We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar to your Saves list
Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar
Matemwe Mnazi Mrefu, Matemwe Mnazi Mrefu, Tanzania   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have just returned from a week at Matemwe Bandas. We stayed as a family of four with two young children (aged 2 and 5). Here are some real highlights of our time at Matemwe Bandas...

1) The setting is outstanding, a white sand beach, coconut tress and a beautifully designed hotel next to a village. At high tide you can swim out and see lots of tiny tropical fish in the lagoon.
2) Really excellent food - lobster barbeque and grilled fish for us and perfectly cooked pasta and other items for the kids. The food was very reasonable so worth a trip just for the restaurant.
3) There is a very positive feeling about the team ( with british and zanzibari co owners) behind the hotel and the relationship with the village nearby. We contributed towards buying some solar lamps for village households. No hassle on the beach so excellent for pottering and it felt extremely safe.
4) The size and layout meant that it was really easy to keep an eye on the kids who spent ages playing in the pool so it was very relaxing but also with lots of fun activities eg. a boat trip to swim in warm turquoise sea spotting an array of sea life, chatting to local children on the beach, and hunting for treasure (shells) etc.
5) Very indulgent for adults, nice cocktails and a fantastic raised deck for massages with a sea view and lovely to be bare foot all week in the perfect white sand.

We shall definitely be back!
Thank you for making our holiday one of our best as a family with lots of great memories and pictures for the album.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom h, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us at Matemwe Bandas. Thank you so much for taking the time to post your very favourable impressions of your stay with us. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again when you next visit Zanzibar.

Warm regards,

Tom, Chichi & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
34
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Matemwe Bandas is such a lovely place. I've just come back to the UK and I'm sorely missing sitting in the shady bar eating delicious food and looking out onto paradise...

A few things stood out for me - you expect a beautiful, white sand beach, palm trees, azure sea etc - and you certainly get that in spades in Zanzibar. The things that set the Bandas aside are the friendly service, the amazing food and the stylish decor.

The staff are so friendly, and no effort is too much to ensure you are happy: breakfast on the beach, cocktails on the raised terrace, dinner on your balcony - done. We had several trips all conveniently arranged for us: trip to Stone Town, Snorkelling, Jungle visit to see the monkeys.

I have to make a special mention of the food - we travelled with two young boys and they catered for us and them amazingly. I was concerned, based on my experiences of a hotel in Kenya, that the food would be uninspiring. But here everything on the menu is amazing. The pasta dishes were al dente, the local curries amazingly delicious, and the hand made chips could win awards. Not just acceptable - amazing. Several times we had dishes not on the menu - grilled fish straight from the beach, chicken milanese (the chef has a classical italian training).

The place is stunning visually - complete eco-chic with local materials combined with high quality furnishings and accessories.

This is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom h, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We really appreciate your taking the time to post your detailed impressions of your family's stay with us at Matemwe Bandas. We are very pleased that you had such a good time and we hope to see you all again in the near future.

All the very best,
Tom, Chichi & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Matemwe Banda was absolutely fabulous; best part were the owners Tom and Chichi. A bit expensive but worth the value. Make sure to enjoy your breakfast on your porch overlooking the beach. Rooms are absolutely breathtaking- rustic, elegant, and simply beautiful.
Note, this hotel is an hr away from stone town and getting to and fro can be a bit expensive; but apart from that, its absolutely to die for. You will love it.

Room Tip: Any room on the beach is fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom h, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your enthusiastic impressions of your time with us at Matemwe Bandas. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again in the future.

All the very best,
Tom & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We spent a long weekend at Matemwe bandas and I wish it had been a week. Beautifully simple rooms, private verandas onto the beach, unobtrusive yet efficient and friendly staff, a small but well stocked bar... very hard to find fault, but am prepared to go back and give it a go. Tom is a perfect host - he makes the place seem like a family home, but only seems to appear, as if by magic, when you need him. Go with a book and maybe a friend - nothing else needed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom h, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your very positive feedback about your stay with us at Matemwe Bandas. We really appreciate it.

All the very best,

Tom & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I did our delayed honeymoon in August that started with a safari in Tanzania, went to Stone Town for a couple days, then we had 5 days to find a nice remote beach. The reviews on here for Matemwe Bandas were glowing and the surrounding story sounded unique and special and everything...to the point where it all sounded TOO good.

We put our skepticism aside and gave it a shot, and while for the sake of the Bandas I'd like to give them a 3 or 4 star review so they aren't absolutely perfect on here (sometimes too good can be a deterrent in itself) - I can't in good faith do that. I've given 5 stars for much less and they deserve to be at the top of any scale.

The layout and the aesthetics of the property are truly outstanding. It feels incredibly comfortable from the beginning and Tom is a superb host. It's like staying at a friend of a friend's guest cottage who welcomes you as family. Always popping by to say hi or help but never interfering with our time, the staff is everything you'd hope for.

We didn't find the food to be particularly good on our safari or in Stone Town, so the quality at the Bandas was a welcome surprise. The beach is not as swimmable as you'd hope but we felt we'd gladly take the remoteness and rough beauty over the touristy beaches you can find around the rest of the island. As long as you know what you're in for you'll be happy.

We took a chance and were rewarded with an unbelievably memorable stay for our honeymoon. We only get one of those so we're glad we didn't mess it up.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the beach facing bandas and wouldn't have traded it for anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom h, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you so much Tom for taking the time to post your much appreciated impressions of Matemwe Bandas. We were delighted you chose to stay with us during your honeymoon and really hope to see you both again in the future.

Warmest regards,
Tom, Chichi & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My friend and I recently returned from a three day trip to zanzibar and we stayed in matemwe bandas, the experience was simply amazing and in many ways humbling infact,starting with the kindness of the owner(Tom) and his lovely georgous wife, the efficiency and availabity of staff,the beauty and comfort of the rooms with a fusion of both tradition and mordern blend, the location of the rooms right at the front of the sea with a crazy breath taking morning view and sea breeze to wake up to for a life time, the internet super fast actually better than my friends back home, it worked for me just perfect and my relationship with my phone was much catered for.
I honestly couldn't find anything to complain about, definitely five stars all way and it was the best Zanzibar experience ever.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom h, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you so much Irene for your glowing impressions of your stay at Matemwe Bandas. We are delighted that you chose us and we really hope to see you again in the near future.

All the very best,
Tom, Chichi & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden of England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have travelled all around Zanzibar and had a lovely warm welcome from Tom and his staff - all really friendly.

The first morning we were woken very earlier with village men shouting and could not get back to sleep, we mentioned this to Tom and it was swiftly addressed - rest of the stay was peaceful.

Beautiful beach and swimming pool with more than enough beds to laze about. Plenty of bars along the stretch of the beach. Our friend visited us from another hotel and loved all the natural touches around the room.

Would recommend this hotel for peaceful relaxing time. Thank you

Room Tip: All three rooms on the beach are truly amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom h, Owner at Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
It is very kind of you to take the time to write up your positive feedback about your stay with us at Matemwe Bandas. Thank you so much. As regular visitors to Zanzibar, we very much hope to see you both again soon!

With warm regards,

Tom, Chichi & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar

Address: Matemwe Mnazi Mrefu, Matemwe Mnazi Mrefu, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matemwe Bandas is as faithful to its natural surroundings and to the highest levels of luxury as we are to millennia old traditions of local master craftsmanship. We are also a fair trade business that is substantially locally owned, while every member of our team (including our four young apprentices) hails from the village of Matemwe around our property.With private direct access from your verandah, Matemwe’s breathtaking beach is only a step away. You can walk along its majestic palmed-lined breadth on dazzlingly white, super fine sand basking in the brilliant tropical sunshine for miles in both directions, only occasionally coming across other people. Nestling on the beach's edge in rustic exclusivity, our luxury coco wood and palm thatch bungalows share an elegant 11m x 5m swimming fresh water pool and sandy, decked and canopy-covered communal areas. We offer butler service and a la carte local & international fusion cuisine. We also provide high speed Wi-Fi Internet access, laundry service and mineral water in the bandas for free to all residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B and Booking.com so you can book your Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matemwe Bandas Boutique Hotel, Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.