We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service and atmosphere we experienced in Zanzibar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sele's Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Sele's Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sele's Bungalows
Matemwe Beach | P.O. Box 3215 Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best service and atmosphere we experienced in Zanzibar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in Seles in December 2012 and we enyoyed immensely. Seles and his staff are extremely nice and helpful, food is fantastic, the best juice I have had in ages for breakfast. The beach in Kendwa, where we also stayed is much better, but our best memories in this trip are from Seles thanks to how well this place is managed. Staff also seem to be very happy and care genuinly about customers, which we didnt see in other places in Zanzibar.

The rooms are a bit basic, perfect for us, but if you cant enjoy a place without a TV in the room and fully stocked mini bar, look for another place.

Our thanks to them for making this holiday so special. Stay here and enjoy the atmosphere!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    19
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
37
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at Sele's for four nights in July... the rooms are clean and what you would expect for the price, but what realy sets them apart is their wonderful, relaxed bar/restaurant. Every time we tried to eat someplace else we were disappointed.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

food is good yes, small bar is nice but bungalow to small, dirty sheets mine had some blood spots...so value to expensive for the quality and no coffee before 8h00...didn t like too narrow spot, i much prefer jambiani beach!!!!!!

Room Tip: jambiani beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at Sele's for 4 nights at the beginning of October 2012. It was the most wonderful relaxing vasation spot! The food is some of the best we've had in the continent (don't miss the jumbo prawns with coconut sauce), and the rooms are really good value for money. We also stayed in a few other places in Nungui (Northern part of the island), and while there were more attractions in general, we had a much better time relaxing in Matemwe. The only downside of the area is that there's seaweed on the beach, and it gets in the way of your initial perception of a paradise beach, but you forget about it soon enough. Also, anyone looking for an upbeat area with lots of other tourists - go elswhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place was a lovely place with a great chill vibe. Run by an English lady, the food and service were good. We had an open air room on the second floor with two beds and a hammock. Just wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked two nights here but ended up staying five and even then we didn't want to leave.

The staff at Seles make the place - very friendly, there to advise and willing to really go out their way to accommodate. We had some good laughs too. Great lads!

The rooms are very clean, the food is fantastic, the beach is on the doorstep, the diving (which is based next door) was very good and snorkeling with a pod of Dolphins left me speechless.

I'm really looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Clean but cramped accomodation that were more than compensated for by the setting of the bar/restaurant, the cocktails, the fresh and delicious food and the attitude, service and demeanour of the local staff.
By the point of our trip we had run out of cash and as the only ATM's on the island are in Stonetown we were fortunate that they allowed us to give payment to the taxi driver who returned us to Stonetown. Given the frequency of how often ATM's in Stonetown are out of order it would be worthwhile to invest in a credit card machine even if it meant increasing the price of the Crab Curry to 15,000 Tsh !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sele's Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sele's Bungalows

Address: Matemwe Beach | P.O. Box 3215 Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty lodging in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sele's Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sele`s Bungalows Hotel Matemwe
Sele's Bungalows Matemwe, Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sele's Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.