We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Marine Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sunshine Marine Lodge to your Saves list
Sunshine Marine Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Muyuni - Matemwe, Matemwe 4749, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relax and rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Beautifully designed rooms. Cooled by constant sea breeze (fans if required). Rooms very clean and well maintained. Amazing gardens and having the focus of viewing the mnemba attoll really added to experience. Plenty of good quality sun loungers around the infinity pool (long enough for doing laps if so inclined). Dive centre as part of complex a real bonus as easy access to stroll and easy journey home after diving. No sunloungers on the beach means no one selling you things. Lovely walk across rock pools when tide out to big wide sandy white fisherman's beach. Swimming in sea when tide in no problem. Only down side was management team slow to respond to issues we had with badly maintained bikes and manager seemed to be unhappy in his role. His approach changed when we asked for owners details. After this we were able to have more of a conversation and he seemed to genuinely be trying to make up for our bicycle experience. Management team all eat their meals in the restaurant and although this is meant to be the opportunity to talk and raise issues, the onus seems to be on guests to approach staff when I'd have thought it better if on a rota staff approach clients to have a check in.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine_Marine, Manager at Sunshine Marine Lodge, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your review posted on Trip Advisor.

We are extremely happy that you enjoyed our hotel, with its unique position and our Dive Point diving centre.
We are sorry to hear that you had experienced problems with our mountain bikes, which we offer as a free service to all our guests. We do remember your excursion in the surrounding area and the flat tire which unfortunately is at times normal practice on the dirt roads of Africa!
As was explained by 2 of our managers that greeted you on your return, our mountain bikes are checked weekly by our staff. We take into consideration our location and weather effects which influence all equipment and not just the bikes. We always do our best to make sure that everything works while experiencing life in Africa.

Regarding the feedback about the problem solving, our reception is open from early morning to early evening (12h) and all management is available on shifts throughout the day.
We do apologize for the Management taking their meal break in the main restaurant. The problem is that we unfortunately do not have anywhere else to eat. What we have done is changed our eating times so that this does not interfere with the guests. We have also employed a full-time restaurant manager who is there for all guests to assist with any issues that they may have during this time. The staff and management are always available for the guests.

We thank you for your comments which we have taken seriously so as to improve our service going forward. We also thank you again for your patronage, your good review and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Sunshine Marine Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

this place is amazing! we had such a relaxing stay!!

after travelling through africa for 4 weeks, our final stop was zanzibar. we usually love activity filled holidays, and travelling around africa was one of those holidays. we decided to choose this lodge because of its secluded location. it is in the middle of no mans land, with a gorgeous view of the ocean and beautifully styled rooms. the staff are so helpful, friendly and willing to go above and beyond for anything you need. The food was great with a good variety daily, the cocktails are delicious also!

The rooms are secure and our belongings felt safe throughout our stay. room service came twice a day, in the morning to clean the room and in the evening (when your at dinner) to lower the mosquito nets and spray your room with nice smelling insect repellent.

highly recommended!! will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

It is a long and bumpy journey from this hotel to anywhere else. Perfect if you want to hole-up in the hotel, laze by the beautiful infinity pool or dive around idyllic Mnemba and admire the coral. It also means there is so little light pollution you get a great view of the milky-way!

The diving here is really good- I was very nervous and unsure diving was for me, coerced by my husband to give it a go, but the instructors based at the hotel are patient and clearly capable and experienced which gave me the confidence to actually enjoy it!

Other plus points: The restaurant staff are great; the rooms are clean, bright, comfortable; there are books to borrow in an attic library; there are hammocks; really attractive surroundings in terms of flowers and art; we got a free bottle of sparkling wine as it was our honeymoon.

Negatives: This hotel is not so good if you want to try use it as a base to explore Zanzibar (eg: stone town, spice tours, the more popular beaches etc.). The reception staff aren't very helpful in organising or recommending itineraries if/when you do want to venture out and about.

The food is really bog-standard and there isn't a huge amount of choice (no choice at all on pudding and no chocolate anywhere to be found!! Bring supplies with you!!!). This is especially an issue when there are no other convenient places to eat (or to buy chocolate... or icecream...).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We are a family of five and stayed at this lodge just last week. One of the reasons for travelling to Zanzibar was for my husband and our son to scuba dive and this is why we were attracted to this lodge. We stayed four nights at Sunshine hotel which is the lodges sister resort and then moved here for some diving and snorkelling.

The lodge is so new, the rooms are almost identical to Sunshine hotel, just newer. This time we had upstairs rooms (two) the view was spectacular and the spacious balcony, so divine!

The manager in this resort was new, but he was obviously selected for his expertise in customer service and management. It was our sons 21st birthday whilst we were at Sunshine Marine Lodge and he not only provided a beautiful cake and bottle of champagne, to compliment our dinner celebrations, the staff arrived at our table singing happy birthday in Swahili, such a wonderful memory.

Again, a super relaxed place to stay, with seriously great views, pools and restaurant. We were
very happy with the prices of he food and drinks with breakfast being included.

The diving was amazing according to my son and husband, and we wee able to join them on a snorkelling trip which was a real highlight. The Marine life is abundant and the goal for my son was to see a Sea Turtle and indeed he did. Snorkelling was super professional, we were fitted for wetsuits, goggles and flippers which was great.

Some reviewers have commented on the remoteness, my suggestion would be to stay at the sister hotel or where ever you want to, do the sight seeing tours etc and then come to Sunshine Marine Lodge for comfort, peace, views, food and diving.....not to mention seriously good service. Wonderful holiday, wonderful memories.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is my kind of place!!! The kind of place I'm always looking to discover. Way off the beaten path. You can arrive, relax, and everything you need is taken care of. The rooms and view are incredible. In Zanzibar and East Africa it can be difficult to find good customer service. Sunshine Marine had incredible customer service. Can't say enough about it. The restaurant and bar prices are fair and that meant a lot to me. When you are this far away you don't have a lot of options and I appreciate the owners choices in pricing.

If you want to just unplug, get away and be treated well.... I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leiden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Lovely and quiet surroundings, comfortabele but not over the top. Fantastic staff at the restaurant and the reception, excellent house keeping. Kind, genuine, and pleasant place. Honest food, good size pool, pleasant other guests. While I was tehre, there were no children which was really nice as I was looking for peace and quiet, and that's exactly what you get. Beware: it is in a remote area and there is not much to do nearby the hotel, so if you are looking for entertainment, this probably is not the best place fot you. For me: it was exactly what I needed. Would't change a thing, very enjoyable stay, would like to return tomorrow!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Spent 2 nights in blue wave suite. Fantastic view, excellent snorkelling on Mnemba reef. The drive to the isolated Lodge is safari-like.
Sports: A dive point is integrated in Hotel compound, mountain bikes in good condition allow for a ride to Muyuni beach ... or Matemwe.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Marine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Marine Lodge

Address: Muyuni - Matemwe, Matemwe 4749, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunshine Marine Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is situated 20min. Far away from Matemwe, just in front of the beautiful Mnemba Atoll and near the unspoiled Muyuni Beach. Surrounded by a wild bush (local flora), Sunshine Marine Lodge is the ideal location to relax, enjoy the pure nature and the Dive Point diving center's activities (diving, snorkeling, dive courses), far away from the mass tourism and huge properties "all inclusive". The Lodge disposes of 3 outdoor pools overlooking the Ocean and Mnemba Atoll as well the Restaurant and Bar. Guests can choose from "a' la carte menu" tasty dishes from local and international cuisine, different all the days and cooked only with fresh ingredients and lovely care. Half or Full board are provided on request. As located on a rocky cliff, the wooden jetty gives the chance to reach the sea and swim or, on the low tide, do a nice promenade in the sea bottom and discover creeks, wild fauna or reach Muyuni Beach (700mt on foot or 15 minutes by bike). Our diving center provide for special reef shoes and mountain bikes are available at the reception, for free. All the bungalows are within a lush and colored garden. Bedrooms have an African modern design, with sea view, from the private garden with veranda or the terrace, all equipped with outdoor furniture to chilling out in privacy. King size bed with mosquito net, desk, stone bench, bathroom with shower, safe, 3 fans (no a/c and TV), are the main features in all the categories. Family, friends or little groups are welcome thanks to the huge Panorama Suites, suitable up to 4 people or extra/twin beds available in most of the other rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunshine Marine Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Marine Lodge Matemwe, Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Marine Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.