Then garnished with soy sauce. They were disgusting, overly salty and inedible. We requested beef lasagne (ad hoc) after checking that it would not be difficult for the chef. I am sure that taking it out of the freezer carton and zapping it in the microwave was not to taxing. I was assured that parmesan was available, I am still waiting. We told Rashide we were going diving and that we thought we would be back between 2.30 and 3pm. We pointed out that we had breakfast at seven and would be really hungry when we got back. Lunch arrived just after 4pm. On another diving day we had breakfast at the main restaurant so didn’t get to order lunch until we got back. In an attempt to get something quickly we asked for a selection of sandwiches, beef, chicken and egg mayonnaise. With a salad. We had to explain egg mayonnaise – a couple of times. We told him how to make it. What arrived was an egg mayo/chicken mix sandwich. With tomato, lettuce, avocado and cucumber. Slapped on a plate with no garnish, dressing or finesse. You get the idea. It also took an hour and 10 minutes to arrive. All this from a kitchen which we were informed had only to produce three meals a day for 6 people. I am still trying to forget the ‘beef stew’ which I chose from the daily choices. I fed it to the cat. And the ice cream which I had in the restaurant once and was really nice, I requested that and what arrived at our room was a melted mess. Rashide apologised but did not offer to go get some more. Next time I asked for it – instead of just saying they didn’t have any they brought syllabub. I asked for cake one morning to go with coffee (they always had it in the main restaurant at breakfast) and was given stale digestives. Really, it just got so bizarre. I could go on and on (and on and on) with the list but you get the idea. If you consider requesting sandwiches, pasta and cold meat and salad as us being demanding or difficult then move over diva’s everywhere.

The only ‘ad hoc’ meal that was edible was a curry we had which was lovely, fragrant and delicious. It was the only meal where the chef seemed to have used any of the spice the island is famous for.
We ate in the main restaurant several times and they always seemed to have a fair choice of dishes, condiments and dressings. We often asked Rashide what was on the restaurant menu and it always seemed to be whatever we had already had.
We always had to ask very specifically, for what we wanted. If you forgot to mention something reasonably obvious, like salad dressing – you didn’t get it, even though we’d always asked for it before with a salad. Even being very specific, it was hit and miss as to what arrived.
It dawned on us eventually that the ‘dedicated kitchen’ was little more than a place to re heat and /or re cook food brought up from themain restaurant kitchen. I can’t say for sure that this is true but it would explain a great deal.
We also, in retrospect, feel that some serious penny pinching was going on as the ingredients used seemed to be poor quality – we certainly didn’t order bacon or cheese twice.
The main hotel always seemed to be better catered than the retreats. You didn’t have to decide the day before what you wanted for breakfast – or at what time, you just order or choose when you arrive at the restaurant. We always felt like the poor relation to the main lodge rather than the 5* rooms. A good start to redressing the balance would be a reasonable ‘in room’ menu so guests could ring up, order a meal and have it arrive within, say, half an hour.

We had a beer one afternoon in the main bar and the barman broke a glass on the sand floor. He knelt down and picked up the larger pieces with bare hands and scuffed over the area with his shoe. No other attempt was made to clear up the rest. In a different seat on a different day we saw more glass around.

We were expecting better organisation, more choice and certainly a much higher standard of accommodation, food. drinks and service

Rashide is a nice guy – doing a difficult job under difficult circumstances. If I had to guess I would say that his training for this job was inadequate. Our only link to food had no idea what food was available. He was never able to offer suggestions or alternatives and questions like ‘what pasta dishes is the chef good at’ would be met with blank looks. Every day brought some new embarrassment and awkwardness. He always seemed to be woefully short of support from any other members of staff or management.
Reading through the previous reviews for the retreat and the main lodge, the managers seem to change on a regular basis and it may be that this has affected the quality of the service. Sadly for us there seemed to be some sort of power struggle going on among the staff and the guests were the losers.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AsiliaAfrica, Marketing Manager at Matemwe Retreat, Zanzibar, Asilia Africa, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
We were truly sorry to learn of this unpleasant experience at Matemwe Retreat from your travel agent. We generally receive many positive comments and we certainly take your comments to heart. We have been in touch with the agent and understand the matter to be resolved but please rest assured that this is not on par with the standards set by our beach resort. The remarks are very much appreciated as they help us to improve both service and products.

The reasons for this failure are mainly down to a change in management which was not carried out well. There is little room for excuses here and we have worked hard to put these wrongs right.

I deliberately delayed my response to be sure we have addressed some of the finer aspects of your report and am happy to say that as the many reviews show in the past months we are once again delivering the standards we aspire too.

Best regards,

Gordie Owles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

After reading the poor recommendation that one traveler gave Matemwe Retreat I went with some suspicion. But I believe the poor experience the traveler had at the Retreat must have been an exception rather than the rule. I found the grounds and our villa, Nuru, to be spotless and well maintained. We did have a bush baby on our veranda but after it didn't find any snacks it went on its way. Perhaps something got left out that attracted the bush baby into the villa?

Also, I found Matemwe to be a good value for the money. It is expensive but the food and personalized service warrant the price. Also, our minibar was stocked with top-shelf gin and vodka, which i wasn't expecting. We never wanted for anything.

Finally, our butler Martin was a star. He was always friendly and willing to help arrange snorkeling, reef walks and ice to keep the sparkling wine chilled. He roasted cashews nuts personally for us and arranged a romantic roof top dinner before our departure. We decided, however, to stick close to the roof-top plunge pool and relax with the plentiful supply of cold drinks.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

We were stunned when arrived at Matemwe retreat. I had always wanted to visit but assumed it would be too expensive. We are leaving the country after a couple years in TZ and I figured we'd splash out and make reservations. In fact, the price was less than I thought it would be. And the retreat was beyond our expectations. It closes every May to make repairs and renovations, and the villa we stayed in, Safina, was flawless. Everything is 5 star from the linens to the splash pool to the furniture. Our butler, Thomas, was exceptionally trained and demonstrated true savoir faire. The food was gourmet and fresh, and the fully stocked bar was bottomless. We couldn't decide to spend all our time in the large built-in tub with non-stop hot water or the refreshing splash pool above, or in the super comfy bed in the air conditioning or sitting on the dhow-wood furniture. We will definitely be back as soon as possible!
*FYI* - there is a difference among Matemwe Retreat, Matemwe Bunglows, and Matemwe Beach Resort. The Retreat and Bungalows are the same property, and the retreat is high-end personal villas while the Bungalows are more a resort (still high end but not as private). Matemwe Beach Resort is an entirely different property, and some of the more critical reviews actually describe that resort rather than Matemwe retreat. It also helps to know that Matemwe Retreat came under new management by 2009, which explains why the very critical reviews occurred in 2008 but then end by 2009. As of July 2010, this is the best resort I've stayed in in Africa for the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matemwe Retreat, Zanzibar, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matemwe Retreat, Zanzibar, Asilia Africa

Address: Matemwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty lodging in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Matemwe Retreat, Zanzibar, Asilia Africa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matemwe Retreat's rooms are extremely spacious and beautifully decorated. A private deck and plunge pool allows for uninterrupted relaxation, with only the palm trees for company. Service at the Retreat is organized in such a way that guests need never leave their room. A private butler caters to every whim and the chef stops by every morning to discuss the meal choices for the day, which are served on the large verandas overlooking the Indian Ocean. Guests are free to wander down to the main lodge, enjoy the delicious cuisine or join fellow patrons for sundowner cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Matemwe Retreat, Zanzibar, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matemwe Retreat, Asilia Africa Hotel Matemwe
Matemwe Retreat, Zanzibar, Asilia Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matemwe Retreat, Zanzibar, Asilia Africa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.