We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay.....Beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green and Blue Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Green and Blue Ocean Lodge to your Saves list
Green and Blue Ocean Lodge
Kigomani, Matemwe PO Box 4749, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay.....Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed only 2 nights at Green & Blue and could of happily stayed more.
The staff and managers are friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and we had an amazing dinner on the beach, Our waiter spent at least an hour digging out holes to place candles and make it beautiful, there were easily 50 candle all around us in such a perfect setting, was very romantic and they went to a lot of trouble for us.
We had the choice of 3 pools and we were never sharing it with any other guests, we really had a perfect relaxing treat.
Our only issue was the fan in the bungalow was a bit noisy. Everything else perfect, I usually don't like to go back to the same place twice as i like to explore other things, but i would break my rule for this place!
Thank-you Green & Blue!

Room Tip: Only issue was the noise from the fan. Otherwise bungalow was exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    18
    2
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

we stayed 2 nights over the New Year 2013...we loved every minute of our stay,The breakfast was beautiful fresh fruits,all type of teas were available ,the view was AMAZING frm the pool which was right near our the breakfast table.....The staff were proffesional,sweet and friendly,the rooms where perfect cleaned,mosquito sprayed,the shower soaps,and shampoo was about 20 of them no need to call housekeeping for more shower jell or shampoo,towels were clean and enough ,we had dinner the first night we arrived the food was amazing,although i wish i had a bit more chips the portion was small,but couldnt complain because it was delicious....the second day we had lunch and we request to have the Zanzibar special since im from Tanzania so i ask what i would love to eat and he made exactly what i wanted which was rice with coconut fish,with salad ....it was perfect......Overall we were very SATISFIED with our stay at Green and Blue............

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perl, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at Green and Blue and loved every minute of it! The food was outstanding throughout, great breakfast too. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful and in a very relaxed but professional way made us feel at home.The rooms are very good. We had the beachfront bungalow but the ones a little further back are also very nice. Although the place is new, the garden looks fully grown and is just beautiful wherever you look. 3 superb pools and a lovely nice wellness/massage area and a restaurant with a memorable view. Highly recommendable place to stay when visiting Zanzibar and from all we could see, certainly the very best in Matemwe!

Room Tip: Both the beachfont bungalows as well as the ones a little further back are loveley. If you prefer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were overall very satisfied with our stay at Green and Blue. We spent five days here and loved every one of them.

We have divided our review into two sections, one about the hotel and one about Zanzibar in general.

Hotel:
+ Great swimming pool area (3 pools, also own spa)
+ Beautiful garden
+ Good sized private bungalows with balcony
+ Great service (best we ever had!)
+ Good restaurant with fair prices (don't worry, menu changes every day)
- Not a private beach (many locals use it)

Overall it is the best hotel we have stayed at. It offers a superb combination of fantastic scenery, great area to relax in and impeccable service. It is a small resort so you get a "personal touch", but it still offers privacy (it is not like you have to eat dinner with all the other guests if you don't want to),

Just a few other things to be aware of (we didn't consider these to be any issue, but it might be good to know):
* There is very little going on in walking distance from the resort, i.e. be prepared to spend the majority of your time at the resort. There are, however, ample opportunities to go on trips (diving, spice tours, Stone town etc.)
* The resort is located practically inside the local village. Not that you notice it in any way (high walls around).
* There are no signs of any kind showing the way to the resort. If you arrange your own transport, you will probably need to have a local guide you to it.

Zanzibar in general
Just a few notes about Zanzibar in general as a travel location.
* The beaches are pristine, but the water is full of seaweed and shallow. It is, in our opinion, not a the best choice for a "beach lover" as you'll find more beautiful beaches other places
* Don't expect ample shopping opportunities. Shopping will be mainly limited to local arts and crafts
* We found Stone town to be a bit overrated. It is not especially beautiful (was maybe 100 years ago) and it is a bit dull. We spent one day and that was plenty.
* TIA - This Is Africa. Expect poor roads, daily power outage and that everything moves in Africa time (but that's the charm)

Room Tip: Not that much difference between beach front and garden front rooms. None are actually "on"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Perfect 5 days stay. Peaceful resort. Exceptionnal food. Dedicated and friendly staff. Quiet and relaxing place. VeryNice swimming pools
Excellent snorkeling 20 mn from the resort organised with the management or directly with the fisherman.
For the kids : Swimming pools/ beach/ snorkelling/Our five years son prepared a pizza with the chef, an excellent cook and amazing educator
We highly recommand Green and Blue.
bravo!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed 5 days at Green and Blue and were very impressed. The hotel is perfect for those looking for a peacful holiday away from tourist crowds. The highlight for us was the food and service of the lovely local staff and we felt so relaxed after our stay.

The hotel is in a fishing village and although going in the sea was not possible because of the amount of seaweed on the beach at the time we went (Nov) and because of the tides, it was wonderful to observe the fishermen community at work. If you are looking for the ideal sandy beach then you might want to consider the more touristy Nungwi in the North. But if you want peace and quiet this is the place. The hotel were very good at arranging day trips for us to Nungwi and snorkling trips nearby.

Overall we highly recommend Green and Blue Lodge, especially for those wishing to experience local culture and life as well as find peace of mind and privacy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I must admit that very nice location with beautiful view of ocean that makes very nice first impression but only this. Unfortunatelly - poor equiped room: no radio, no tv, additional bed - just old and uncomfortable, no wardrobe. As well bathroom disappointed me. In the night the only thing You can do - is go to sleep. No additional entertainment, no possibility to go even for a walk (danger). Very friendly and attentive staff, good restaurant - that's all. Recommended ONLY for person who looks calm, silence, relax. Definitly NOT for families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel B, General Manager at Green and Blue Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
FAMILIES STAYING AT GREEN & BLUE

Hello Martha!

We are always happy to get feedback from our guests concerning our service & infrastructure.
Only this helps us to improve – makes sure we not rest and keeps us moving forward. As we are now just celebrating our 1st anniversary, we are still young as a team and always ready to learn.

To answer to your impressions:

Families who wish to spend quality time together away from the distraction of daily life are going to be happy at Green & Blue. If you are looking for animation programs for children – this we do not believe in.

As a small unit children can move freely in the compound. Cooking with the chef, trips to the village with staff, movie night or football with the neighborhood children has made the stay memorable for most families …

We are sorry you were not fully informed & in future we will watch out that our guided tours of the lodge also cover this subject.

OUR FAMILY OFFER

- We have 2 additional single beds in the upstairs lounge area (every room) which can either be arranged as a living room or bedroom.
- There is no TV but free high speed wireless internet in every room
- Free babysitting & special children´s menu Children’s reef shoes, life wests, floats are available – free of charge
- Children enjoy free accommodation up to the age of 8 – free lunch & dinner up to the age of 4

Thank you again for your feedback!
Kind Regards,

Nicole Kanz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
7.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#3 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#5 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sunshine Marine Lodge
Sunshine Marine Lodge
#2 of 5 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 stars 84 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 5 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
17.4 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 148 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green and Blue Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green and Blue Ocean Lodge

Address: Kigomani, Matemwe PO Box 4749, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Lodge GREEN AND BLUE in the northeast of the spice island ofZanzibar is placed so that your gaze wanders over the turquoise waterof the vast bay and rests on the small island of Mnemba. Characterisedby its lush, tropical garden, the Ocean Lodge nestles right on theIndian Ocean, separated from it by a powder-fine, sandy white beach.The lodge forms part of a typical local fishing village. This may appear very simple and basic to our “civilised” eye. Tourists can expect scenes they won’t see anywhere else. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Green and Blue Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green And Blue Ocean Lodge Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green and Blue Ocean Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.