We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Panga Chumvi Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Panga Chumvi Beach Resort to your Saves list
Panga Chumvi Beach Resort
Matemwe | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 5 Matemwe B&B and Inns
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I had an excellent one day stay at Panga Chumvi in March 2013. The setting is incredible--white sand, dramatic tidal changes, magical sunrise. I was able to take long walks on the beach and felt incredibly safe. The staff at the resort was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious. It was a very chill place to spend some time decompressing after my work trip.

Room Tip: I chose a room that was on the cheaper side--and was really only footsteps away from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    16
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
36
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was so pleased I found Panga Chumvi... it was the perfect spot to retreat to after climbing Kilimanjaro. I liked the idea of a beach-front room but instead chose one of the rooms in the Mchanga Mdogo Villa as it was stylish, very spacious and had lovely views overlooking the garden and the sea. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the place was relaxed and chilled.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Es Salaam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stunning location, beach couldn't be more lovely, sand as white and soft as flour, quiet beach and very few hawkers. Sea not the nicest but not terrible, lots of seaweed where they are farming, and sea urchins, not really the resorts fault. Rooms (we were in the Baharini rooms) two at the front were great, other double tucked away around the side, not quite what you expect. Rooms nicely furnished, water in the showers not particularly heated and salty. Great ceiling fan in our room, not as good in the other rooms. If your with people you know, lovely area outside the front of the rooms to relax. The other rooms are tucked away up the side behind the restaurant, not quite what you expect. Help during initial booking phase, couldn't ask for more, totally willing to accomodate and help. Restaurant area, very nice layout and the meals, whilst sometimes the same for lunch and dinner, were fine, nice seafood and great Zanzibar coconut curry sauces and chips. Breakfasts were the same every day, with only tiny variations, this lets the resort down, as some imagination can go a long way to something different every so often.
What lets the place down is the total lack of ice, refrigeration and cold drinks, as well as the lack of stock. Within a few hours, our party of 11 had drunk what remained of the beers in their stock bar a few, and it took some time to express that they need better stocks, and COLD drinks and ICE and lots of it. Once we had got over this hurdle which took a few days, things got better, and we got into a bit of a system, and we also accepted that this was not going to be perfect and got on with our holiday.
Teething problems with staff whose customer skills were a bit sultry to start with, were sorted out and again we tried to get on with our holiday.
Over all, location wise, amazing, Rebecca you were helpful and kind for which we thank you. What lets the place down is the drinks, ice, refrigeration and stocks which we depleted with alarming regularity.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangaChumvi, Owner at Panga Chumvi Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Many thanks for your helpful review! I do believe we have managed to address all your points raised, and we really appreciated your ‘on-the-spot’ suggestions. We realised rapidly when your group arrived that the supplies of ice and beer were not coming rapidly enough – and so found ways to supply this. It was a good challenge for us, and we really appreciated your forthright discussions at the time which helped us to deliver to your needs, which in turn helped us provide a better service for other guests!
In mid January, our new big freezer arrived, after the delay of the container carrying it (and other useful kitchen items). This means ice is no longer an issue, and beer cooling is easier and swifter!
I am a bit surprised that you mention the water not being hot enough, as our solar water heaters produce daily quantities of steaming hot water which is mixed at the shower tap point. These have been checked over several times since you left and we are confident they are working excellently. Next time, do let us know immediately if there is anything not quite up to your expectations and then we can immediately address it, as our guests comfort is really important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed in a beachfront room in Panga Chumvi in January 2013. First of all our room actually included two rooms and shower with hot water. More importantly we had a huge terrace stretching all the way to the relatively quiet beach of Matemwe. Right next to the terrace there was a grove with hammocks in the shade of palm trees. In other words, essentially it was the kind of picturesque tropical paradise one usually sees in postcards. In addition to the beautiful setting, the staff was very friendly and helpful even coming to ask for lunch and dinner orders from us making it possible for us to only concentrate on relaxing. The rooms were tidied up every day while every night the mosquito net was lowered without us ever even bumping into the people providing these services. The owner, Rebecca was also very nice helping us to arrange a snorkelling trip with a local service provider, Ali. The restaurant provided a nice breakfast although the quality of lunch and dinner varied and were rather expensive.

All in all, we highly recommend Panga Chumvi for those wanting to relax and chill out in peace and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Amazing location on Matemwe Beach and the staff as well as Rebecca, the English co-owner did a magnificent job of making our stay special. The food is good but portions a bit small compared to nearby restaurants.

A wonderful place to stay and enjoy Zanzibar!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

After spending 5 hectic weeks on the mainland of Africa staying no longer than 2 nights at any one place we have planned a 5 day stay on one of the less visited beaches of Zanzibar. Matemwe and the Panga Chumvi turns out to be the prefect place. It is a slower time of the year and there are only 3 or 4 of the rooms rented out. Our room is right on the beach with a huge deck, a spare room which we use as a staging area for our daily outings, a large washroom and a comfy bed. There is no AC but leaving the windows open provides enough ventilation to make for a comfortable sleeping temperature.

There is no pool, which if one did existed would add to the nightly rate but the swimming right out the front door is good at high tide. The water warms when the tide is low, if you swim as the tide rises it is like swimming in a warm tub. I do not carry a thermometer but my guess is the water is about 29 or 30C.

If you just want to loaf around there are a number of hammocks in the yard that provide a perfect venue for a snooze or reading a good book.

If you dive there are a couple of dive shops about a 25 minute walk down the beach. We dove with One Ocean and although the boats carry a lot of people they keep the dive groups small. We never had more than 4 folks with us. If you are interested in our diving there and other things Africa visit our non profit blog at http://havecarryonwilltravel.com.

There is a good wifi connection in the restaurant/bar area. We used that area a lot just to hang out and were only politely asked, never hassled, if we needed a drink. The food in the restaurant is good. We ate there every morning and 3 of the evenings of our stay. We did have one questionable dish, we ordered the beef for dinner it was very tough and we did not enjoy it much. This was however the exception and we did like the other food we had here. You have a choice of main dishes and if you tell the folks in advance what time you intend on arriving the meal will be ready when you get there.

Rebecca and her staff are absolutely wonderful. The two young people at the restaurant/bar are happy, chatty, and interesting. They want nothing more than to make you happy. They seem to be interested in we are up to each day and in our life back home. Rebecca was always available; she never hid in an office. At least once a day she came to where we were sitting and asked to make sure we were in need of nothing.

If you are going to visit Matemwe stay at the Panga Chumvi.

Room Tip: We liked the room on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Rebecca's running a fantastic place in a fantastic location and supported by fantastic staff!

The hotel is located on the beach and we stayed in the sea facing rooms that open straight on to the beach. The rooms are simple, clean and with hot water. The beach in Matemwe is a gorgeous stretch of soft, white sand. The beach is not busy with other tourists which was great. The waters were warm and inviting with not much seaweed; however lots of sea urchins around so ensure you've got good footwear if you're intending to go out on a reef walk.

The food is also great, with good portions and decent variety for even vegeterians. Wifi is available. There's various activities that can be arranged either from the hotel or from operators on the beach. Mudday operates close to the hotel and runs reasonably priced and professional tours. There's also a dive centre 15 min walk away.

Highly recommended!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Panga Chumvi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Panga Chumvi Beach Resort

Address: Matemwe | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Panga Chumvi Beach Resort, Matemwe, on the north eastern coast of Zanzibar, is right on the beautiful white sand beach (the longest unbroken stretch of beach in Zanzibar), opposite the pristine coral reef of Mnemba Island. We have 15 simple and stylishly comfortable rooms - in 4 guest lodges. Each room faces out on to its own wide veranda, has a sea or a tropical garden view, and is furnished with traditional hand-crafted coconut wood furniture. Our restaurant overlooks the beach. We love eating fresh, local produce and tasty Zanzibar cuisine, so this is what our chefs prepare for you, when you want it throughout the day. We love both vegetarian and non-vegetarian dishes. Fresh fruit smoothies and cocktails a speciality. We have a good selection of wine, spirits and Tanzanian beers. Staff helpful and friendly. Developing our already close relationship with Matemwe village, we are working towards becoming an eco resort which is very environmentally and culturally aware. Sea views, tropical garden, wi-fi – stunning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Panga Chumvi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panga Chumvi Beach Resort Matemwe, Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Panga Chumvi Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.