We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, food and ambience fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seles Beach Bar and Restaurant

Seles Beach Bar and Restaurant
Matemwe Beach, Matemwe, Tanzania
255 777 413449
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Matemwe
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Kitwe, Zambia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place, food and ambience fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Food was great, different from where we were staying and well made. Ambience was brilliant and the waiters fantastic,cold drinks, plenty of them, lots of ice and quick service. Best New Years night in ages and we went with my 62 year old mum and 12 year old step son and we all had a fantastic night. We took some of our own Champagne and they chilled it for us. Over all great place to eat, we ended up going there several times.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    16
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

It takes a little while to get the food, but it is absolutely worth it ! we ate here for lunch one day, and dinner another, the best food we had on zanzibar by far !!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We dove with the dive shop next door and ate lunch here each day we dove. The food is great and the prices are very reasonable. (Their neighbour was much more expensive.)
We visited Matemwe during a slow time and we were often the only patrons. So we took our choice of seating which was on the second floor deck overlooking the water. There is a nice breeze that helped to moderate the heat.
The staff is very polite and attentive but not overbearing. They were there if needed but not bugging you with 'Is the food alright? or How is your drink?'
My favorite lunch was the chapatti with cheeze and bolognese sauce, my wife liked the burgers. Both were around 12,000 Tsh (about $8 US).
We write about Matemwe and elsewhere in our non profit blog at http://havecarryonwilltravel.com.
We went back several times and each time the experience was great. Try this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Reliably great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We visited Seles several times during our most recent trip to Zanzibar on account of the good vegetarian selection, the reasonable and the friendly atmosphere. The seafood was always cooked well, the currys are nicely flavoured and the chefs were happy to modify meals if you asked. The selection of ice creams and chocolate bars are an added bonus and we regularly stocked up so that we had a supply back at our hotel. A great, safe bet if you're eating in Matemwe!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best in Matemwe....by some considerable margin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

If you are staying in Matemwe you dont have a lot of choice for places to eat but we think Seles is a gem, made brighter by the comparable quality of the food coming from the surrounding hotels. We came for lunch every day. A plate of jumbo prawns with rice, vegetables, salad or chips was $10 and was very good indeed. Especially in the coconut sauce. The squid and octopus cooked in local spices were also excellent. Somebody else's burger looked equally appetising but we were there for the fresh fish cooked on demand. Much cheaper and better than the surrounding hotels. Its very much a beach restaurant so dont go expecting something chic but if you are looking for something better than whatever your hotel can muster then look no further than Seles.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seles Beach Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Michamvi, Zanzibar
 

Been to Seles Beach Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seles Beach Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.