We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of positives but not worth the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Matemwe Beach Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matemwe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matemwe Beach Village
Save
You added Matemwe Beach Village to your Saves list
Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Matemwe B&B and Inns
Bavaria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lots of positives but not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

There are lots of positives about the Beach Village. Firstly, the staff are friendly and do their very best to ensure people have a pleasant stay. Different activities can be organised through reception including a reef walk, visit to the local village and diving/ snorkelling through the onsite dive centre. Te grounds are well kept and bungalows are within easy reach of the beach. As mentioned in other reviews it is not easy to swim at the beach although you could snorkel at high tide. Most visitors (including us) tend to use the swimming pool which is a super area to relax. The bungalows are nice but ours was in need of some basic maintenance. The room had a fan but this is completely ineffective as it does not flow through the mosquito net. Very few rooms have air conditioning and in my opinion I would expect air con due to the high price of rooms and considering there are other good options just down the beach that offer this. Overall the food is good and is different enough each evening to maintain interest. Breakfast has variety and you can choose from homemade muesli (excellent) to bacon/ eggs on a scone etc. I would have given a slightly higher rating but I simply do not believe that the Village Resort offers value for money in comprison with other options.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    90
    28
    9
    2
See reviews for
49
173
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We were happily surprised with our unexpected upgrade from standard to suitehouse. Thank you manager Ali. Also a thank you to the staff that was friendly and served us very nice food.Snorkeling at the Mnemba atol was unbelievably beautifull and we were thankfull for the protecting wetsuits from One Ocean dive and snorkeling team.( stinging jellyfish)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have travelled to many different places in my life and personally I enjoy the secluded small resorts more than the big hotels.
Matemwe Beach Village is my favorite resort in Zanzibar!
It’s such a beautiful resort with amazing service and great food!

I have visited the resort twice and have stayed in one of the suites and also one of the standard double rooms. Surely the suites were amazing and way nicer than the standard double room but both rooms have the same charm and makes you feel right at home.

The Pool are is so beautiful with the most colorful beach bar where you will be served delicious lunch everyday by a smiling waiter.
I have eaten in the two different restaurants, beach bar and also on my last day I was surprised with a very romantic and nicely prepared dinner at the beach together with my colleague.
This was such a nice gesture and I really appreciated it! The food is great at this resort, no matter when and where you eat.

I love the ¨no shoes, no news¨ rule you have and I have never experienced a better turn down service in the evening than the one I experienced at your resort.
Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Very nice, spacious beachside hotel, perfect for relaxing and hanging out. The hotel is eco-friendly and designed with a minimalist style. Most things are locally sourced, the hotel takes a lot of pride in this and and really seems to invest in positive ways for the community. Rooms are comfortable and with nice little touches and there is a lovely porch with nice reading nooks. Food was tasty and well prepared, the highlight was an outdoor curry night with tiki lights. The hotel and space was absolutely gorgeous and very well maintained, but I'd say a wee bit pricey given minimalist design and competition. That said however, it's a lovely selection and would certainly recommend. 

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

After 5 days on safari Matemwe beach village was the perfect place for a few days of relaxation.

Fantastic staff, faultless food and a superb location.

We really could not have asked for more..... Other than a longer stay!!

We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Wonderful place to come and unwind after our safari. Such a relaxing atmosphere. Didn't do much which was our intention!

Pool area and bar was a nice place to linger in the day with good lunch. There is also a comfortable lounge area to sit in after Breakfast/dinner. Walks along the beach were wonderful.

Treated like the King and Queen! Couldn't do enough for us. Enjoyed dinner on the beach one evening, was so special and memorable.

Room Tip: We had a round room with loft. No outside sitting area. Smaller places nearer beach looked nice wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Matemwe Beach Village and simply loved this resort. It is quaint and isloated and the perfect place for relaxation and enoying time with friends. The staff were very helpful and seemed to have a lot of fun working together which adds a great tone to the atmopshere of this resort.

The resort was cozy and all of the experiences put a smile on our faces -- from the lounge and pool areas to the awesome food -- the chef has incredible talent and we loved eating here!

The resort had many special touches -- each room had sun hats and beack wraps that you could use during your stay and each evening we received a special story/parable to read. They also decorated our beds with flowers everyday with unique arrangements which was delightful!

We also got to see a birthday celebration for one of the staff at the pool area. It was wonderful to see everyone celebrating together ..they did not stop singing until she had cut the cake and fed everyone that was signing a piece of cake. Just a happy experience and we then got to wish her a happy birthday too :)

I also really appreciated the owners philosphy - employ locals, use locally grown food and promote experiences and shopping that brings to life what is special about this area and this also provides local revenue.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matemwe Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matemwe Beach Village

Address: Matemwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Matemwe
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Matemwe Beach Village Hotel Matemwe
Matemwe Beach Village Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matemwe Beach Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.