We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water Problems” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzibar House to your Saves list
Zanzibar House
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Matemwe, Matemwe PO BOX 3085, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 6 Matemwe B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Water Problems”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and it was anything but relaxing. We had water problems throughout our entire stay and we were never offered a change of room. First, the water was salt water, which would have been nice to know as we tried to make tea with it. Secondly, we either had no water or cold water as there was something wrong with the water heater. There were repairmen in our room throughout our entire stay which made me uncomfortable and unable to relax in my own room. They left mud everywhere and no one came around to clean up after them. The water stopped working on our first night and instead of moving us, we were sent to shower across the hall like we were in a youth hostel. We showered in another broken bathroom with little lighting and blocked drains which flooded the floor. The floor was so slippery with soap and water I almost fell. On top of which the owners acted as if this was such a terrible inconvenience to them! We stayed there for 5 nights and it wasn't romantic. The only consolation they offered us was a bottle of wine.

They served a different version of the same menu every night, which just got boring. They charge 50-70 euros to get into town. They washed my clothes in salt water which resulted in all of my white clothing having rust stains which I didn't see until I got it back home. The last straw was when my husband asked if there was any place he could get a cigar and the owner brought out a box of cigars for him to choose from. We thought that it was really nice of him to do that after everything we'd been through, but then when we got our bill we realized we'd been charged for it. It would have been nice to have a price mentioned. Basically we felt cheated and ripped off at the end of this stay and we wish we could have redone that part of our honeymoon. I would never suggest that anyone stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
43
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Zanzibar House is total paradise - the house is beautiful, the rooms are lovely, the food was fantastic, the beach is gorgeous, the staff were great - can't say enough good things about this place! We stayed for 6 nights and felt so relaxed after just one day. Georgia the manager was fab and really looked after us all week - it was my friends birthday while we were there and she really made a fuss and made it special. When we arrived she told us 'this is your home' and it really felt like that! Special mention also to the chef who made the best Crepes and served us amazing four course meals of Italian and local seafood dishes. Also definitely have one of the beauty treatments - Felice is excellent and great value.
If you are looking for a holiday to relax and rejuvenate and make you feel special the go to Zanzibar house - we really couldn't have asked for more.
Thanks to all there,
Paula and Sharon

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We couldn't have chosen better our destination. Georgia was the most gracious host, as well as all the staff at Zanzibar House. Chef Julius cooks wonderfully and was so kind when we requested some typical Swahili dishes, even teaching us how to eat the delicious Ugali!

I would most definitely recommend a stay there. Very familiar, calm, silent and peaceful. Not for the ones who like frills and hype. This is a place of relaxation.

Thank you so much for the wonderful experience!

Room Tip: We stayed at room number 4. Definitely recommended. Stunning ocean view, less noise from the water p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 8 nights in Zanzibar, 5 nights at a budget guesthouse in Bwejuu, and the last 3 at Zanzibar House as our "splurge" (though by Zanzibar beach standards, this property is a VERY reasonable price and great value). We absolutely loved our time at Zanzibar House! Massimiliano and his family are truly warm, gracious and attentive hosts. They went out of their way to check on us and make sure we had whatever we wanted. The rest of the staff was also friendly and helpful. I ordered a Pina Colada from the bar one day, and one of the staff climbed a palm tree on the property to retrieve a fresh coconut for it! The amount of food/service that is included in the room price makes it an amazing deal. As others have noted, the House provides a full hot and cold breakfast in the morning, fresh fruit around 11, coffee service at 4pm, appetizers at 7:30pm, and an incredible 4-course meal every night at 8:30pm (with fresh seafood as the main course!). Massimiliano would check with us to see if we had any special requests or food preferences, and made sure we were happy with the menu each night. You should DEFINITELY request the house-made banana ice cream for dessert at some point during your stay...one of the best things I've ever eaten!
We were guests in mid/late March, which is the start of the rainy/low season in Zanzibar. Out of the 7 rooms on the property, it seemed only 3 at most were occupied during our stay, including us. It felt like we had the pool and beach to ourselves! Of the 9 days total we spent on the island, we only experienced a couple hours of rain total. I wouldn't be deterred by a stay during March.
We'd already done several excursions at our previous location, so we mostly lounged around the beach and pool at Zanzibar House. We did go on the Stone Town tour, which was lovely and well-arranged by the property. Great driver and guide, we would recommend it! We'd love to come back and snorkel out by Mnemba, sadly we didn't make it this time. The beach in front of the property was very nice, though it's great to have a pool option for when the tide is out.
I can't recommend Zanzibar House enough. It was beyond our expectations and I can't imagine that we would have been happier or better taken care of at any of the more expensive resorts.

Room Tip: Definitely recommend the ocean view rooms. Since the property wasn't full, we were kindly upgrad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I stayed at Zanzibar House for 2 nights at the end of February with a friend and we had such a lovely time! The italian hosts are super nice and the have very friendly staff. Fruit was served mid morning and tea in the afternoon in addition to a delicious dinner. I can definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Very modern, spacious and clean. Huge rooms with everything you need. Food is exquisite! Four course meals plus appetisers. The owners are lovely and treat you like family. Don't stay anywhere else. Organised diving for us which was also great.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Zanzibar House located on Matemwe beach. This is a nice and small hotel with good atmosphere and a lot of Italian food :)
The owner of the hotel, Massi, and his family, will make your vacation just wonderful.
There is nothing to do around the hotel at Matemwe beach, except relaxing oil massage and sunbaths.
Of course you can take some tour, for example to Stone Town or Spice Tour.
WiFi is good.
Ocean view room was perfect also.

Room Tip: ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zanzibar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar House

Address: Matemwe, Matemwe PO BOX 3085, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zanzibar House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzibar House is a 7 room privately owned and ran boutique hotel situated in the beautiful location of Matemwe on the North East coast of the island, about 40km from Stone Town.The hotel opened its doors in December 2012. The materials used in the construction are found in Zanzibar, with a traditional Makuti roof, decorated with Maritaki patterns, in harmony with the nature and not to disrupt the beautiful landscape. Zanzibar House offers its guests 7 rooms. 5 rooms with sea view and 2 have views over the rich vegetation that surrounds the area. Four posters Queen size beds in every room. Extra beds and baby cots are available upon request. Satellite TV, complimentary WIFI, minibar, air conditioning, tea and coffee making facilities are few of the amenities found in the rooms. Each and every room has a large terrace from where to enjoy the breathtaking views.The restaurant offers delicacies of international and local cuisine with extra care put into the selection of the produce, respecting the seasons and what is available in the market. The full licensed bar offers a selection of local beers, world reknown spirits brands, cocktails and much more all to be enjoyed in the porch overlooking the Indian Ocean. During the day guests are pampered by the carefully picked staff and presented with nibbles to accompany the passing hours; seasonal fruit skewers, spiced tea or coffee in the afternoon, home made savory or sweet treats according to the inspiration of the chef. Special efforts were made in choosing and making of the decorative details found across the house. All the doors were made with coconut wood, found in plentiful supply on the island; the wood was carved by a skilled carpenter in Stone Town with traditional Zanzibar motives, the floors are made of Galana, a local stone, the material used for the walls and structure is called Choka, the island’s version of cement. A full menu of massages and treatments available all day along and tailor made solutions, such as custom made excursions, insiders tips to fully and responsably experience the magic of the island make of Zanzibar House an oasis of peace and tranquility, the perfect destination where to get rid of the stress of everyday’s life and regenerate the senses with attentive to detail service never losing the essence and the warmth of African hospitality to make you feel truly welcomed at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zanzibar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar House Matemwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zanzibar House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.