We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet warm and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunshine Hotel Zanzibar

Save Saved
You added Sunshine Hotel Zanzibar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunshine Hotel Zanzibar
P.O. Box 4749, Matemwe 4749, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Matemwe B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Quiet warm and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The sunshine hotel is a beautiful hotel in a fabulous location with very friendly staff, wonderful rooms and a magnificent view over the ocean.
A very nice hotel where we had the most amazing meal in their restaurant.
We also ordered room service and the food was delightful.
Loved every minute and I could not have been happier with our stay!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    47
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
33
120
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dar Es Salaam
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you're looking for a small intimate hotel on the beach in Zanzibar, this is for you. The hotel feels like a private enclave. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff are friendly, especially Katya at reception.
Snorkeling and diving are available close by and there a 2 great pools if you just want to chill. The food at the restaurant is good, but I agree with other reviewers that it is a little expensive. Also good wifi if you really need to check your emails while drinking cocktails.
Overall we loved our time there. Only downsides were the slightly disappointing water pressure in the shower, and the loud call to prayer that woke us up early in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We've been in Sunshine in January, and had a fantastic room overlooking the sea With its perfect postcard beach with white sands and palm tree, it looked like the paradise (or what we think of it). The service was great, the breakfast nice; we also ate two times at the restaurant in the evening and that was the only (little) disappointing point of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hotel is beautiful and the perfect place to relax and forget about all the stresses of every day life at home! The food is quite overpriced in my opinion for what it is, but the staff was fantastic and overall this is a great place to relax. The beach was pretty (although the Kendwa Rocks beach is more stunning and picturesque) and the atmosphere was very mellow here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We really loved the peace and quiet of the Sunshine Hotel, along with the beautiful setting. We found the management to be very attentive and engaged in running the hotel, and yet at the same time personable and friendly with the guests. The staff as a whole were very good - well run place. I saw one of the reviews that indicated they were not happy the managers walked their dogs on the beach, but we found them to be friendly, very well behaved pets that did not get in the way of guests at all, and quite frankly thought it actually added to the family style atmosphere.

The pool was kept clean, as were the lawn and beach chairs. The food was particularly good - we had some of our nicer meals here, and it was great to just hang out at the restaurant bar and have a few cocktails looking out over the beach.

As to the rooms, we had #1 and #2 on the second floor in the cabin near reception. Our biggest concern when we booked was "no air conditioning", but we were assured there would be a nice ocean breeze and it would be ok, and it was. They have 3 fans in each room, but it was a bit warm - not unbearable, but a bit warm. This is the only reason I hit 4 star instead of 5 star in my rating. Outside of that, the rooms were big enough, with nice balconies to sit out on and take in the view, the sunset, etc.

Regarding the snorkling, we went with one of the guys on the beach who offered us a trip at a lower cost than the more expensive organized outings, and it was perfectly fine. We checked in with management first to be sure it was safe, and they vouched for them so we did it and saved ourselves some money. We went out to Mnemba atoll and the snorkling was great - really nice spot.

If I ever go back to Zanzibar, I would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the beach so that you get the most breeze possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Sunshine Hotel is located right on Matemwe beach which is a beautiful long beach where you can make beautiful walk. We chose the Seabreeze suite and even if it is a little bit more expensive it really worth it.
We had had our private jacuzzi on the the terrace and our private access to the beach.
The food was ok! I loved the pancakes! I would not suggest the full or half board plan.
Everything in the hotel was perfect; we could rent bicycle and snorkeling equipment.
We were just a little bit disaapointed with the sea temperature that was incredibly warm and not so pleasant to bath in.
And we expected matemwe a little bit more crowded with bars and restaurant, but in the evening the beach was quite desert

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here after leaving a more budget hotel in Stonetown and even though the setting and hotel was beautiful we found that it lacked a bit of character compared to the cheaper, smaller hotel we had come from. The other guests staying here were probably mostly honeymooners so the vibe was a bit quiet and subdued. The food was expensive but the smoothies and cocktails were delicious and sipping them on the white beach was dreamlike. The room was gorgeous and the pool was stunning. The beach was fantastic as was the bright blue sea and scenery. Overall, a beautiful hotel, friendly, helpful staff but quite expensive and you'd really just want to be going for a very quiet, sun worshiping stay cause that's all you'll find here.

Room Tip: I had a downstairs room, near the back of the ground and while it was beautiful, an upstairs room ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunshine Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Hotel Zanzibar

Address: P.O. Box 4749, Matemwe 4749, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunshine Hotel is a 16 room, beach hotel, located in Matemwe on the north-east coast of Zanzibar. Eco friendly, stylish and cozy, carefully designed by professional designers, creates a unique chill-out ambiance to make you feel happy and relaxed. Set right on the unspoiled white sandy beach, lined with palm trees and washed by warm, turquoise waters of Indian Ocean, it's a perfect gateway from everyday life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sunshine Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Hotel Zanzibar Matemwe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunshine Hotel Zanzibar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.