We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, intimate place - would go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Hotel Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added Sunshine Hotel Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunshine Hotel Zanzibar
P.O. Box 4749, Matemwe 4749, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Matemwe B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, intimate place - would go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is beautiful - the rooms and facilities (2 small pools, lots of sunbeds etc) are immaculate and the service very personal. Attention to detail (such as hats & beach bag provided in the room) was fantastic.

Great simple breakfast, but otherwise over-priced food. We walked 10 minutes down the beach each evening to Selous bungalows' bar & restaurant, which was much more reasonable and had a more relaxed atmosphere. It was MUCH more expensive to organise trips from here than from Stone Town, so do some serious haggling (on Matemwe beach we were quoted ~8x the price we actually paid from Stone Town to do the dolphin snorkling).

One final thing to note is that swimming is restricted to high tide at Matemwe (and even then we didn't feel comfortable going out more than ~10m), otherwise there are too many sea urchins around. The hotel do provide shoes to protect your feet from them, but apparently they still hurt through the shoes!

Overall though, it is an idyllic spot and luxury hotel - would definitely visit again.

(We stayed for 4 nights, early June 2013, as a couple)

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    132
    46
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
117
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Majorca, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights after visiting a couple of National Parks and it was truly magnificent! The rooms, the restaurant, the pool, everything is well maintained and clean. The managers were also very helpful. The white sandy beach of Matemwe is very scenic and exotic. After reading some of the reviews I guess they apparently exchanged cooks because we really enjoyed the food. In all, Sunshine Hotel is the perfect place to relax and breath in the atmosphere of beautiful Zanzibar!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We visited sunshine hotel after safari in Oeganda.
Rooms are very beautiful and service was excellent. Restaurant is good with one day BBQ evening. Excursions are a little overpriced, so we did our trips with locals from the beach.
A place to chill

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

On the good side, the rooms were really lovely and very relaxing.I couldn't have asked for more to be honest. I loved the fact that there was no AC and I felt like the rooms were the perfect temperature. The soap provided was absolutely luxurious! And there were bikes free to be used by guests - although none of these had a child carrier on them.

The staff were very friendly, but I felt tension between the staff and management. I felt like some of the actions of the management - for example the nightly "how's it going" rounds at supper time - to feel rather forced. I also took the option of half board - which was to come with breakfast and a 4 course supper. One night I got 3 courses and the other night I got 2. Weird stuff. In addition to all this, I ended up getting an earache caused by using too much chemicals in the pool. Ouch. You should also note that there is some serious seaweed farming happening off Matemwe beach and this means that the sea isn't really useful for swimming; that being said, the hotel does have two pools.

I feel awful giving this review after seeing so many other positive reviews, but really this place just wasn't for me. I guess I just feel that, for the price, I could have got something better. I think the management would do well to make sure their staff are well treated and fairly paid.

Room Tip: Definitely choose one of the second floor rooms! We were in room 2, which was lovely but there was o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshi, Tanzania
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

A small Hotel on a great piece of beach only 15 rooms with almost 1:1 staff guest ratio it seems at times. All the staff great you at first site each day and nothing seems a problem. The main restaurant area has a a second floor with a small library and toys with seating alcove style.

There are 2 pools with the bigger having 4 levels suitable for non swimmers and young children the beach side pool has a seating ledge so you can watch the busy beach life. There are no real beach touts only a maasi selling his trinkits and a boat trip seller, which most guests use at some time to snorkel at the the nearby island. Whilst we were there dolphions were sighted most days.

The hotel is compact with landscaped tropical gardens giving plenty of privacy.

The rooms are all good being doubles which can be converted to triple. We were the only family and having younger children the bedroom arrangement was fine. If you have older children you will need to think about booking extra rooms. Fresh bottles of water are provided daily as well as a daily maid service and evening turn down. Each room has fans and that is enough if they are kept on all day to help keep the room cooler for the night. the sea breeze also helps. There is also a small bolted down room safe.

The food is plentiful with Breakfast consisting of fresh fruits cut to order, breads and fresh pressed juice and French press coffee and fresh tea. and a choice of cooked eggs. There is a regular snack menu of bolognaise, breaded chicken fingers, fresh salads, steak etc. The portions are usually enough for 2 Fruit is available free all day. Dinner is always different with a range of local and fish and seafood such as Marlin, Tuna, and occasionally octopus, squid etc.

One downside that some people think is the high cost of food is a negative point bue food is well cooked and the portions are pretty big, we shared each portion between 2 most meals.

The Hotel is perfect for couples, however if you have children make sure you bring some activities, mind you my kids played in the pool or on the beach most of the time.

There is free wifi and the signal is good although the service is dependent on the internet link from outside the hotel.

All in all a great place.

Room Tip: First floor have good views, but staircase access from the back of the room Ground floor have bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The sunshine hotel is a beautiful hotel in a fabulous location with very friendly staff, wonderful rooms and a magnificent view over the ocean.
A very nice hotel where we had the most amazing meal in their restaurant.
We also ordered room service and the food was delightful.
Loved every minute and I could not have been happier with our stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar Es Salaam
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you're looking for a small intimate hotel on the beach in Zanzibar, this is for you. The hotel feels like a private enclave. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff are friendly, especially Katya at reception.
Snorkeling and diving are available close by and there a 2 great pools if you just want to chill. The food at the restaurant is good, but I agree with other reviewers that it is a little expensive. Also good wifi if you really need to check your emails while drinking cocktails.
Overall we loved our time there. Only downsides were the slightly disappointing water pressure in the shower, and the loud call to prayer that woke us up early in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunshine Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel Zanzibar

Address: P.O. Box 4749, Matemwe 4749, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunshine Hotel is a 16 room, beach hotel, located in Matemwe on the north-east coast of Zanzibar. Eco friendly, stylish and cozy, carefully designed by professional designers, creates a unique chill-out ambiance to make you feel happy and relaxed. Set right on the unspoiled white sandy beach, lined with palm trees and washed by warm, turquoise waters of Indian Ocean, it's a perfect gateway from everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sunshine Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Zanzibar Matemwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Hotel Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.