We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Crab Curry on Zanzibar!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sele's Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Sele's Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sele's Bungalows
Matemwe Beach | P.O. Box 3215 Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Crab Curry on Zanzibar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Clean but cramped accomodation that were more than compensated for by the setting of the bar/restaurant, the cocktails, the fresh and delicious food and the attitude, service and demeanour of the local staff.
By the point of our trip we had run out of cash and as the only ATM's on the island are in Stonetown we were fortunate that they allowed us to give payment to the taxi driver who returned us to Stonetown. Given the frequency of how often ATM's in Stonetown are out of order it would be worthwhile to invest in a credit card machine even if it meant increasing the price of the Crab Curry to 15,000 Tsh !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    19
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
37
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed 4 days at Seles in early May '12 and we had simply wonderful time. Extremely clean, comfortable room (we stayed at no1) with warm water, king size bed and decent bathroom. The kitchen at Seles is amazing, we ate there every night, and despite knowing the menu back and forth by the end of our vacation, we would gladly have second rounds on all the dishes. Breakfast is just right, but don't expect buffet style - fruit, juice and eggs. The bar is well equipped and gets lively in the evenings when people from outside drop in from along the beach for drinks. The staff is incredible discreet yet very attentive and smooth - it seemed like "No" is not an answer in Seles. On the top of the bar is a great place to lounge and play board games that are available at the bar.
The beach is virtually at the doorstep, the sand feels like powder sugar, ocean is warm and you get to watch the local villagers getting on with their daily jobs. The only downside is that if you want to go for a swim, you have to catch the high tide, which comes in twice a day. We ended up swimming only in the pm.
Overall, don't expect a big party-time in Seles, it's a romantic place, surely it gets busy in the high season, but definitely no resort-style entertainment. This place is laid back, relaxed & romantic in its simplicity.
We took taxi to the airport for about $40 arranged by the staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zanzibar, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Excellent food, nice rooms, impeccably clean both indoors and outdoors. Nice touch with the greenery and houses to give a very intimate feeling. And who needs a pool when living practically on a beach like this! We came with two small children and had a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

I stayed at Sele's over Easter and it was a perfect retreat to chill out in for a couple of days. I wish more 'hotels' were like this. We stayed in the 'family room' which was absolutely perfect - two double beds - with nets - a little reading area with sea views and a hammock. We couldn't have been happier. Janet the owner is always around for a chat and to provide advice and the staff are friendly and very accommodating. I will be using this as my 'place I always go back to' in Zanzibar from now on (I live in Dar). The food was delicious so we never felt the need to go else where and there is a good array of cocktails etc.

There is a party atmosphere in the evenings - which I wasn't here for - but lots of others enjoyed it.

Matembwe itself is absolutely beautiful - there's not a huge amount going on which is exactly why I choose Matembwe over Kendwa etc. It's the perfect place to go diving from - One Ocean Divers is next door to Sele's, to have a massage on the beach - Sele's can organise - or just to lounge around in one of the hammocks dotted about the place. Sele's have reef walking shoes (highly recommend them as there are sea urgins all over the place when you get further out).

Overall - a great place with a great atmosphere and efficiently run. I'll definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for the family room - it's much bigger than the other rooms and is well ventilated so no nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Do not come here if you want to party: Matemwe is a small, extremely poor village surrounded by a few cloistered hotels. But Sele's is the perfect place to chill out on one of Zanzibar's most beautiful beaches. The beach feels almost private. The water was emerald green and the sand felt like sugar. There were a few locals, including women gathering seaweed in the mornings, but otherwise we saw very few tourists. Swimming is only possible when the tide comes in, but you can hire someone to take you to nearby Mnema Atoll for snorkelling (USD$25 through the hotel). The 10 or so bungalows are small and quiet, with nice porches. They are extremely clean, although the bathroom could use an upgrade. In the middle of the bungalows stands a two-storey outdoor restaurant/bar that services delicious, freshly caught seafood, curries, and the like. There are about 6-8 staff present all day and evening and the service was very good; some of the best we experienced in Tanzania. The owners' friendly dogs will accompany you on strolls on the beach.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We were very pleased to find ourselves staying at what seemed to be the most happening spot on Matemwe Beach! Our sleeping accommodations were small yet totally adequate, but it was the bar/lounge area that really made it all worth it! We enjoyed breakfast every morning on the beautiful upper level lounge, and several delicious dinners below. The ambiance was awesome! At night, people ventured in from down the beach to eat, listen to music, and chat. Despite its lively night scene, the space also lent itself to relaxing, quiet, and romantic evenings. Seles was a lovely place to call home for a couple of days, with very nice owners and a great staff!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Matemwe is really over charged comparing other parts of Zansibar like Paje, where not only the beach is much more beautiful but also for the same price of 60$/night you get a 25qm bungalow with seaview including a design bathroom, free wifi, a swimmingpool, possibility to rent a scouter and so on (for example Cristal Resort, Paje)

Seles's Bungalow is one of the budget options in Matemwe. The food is great, and the dining area always busy. It is not advisable to stay in the rooms upstairs at least as long as there is no warden at night and both properties beside Sele's are still empty. These rooms have no window and someone who can climb a palm tree can easily get in this room. That's what we had to realize when we got stolen! So don't keep any valuables in the room! Sele has a safe!
minus: there is no wifi and you can pay only cash so make sure that you pick up enough money in Stonetown, but store it safe.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sele's Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sele's Bungalows

Address: Matemwe Beach | P.O. Box 3215 Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Specialty lodging in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sele's Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sele`s Bungalows Hotel Matemwe
Sele's Bungalows Matemwe, Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sele's Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.