We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2013 review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matemwe Beach Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matemwe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matemwe Beach Village
Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Matemwe B&B and Inns
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“June 2013 review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at Matemwe for 5 nights following safari. It was so peaceful and relaxing! You need to take good books and board games. The chef was incredible and took my food intolerances as a personal challenge to create amazing food for me; he went so far as to cook new jam without pineapple, bread without dairy, watermelon and pimms jelly... The service was friendly and special!
Definitely do the snorkelling! My only gripe was that there was only soap provided - no other toiletries.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    82
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
43
162
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This review is a little late but I wanted to add my two-cents. We spent a few nights here in January 2008 for our honeymoon and it was amazing! Everything about this place was incredible and I can only hope one day to return. The food was delicious and outstanding service. The beach was beautiful and snorkeling was so much fun.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent two nights at this great resort in February 2013 and wish we'd stayed more!

The room, pool and food were all amazing. We went diving with the on-site dive company and they were very professional. Definitely recommend Matemwe Beach Village!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel was quite lovely, and I can see why a lot of guests really love it. We went for 5 nights in the middle of March. During this time, the temperature was around 32 degree with 85% humidity. It was almost unbearable, and definitely made us rethink if Zanzibar was the right choice at this time of year. Overall, I rate the hotel is very good to excellent, but if we returned I think we would choose someplace different. I

Luckily, the hotel upgraded us to a Shamba suite so the bedroom had AC. The rest of the suite felt like a hot yoga class, so we didn't use the other areas of the suite at all. Sidebar regarding AC: the a/c only works when they have main electricity, and this is very inconsistent. It worked at night, but not often during the day. If the electricity is not working, then the back up generator comes on. One time there was neither AC or fans working for about 6 hours in afternoon.

The hotel gets very little wind from ocean; the breeze is blocked by the trees that line the front. At first I thought that maybe I was being a bit wimpy regarding the heat, but after talking to one girl who was thinking of sleeping on her bedroom floor because it was cooler, I knew it wasn't just me. We spent the days sweltering away, and often it was too hot to be outside. Breakfast was the worst. My boyfriend likened it to some weird type of endurance contest: US ve THE HEAT. I was fully covered in sweat in 30 minutes and this was at 7am.

We were bitten like crazy during the night. I am not sure from what (mosquitoes, sand fleas?), but the oppressive heat, the bits, and the harsh sun made it very uncomfortable.

I think this place is perfect for a getaway, especially if you are living on the Tanzania mainland. After 12 days of Safari, in hindsight, I would have preferred someplace more substantial with proper AC.

The food was outstanding! On our whole Safari the only place better was Gibbs Farm.

The beach is good, not the best beach I have been to (Thailand, Australia, Bali, Mexico all have nicer beaches), but Matemwe has its own charm. There is a lot of seaweed in the water and on the beach so it is not quite the powder white sand/blue water I was envisioning. Nothing compares to the water and sand of Mnemba island; it was unbelievable. We did snorkeling with one ocean, and it was worth it just to go out in the boat to Mnemba island. It takes around 6 hours to do the snorkeling trip, which I found to be a bit long, but worth it.

Laundry service was great, and very cheap. I have never seen my white sundress so clean :)

Drinks are cheap (if you are Canadian where we pay way too much for alcohol). Vodka was $2.50 and a bottle of wine was $22. We had brought a few bottles of wine with us from stonetown, and kept them in the mini-fridge to enjoy in our room.

On the way back to the airport, the hotel recommended a reliable taxi driver who waited for us while we explored stonetown. We keep our luggage in the taxi, but took valuables with us. No issues.

Room Tip: Shamba suites have a/c in bedroom only, but better than nothing. The shamba suites are much more su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was wonderful. Service and food were excellent which was refreshing after some of the other places we stayed on the island. Basic rooms do not have air conditioning, but the staff immediately brought an extra fan after we inquired about it. Would highly recommend this place to anyone in need of a relaxing time.

Room Tip: If you want air conditioning, then you have to request one of the more expensive rooms. Honestly, wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here following a safari and it's the perfect place to relax and unwind. We had a small cottage/duplex right near the beach (there is shrubbery between the cottage and the beach so you can't see the water but you can hear it) that was very comfortable. Each day, the bed was decorated beautifully with flowers from the property and the staff sprayed the room, lit mosquito coils, and lowered the mosquito net while we dined at dinner. We never heard any of the other guests nearby.

The food was definitely the best part, aside from the friendly staff. We enjoyed the food so much, we decided to have lunch there too. Sunrise coffee on the beach with hot milk and biscuits, Eggs Benedict with avocado for breakfast (lots of other options too), sandwiches/salad/etc. for lunch, and a 4 course dinner with amazing fish and steak. One evening they had an African buffet poolside (the pool area is really pretty & gets great breezes) featuring food from north, east, and south Africa. We fell in love with the Urojo (potato) soup they served that evening and they graciously provided the recipe upon request.

There is a very relaxed feeling about this place and you easily unwind while there. We snoozed under one of several cabanas beach-side, walked along the beach, and waded into the ocean. The lodge works with a local villager for laundry service; ours came back fresh and clean. There are 2 small friendly dogs & a cat that live on the property, which is quite large and nicely landscaped.

A negative was the lack of breezes during part of our stay. When the breezes stop, it is very hot and humid. Our cottage had a ceiling fan, but no air conditioning. Ceiling fans in the dining area would be a very nice addition to this property. The lodge is eco-friendly, which we also admired. There were a few people on the beach - mostly young men - who tried to solicit donations from us, but they were not too close to the lodge's beach. Interestingly, the lodge staff rakes and buries the excess seaweed each morning so the beach will be clean and attractive for the guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Roskilde, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Matemwe Beach is a beautiful and relaxing oasis where you feel close to the authentic daily live of the villagers. Fantastic to experience the women attending their see weed, funny trying to talk with the young giggling girls collecting shells and octopus. Take a stroll to the reef with captain Hassan and sail in the boats. No hassle, No noisy sport activities or desperate touts. You can actually walk along the beach without much disturbance. The staff is so sweet and you sense its a good place to work. We loved the buildings, the materials, the little stories.

Please keep this place as it is!

Only sore spot was a bunch of arrogant english men (2 or 3 families) who apparently had not discovered they had lost the colonial power. But as a hotel you don't choose your guests.

Room Tip: Family of 3 or 4: The shamba suites offers privacy for the parents
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matemwe Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matemwe Beach Village

Also Known As:
Matemwe Beach Village Hotel Matemwe
Matemwe Beach Village Hotel
Matemwe Beach Village Zanzibar
Address: Matemwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Matemwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matemwe Beach Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Matemwe Beach Village to your Saves list