We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Matemwe....by some considerable margin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seles Beach Bar and Restaurant

Seles Beach Bar and Restaurant
Matemwe Beach, Matemwe, Tanzania
255 777 413449
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Matemwe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best in Matemwe....by some considerable margin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

If you are staying in Matemwe you dont have a lot of choice for places to eat but we think Seles is a gem, made brighter by the comparable quality of the food coming from the surrounding hotels. We came for lunch every day. A plate of jumbo prawns with rice, vegetables, salad or chips was $10 and was very good indeed. Especially in the coconut sauce. The squid and octopus cooked in local spices were also excellent. Somebody else's burger looked equally appetising but we were there for the fresh fish cooked on demand. Much cheaper and better than the surrounding hotels. Its very much a beach restaurant so dont go expecting something chic but if you are looking for something better than whatever your hotel can muster then look no further than Seles.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    20
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good quality meals, reasonably priced for the area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We visited Seles twice while we were staying at a hotel nearby. Our first visit was for lunch after snorkelling with the dive centre next door. We shared a plate of chips and a spinach chapatti, with a fresh juice and a beer. We finished lunch off with an ice cream and a chocolate bar.

The second visit was for dinner on our last night. One of us had grilled prawns and the other a vegetable curry. We finished by sharing bananas cooked in cardamom, cinnamon and coconut milk.

We were very pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food, especially given that the quality was quite a bit higher than our hotel, yet prices were similar. There was a great selection for vegetarians, and the wait for the food (characteristic of most places we've been) reassured us it was all freshly made. It's not a place to go for a formal dinner - we watched the Olympics while we ate, but the relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff made it just what we wanted.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“well worth a trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

whislt staying at Sunshine hotel we visited Seles for Dinner (1 x starter, 2 x main, 3 x beer, 3 x soft drink $38) quite a bit cheaper than other hotels in the area. The service was very slow but we didnt mind as this was in most places we visited. staff were all friendly and one even walked us back to sunshine (at our request) and it felt perfectly safe along the beach at night.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“FUN!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Nice food, and fun atomsphere. Great place to go chill out at the end of the day. Food is also very tasty.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar Island, Tanzania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Place to hang out ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is the place to hang out in when in Matemwe!
Pub style with great burgers and an excellent catch of the day offer. Loud music & TV!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seles Beach Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Michamvi, Zanzibar Island
 
Stone Town, Zanzibar City
 

Been to Seles Beach Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seles Beach Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.