We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green and Blue Ocean Lodge

Save Saved
You added Green and Blue Ocean Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green and Blue Ocean Lodge
Kigomani, Matemwe PO Box 4749, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Matemwe
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Very nice Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at the Green and Blue in June 2013 5 nights after a safari in Tansania. I went there with my wife and another couple. When we arrived after a rather long bumpy van ride from the Airport we were given a very warm welcome by the staff and the management.
Since the hotel was rather empty at that time of the year we very upgraded into the beach villa which was purely awsome ! The rooms were very nicely decorated and the view form the villa to the sea was great. I suppose the views to the sea are great even at all the other rooms since as far as we saw all were facing the beach front and the hotel is not huge at all.

So the resort property and the rooms are well worth 5-stars. Pool area is also nice. Unfortunatley there was no gym.

The beach was very nice we did not have a lot of sea-weed but you have to know that the locals all over Zanzibar grow and harvest seaweed all over the island for their living. So I guess the seaweed thing could be a matter everywhere.
If you decide to go to the tourist places like Nungwi you'll probably won't have seagrass but instead millions of low budget tourists. We then rather go for a bit of seaweed.

Breakfast was always great. We had fresh bakery every day and different choices of fruits etc. everything was a la carte so no buffet which we liked also.

Dinner was also good although it did not really match up with our hugh expectations for a 5 star resort. But since the place is rather small and there were not too many guest at that time I guess it was still at a high level for Zanzibar. But please don't expect a high end cuisine like in Europe or US remember you are still in Africa and I suppose it must be hard to have the exculive suppliers available every day.

Swimming is generally very nice, the water was not too warm in June. We went for snorkeling trip which was great we even could swim with wild dolphins there - amazing !

One last advice, you always need a driver to exit the hotel. It is really far away from everything and there is only a small African village there which is not really appealing at all. So always arrange with the staff for a taxi ride. But be aware that the taxis are not cheap !

We and the other couple that we went with to Green and Blue were both very very satisfied with our choice of the hotel. Maybe someday when we do the next safari we'll come back again !

Florian, Vienna

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    8
    2
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

This place is GREAT! Ignore any carping negatives in one or two other reviews and go for it......
Everything was wonderful for us (couple plus 3 year old son) and we had a really relaxing 4 day stay. April is the rainy season BUT a rather perfect time to visit. Staff were superb. Pools delicious. Food excellent. Massive thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed there for a week in August 2013 and it was a great experience. The location of this beautiful lodge overlooking the blue waters of the Indian Ocean is just stunning. The place is located in the middle of the Matemwe village, a very poor but authentic village in this African island where their locals sell vegetables and fish, and the barefoot kids play around.
We stayed at a villa facing the peaceful beach in front of the hotel which really helped to make our experience more enjoyable as waking up with that view and the crashing of waves against the shore felt like a piece of paradise. The restaurant and the pool also overlooked the pristine waters. The service was perfect. The fresh local food menu everyday was delicious. The staff was friendly and did everything in their hands to satisfy our needs and make us feel comfortable.
Perfect choice for a pure nature and real African island experience surrounded by a gorgeous landscape!

Room Tip: Room and villas on the front side of the beach are more beautiful but the sound of the waves against...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Green and Blue was a dream come true! Situated on a beautiful section of the beach you can gaze out over the turqoise waters from the restaurant or one of the three fabulous pools! Since the location is within a local fishing village you can also watch as local fishermen prepare their boats and work to bring in fish to sell and feed their families.
The restaurant is cozy and serves excellent drinks and meals. The presentation of all the food is delightful and adds to the culinary flair. Waiters are always friendly and helpful. English was no problem, I never had any issues speaking with the staff.
The bungalows are simply stunning with massive beds and open-air living. All the privacy you need and each bungalow is surrounded by part of the delightful gardens.
Management staff here are incredible! They instantly put you at ease and work tirelessly to ensure you fully enjoy your stay!
With close access to activities such as snorkelling or diving (with Scubafish-the nearby dive centre) or other activities such as horseback riding you can certainly fill your holiday with adventure and relaxation.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our honeymoon stay at Green and Blue was everything we hoped for and more! It was like arriving at an oasis after travelling to Green and Blue from the airport (1 hour trip)... literally a little piece of heaven in the middle of Matemwe village. The resort is the perfect size, without too many guests or children to disrupt your stay. The bungalows are beautifully designed and very well maintained, and are actually the perfect accommodation for this beach side resort. It was frustrating having to sleep under mosquito nets every night but they are very well crafted and very useful, and the air conditioning was an absolute necessity. The staff are all discreet and very friendly, going about their daily chores in a cheerful manner which puts you at ease.

Each and every one of the waiters and bar staff were fantastic. We got to know each of them by name, and their different personalities, all of them very warm, hospitable and efficient. They welcomed us heartily for every single breakfast, lunch and supper and served us happily and with enthusiasm. They were truly wonderful and helped make our stay extra special.

The small little beach which the resort fronts is a beautiful, quiet white sand beach though filled with the activities of the local fisherman which is very intriguing to sit back and watch. The sea water was incredibly warm, as the reef prevents tides from bringing in fresh sea water for most of the day. Unfortunately the sea bed is filled with sea urchins most of the time and so swimming in the sea isn't really possible. Though for the adventurous you can take a walk out to sea to the reef and look at all the sea life there. We also went snorkelling which was absolutely fantastic, really incredibly clear blue waters, perfect temperature to swim around in for ages and beautiful sea life to watch. Again, the guides who took us out were incredibly warm, kind and friendly, adding great pleasure to the experience.

So whilst you can't necessarily swim in the sea, the 2 swimming pools were just perfect, being just a few steps away from the lovely sun loungers spaced out around the resort. It was absolute bliss, a completely relaxing holiday with no worries or concerns, just rest & relaxation, great fresh food, cocktails and drinks all day, and soaking up the sun. Heavenly.

The food menu changed for each meal every day, offering a lovely variety of incredibly fresh and beautifully prepared meals which all offered a unique taste. We loved the food, probably a little too much, and ate heartily! It is not a cheap resport, though, and both the food and drinks will set you back a bit but we considered it all worthwhile (we're on South African Rands, so the exchange may be worse than for other travellers).

We truly had a magical time and it was exactly what we hoped for so I would highly recommend Green and Blue to anyone looking for a highly relaxing, highly peaceful and calm stay. It's not for someone who wants to be active and doing something all day every day, but really great for just getting away from it all.

To top it all off, when my husband went with one of the waiters on a Village Walk around Matemwe (he lives there himself, so offered to be his guide) he learned that the resort was built with the permission and blessing of the village King/Chief, and the Tanzanian government. The resort therefore operates cohesively with the villages rather than being a hindrance to it. It offers employment to the locals, contributes to development of the village e.g. schools, hospital etc. and gives the villagers any water left over from the resort's water deliveries etc. Hence the fantastic atmosphere whilst you're there, as there's complete symbiosis and it was wonderful to hear about how cohesively the resort operated with and for the locals!

Room Tip: We stayed in the pool side bungalows which had the best location. The beach side bungalow may prove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Green and Blue Ocean Lodge gave us one week of happiness and relaxation. Excellent bungalows, service and surroundings. A tips is to buy snacks, sun lotion and everything you need for a week since there are no stores, restaurants (except to excellent restaurant at Green and Blue Ocean Lodge) nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was scrolling down the reviews and I can't believe what I've read below (referring to some of the bad reviews).

I could be very short about my Green and Blue experience: ABSOLUTELY STUNNING. But I won't, as I feel the need to rectify some of the reviews below.

When it comes to the bungalows, these are of an absolute beauty. Semi open so you can fully enjoy the atmosphere, yet have your necessary privacy at the same time. The windows were covered by mosquito nets, and even when sitting at night on the outside terrace, we weren't bothered by these pesky buggers. Rooms were beautifully decorated, which made my girlfriend and me immediately feel very welcome. Karibu Zanzibar!

The garden is very well maintained and also of magnificent beauty. It truly is a pleasure to walk around there, if one of their gardeners ever needs a new job, I'd hire them in a second.

The restaurant area gives you an amazing view of the blue and green ocean, and the nearby Nemba Island. There is a daily menu for lunch and diner with enough choices, and each dish was prepared to perfection. Congrats to the chef and to the staff, who were all really friendly and contrary to what you could read below, almost all fluent in English.

The pool area, the spa, the infinity pool (3 POOLS IN TOTAL!!) were all perfectly placed, well maintained, towels are foreseen on the pool side beds, ...

There are various activities that the hotel can organise for you. We choose to go snorkeling (I was swimming in between dolphins!!!), but there are more 'active' things you can undertake, such as jetski, parasailing, ...)

Last but not least, a very big thank you to both Alois and Silvio, both managers, who are one of the friendliest and most relaxed people I have met. They tend to your every need, and immediately make you feel at home.

I live in the hectic city of Dar, stayed there two nights, and came back fully relaxed.

If you are looking for a quick getaway or a longer vacation, this is the place to be.

Thanks again to all for making this an unforgettable experience, and please keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green and Blue Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green and Blue Ocean Lodge

Address: Kigomani, Matemwe PO Box 4749, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge GREEN AND BLUE in the northeast of the spice island ofZanzibar is placed so that your gaze wanders over the turquoise waterof the vast bay and rests on the small island of Mnemba. Characterisedby its lush, tropical garden, the Ocean Lodge nestles right on theIndian Ocean, separated from it by a powder-fine, sandy white beach.The lodge forms part of a typical local fishing village. This may appear very simple and basic to our “civilised” eye. Tourists can expect scenes they won’t see anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Green and Blue Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green And Blue Ocean Lodge Matemwe, Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green and Blue Ocean Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.