We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer bliss and beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green and Blue Ocean Lodge

Save Saved
You added Green and Blue Ocean Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Green and Blue Ocean Lodge
Kigomani, Matemwe PO Box 4749, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Matemwe
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sheer bliss and beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Green and Blue was a dream come true! Situated on a beautiful section of the beach you can gaze out over the turqoise waters from the restaurant or one of the three fabulous pools! Since the location is within a local fishing village you can also watch as local fishermen prepare their boats and work to bring in fish to sell and feed their families.
The restaurant is cozy and serves excellent drinks and meals. The presentation of all the food is delightful and adds to the culinary flair. Waiters are always friendly and helpful. English was no problem, I never had any issues speaking with the staff.
The bungalows are simply stunning with massive beds and open-air living. All the privacy you need and each bungalow is surrounded by part of the delightful gardens.
Management staff here are incredible! They instantly put you at ease and work tirelessly to ensure you fully enjoy your stay!
With close access to activities such as snorkelling or diving (with Scubafish-the nearby dive centre) or other activities such as horseback riding you can certainly fill your holiday with adventure and relaxation.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    7
    2
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
43
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our honeymoon stay at Green and Blue was everything we hoped for and more! It was like arriving at an oasis after travelling to Green and Blue from the airport (1 hour trip)... literally a little piece of heaven in the middle of Matemwe village. The resort is the perfect size, without too many guests or children to disrupt your stay. The bungalows are beautifully designed and very well maintained, and are actually the perfect accommodation for this beach side resort. It was frustrating having to sleep under mosquito nets every night but they are very well crafted and very useful, and the air conditioning was an absolute necessity. The staff are all discreet and very friendly, going about their daily chores in a cheerful manner which puts you at ease.

Each and every one of the waiters and bar staff were fantastic. We got to know each of them by name, and their different personalities, all of them very warm, hospitable and efficient. They welcomed us heartily for every single breakfast, lunch and supper and served us happily and with enthusiasm. They were truly wonderful and helped make our stay extra special.

The small little beach which the resort fronts is a beautiful, quiet white sand beach though filled with the activities of the local fisherman which is very intriguing to sit back and watch. The sea water was incredibly warm, as the reef prevents tides from bringing in fresh sea water for most of the day. Unfortunately the sea bed is filled with sea urchins most of the time and so swimming in the sea isn't really possible. Though for the adventurous you can take a walk out to sea to the reef and look at all the sea life there. We also went snorkelling which was absolutely fantastic, really incredibly clear blue waters, perfect temperature to swim around in for ages and beautiful sea life to watch. Again, the guides who took us out were incredibly warm, kind and friendly, adding great pleasure to the experience.

So whilst you can't necessarily swim in the sea, the 2 swimming pools were just perfect, being just a few steps away from the lovely sun loungers spaced out around the resort. It was absolute bliss, a completely relaxing holiday with no worries or concerns, just rest & relaxation, great fresh food, cocktails and drinks all day, and soaking up the sun. Heavenly.

The food menu changed for each meal every day, offering a lovely variety of incredibly fresh and beautifully prepared meals which all offered a unique taste. We loved the food, probably a little too much, and ate heartily! It is not a cheap resport, though, and both the food and drinks will set you back a bit but we considered it all worthwhile (we're on South African Rands, so the exchange may be worse than for other travellers).

We truly had a magical time and it was exactly what we hoped for so I would highly recommend Green and Blue to anyone looking for a highly relaxing, highly peaceful and calm stay. It's not for someone who wants to be active and doing something all day every day, but really great for just getting away from it all.

To top it all off, when my husband went with one of the waiters on a Village Walk around Matemwe (he lives there himself, so offered to be his guide) he learned that the resort was built with the permission and blessing of the village King/Chief, and the Tanzanian government. The resort therefore operates cohesively with the villages rather than being a hindrance to it. It offers employment to the locals, contributes to development of the village e.g. schools, hospital etc. and gives the villagers any water left over from the resort's water deliveries etc. Hence the fantastic atmosphere whilst you're there, as there's complete symbiosis and it was wonderful to hear about how cohesively the resort operated with and for the locals!

Room Tip: We stayed in the pool side bungalows which had the best location. The beach side bungalow may prove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Green and Blue Ocean Lodge gave us one week of happiness and relaxation. Excellent bungalows, service and surroundings. A tips is to buy snacks, sun lotion and everything you need for a week since there are no stores, restaurants (except to excellent restaurant at Green and Blue Ocean Lodge) nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was scrolling down the reviews and I can't believe what I've read below (referring to some of the bad reviews).

I could be very short about my Green and Blue experience: ABSOLUTELY STUNNING. But I won't, as I feel the need to rectify some of the reviews below.

When it comes to the bungalows, these are of an absolute beauty. Semi open so you can fully enjoy the atmosphere, yet have your necessary privacy at the same time. The windows were covered by mosquito nets, and even when sitting at night on the outside terrace, we weren't bothered by these pesky buggers. Rooms were beautifully decorated, which made my girlfriend and me immediately feel very welcome. Karibu Zanzibar!

The garden is very well maintained and also of magnificent beauty. It truly is a pleasure to walk around there, if one of their gardeners ever needs a new job, I'd hire them in a second.

The restaurant area gives you an amazing view of the blue and green ocean, and the nearby Nemba Island. There is a daily menu for lunch and diner with enough choices, and each dish was prepared to perfection. Congrats to the chef and to the staff, who were all really friendly and contrary to what you could read below, almost all fluent in English.

The pool area, the spa, the infinity pool (3 POOLS IN TOTAL!!) were all perfectly placed, well maintained, towels are foreseen on the pool side beds, ...

There are various activities that the hotel can organise for you. We choose to go snorkeling (I was swimming in between dolphins!!!), but there are more 'active' things you can undertake, such as jetski, parasailing, ...)

Last but not least, a very big thank you to both Alois and Silvio, both managers, who are one of the friendliest and most relaxed people I have met. They tend to your every need, and immediately make you feel at home.

I live in the hectic city of Dar, stayed there two nights, and came back fully relaxed.

If you are looking for a quick getaway or a longer vacation, this is the place to be.

Thanks again to all for making this an unforgettable experience, and please keep up the good work!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in Green and Blue resort only for 3 nights but I would definitely like to visit this paradise one more time. Its a great place if you have a wish to have a peaceful holidays without crowdy and loud beaches its a place for you! We loved the food , we couldnt complain about the service as well, they were very friendly and helpfull!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We choose to stay 7 nights in August, 2013 in this small resort after doing hours and hours of research on the web and it was a great choose!

Some of our highlights:
> the bungalow: great big bungalows with plunge pool, nice terrace in front, a hammock for two, huge beds and 2 showers (in- & outdoor). The bungalow is cleaned everyday and they spray anti-mosquito spray while you're having dinner, so you can have a good rest at the end of a lovely day doing just nothing at all!
> the service: the European staff is doing everything they can to make your stay as comfortable as possible, they are always available (I needed a doctor in the middle of the night and they were awake in no time, with a smile) and they do have a sufficient level of English (unlike some other reviews are mentioning)
> the premises: they only have 14 bungalows so rest and tranquillity is guaranteed - taking into account that there are 3 nice pools available (but I must admit, only the ones around the restaurant are used - the 3rd one is in the spa area) - the garden is well maintained, the restaurant has a great view and cosy interior and the beach might be maybe a little bit less attractive to sunbath but compare to a lot of other hotels/resorts we have seen from the sea, it's a real white sand beach and the part without seaweed if pretty huge. Going to Zanzibar, you should know it's quite impossible to swim in the sea though, as it is filled with sea urchins at the bottom and it's not deep enough at low tide but that's pretty much the same case for the whole of Zanzibar.
> excursions: we are avid snorkellinglovers (we went already to the Seychelles, Maldives, Caraibes, Great Barrier Reef in Australia, Perhentian islands in Malaysia etc) and I must say, the reef around the island is one is one of the better ones (the diversity is great). We once went snorkelling with the speedboat of the diving school (3 hours, two 'dives') but we also rented a private boat (only 70$ for 7 hours, booked in the hotel) and this was great: we could stay as long as we wanted in the reef, no hassle, no stress and afterwards they took us to a gorgeous sandbank - absolutely stunning!!
> food: the breakfast and fresh juices are just magnificent! + because it was our honeymoon, they arranged us a super romantic dinner on the beach with millions of candles

Some little remarks you should take into account:
> The African staff is really really friendly, doing everything to help you but sometimes it's hard to communicate with them (some of them don't speak sufficient English) but hey, this still is Africa and these people come from villages around the resort, which provides them work & a better future (the area around the resort is really poor)
> Plenty of choice if you want a massage, but they are a little hard (either you like or not)
> Lunch/dinner: quality of the food is perfect but the choice is limited (one menu per day where you can choose between fish or meat) - it was perfect for us, but I can imagine that some prefer to have a small a la carte menu + the wine-list is quite limited
> There is no area - except for your private terrace or the restaurant - to have drinks before/after dinner

But overall, we had a wonderful stay in this resort + special thanks to Philip for everything he did (and the entertainment;-)) !!

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at Green and Blue for 4 nights. Despite the fact that the bungalows are nicely made, everything else is below average. First of all when we arrived at 10.30pm there was noone at reception and a security guy was sleeping on a chair at reception. That's not really a warm welcome. But our biggest surprise was when we woke up the next morning with view on a beach invaded by seaweeds. There are seaweeds at low and high tide and as it has been said in other reviews it is impossible to swim in the sea. Whatever the manager can say, after going around the island we saw many beautifully maintained beaches, with no seaweeds or where seaweeds where collected. So it is really not the right place if you want to enjoy the sea and the beach. The waitors are nice and they try their best but they seriously lack training in the most basic tasks. The level of English of the European staff and local staff is very limited so communication is not easy. Plus for some obscure reason (or maybe just because they are not professional!) the manager kept on talking to us in Italian, lovely language, but language we don't speak .....
For the first breakfast we found ants in the fruits that were served.
To summarised this place is clearly overprices and there are beautiful places in Zanzibar where one can stay..... never again in Green and Blue!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green and Blue Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green and Blue Ocean Lodge

Also Known As:
Green And Blue Ocean Lodge Matemwe, Zanzibar
Address: Kigomani, Matemwe PO Box 4749, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge GREEN AND BLUE in the northeast of the spice island ofZanzibar is placed so that your gaze wanders over the turquoise waterof the vast bay and rests on the small island of Mnemba. Characterisedby its lush, tropical garden, the Ocean Lodge nestles right on theIndian Ocean, separated from it by a powder-fine, sandy white beach.The lodge forms part of a typical local fishing village. This may appear very simple and basic to our “civilised” eye. Tourists can expect scenes they won’t see anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Green and Blue Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green and Blue Ocean Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.