We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Kigomani, Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Only for TripAdviosr
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Certificate of Excellence
Totnes
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

When you get to the Hotel it's Very Very Good Set on Coral with great views of the Indian Ocean & coral reefs White sands leading to the local fishing village. The one thing that is not easily detailed is the approach to the hotel (From "main" Tarmac road it is a 4 kms transit on of what can only be described as an off-road challenge that takes 20/25 mins to negotiate) So transfer from the Airport to the Hotel takes around an hour, & as such not a very good first impression experience - BUT once in the Hotel you will have a beautiful stay in quite seclusion with excellent service & on site management. Casual smart is the dress code (Forget your Suit & Tie This is Africa).
The Accommodation/rooms are primarily 11 well appointed Lodges large open plan design space, including Sunken Bath, Open shower, twin sinks, Towels Shampoo gels etc, Hair dryer, TV, Fridge, Tea coffee & Bottled water, inside & your own covered outside lounge with Plunge pool and sun patio set in flowery setting.
There is also a secluded self contained House set to the side of the main complex with it's own pool & staff for a secluded family holiday.
The Main Reception, Lounge, Bar & Dinning areas are large airy open areas with local Thatch & wood roof beams. African Dim lighting at night makes for a great intimate feeling in rustic local setting.
At the bottom of the Grounds close to the Sea and Reef there is a nice Pool, Sun beds with Beach towels, a Bar & Dinning area & a Spa just to the side. The beach is accessed by steps onto the coral (you might get feet wet at high tide!).
The beach walk takes you past a few similar private hotels & houses as well as past the local fishing village. The local fishing fleet is something to see it is somewhat basic to say the least! The locals & kids love football and it is played everywhere in the villages & on the beach.
A beautiful place well appointed well worth the stay our only fault would be our transit to the hotel was an experience that we were not expecting. We arrived late evening into Zanzibar & were not informed / aware of the "Zanzibar Massage" final track to the hotel. However once there the Management & Staff made every effort to make our stay they a very pleasant enjoyable stay. This they do in a very friendly natural helpful personal way to all of the guests with a "Nothing is too much trouble" attitude that can only be described as excellent.
The basic ratings card below does the basic but we enjoyed our stay, ask the management for tours and the like & they will organize it for it for you. Make sure the transfer to & from are included and you can pay by card (+4% charge) at the end of your stay.
You will not be disapointed by your stay at the Kasha Boutique Hotel Have a good holiday

Room Tip: All the rooms look good. Have a reasonable view of the Sea & Reef, lower lodges could possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    31
    5
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
133
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Beautiful Villa in great location! The setting was picturesque and the private splash pool at each villa was a real treat.
The villas are really spacious and the decor and design is beautifully traditional.
The food offerings at the pool bar was fantastic (extra cost) and the main restaurant offered a great selection of good food.
This hotel is very exclusive and private and I was impressed overall.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel was a perfect honeymoon spot. Spent 5 days of pure relaxation at this hotel and for Zanzibar the quality of amenities and location were excellent (in particular for snorkelling). It's far from Stone town and in a remote part of the Island so you will be doing all your meals at the hotel but we were pleasantly surprised by the quality. What stood out other than the idyllic location was the service from the couple who run the place. They really stood out for the personal attention they showed us and this ran through to the friendly and efficient service provided by all of the staff. Really a cut above in terms of quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Part of our Tanzanian honeymoon trip was a 4 day sojourn in Zanzibar and this was the perfect spot. Totally secluded and lush beach resort that is fully self contained and offers extreme exclusivity and serenity. The villas are beautiful and designed in a way that offers wonderful luxury. The staff was very attentive, food is good and as we were on our honeymoon they made an extra effort to ensure we got special care. Really beautiful location, albeit the beach is not as white and sandy, but nonetheless crystal clear waters, amazing sunrises, starry starry nights and a wonderful overall experience. the hotel was great at arranging city, snorkelling trips and vey helpful for all matters.

All in love, this beautiful secluded paradise spot was an ideal way for us to round off our honeymoon!

Room Tip: Alll the rooms are lovely with wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kashaboutiquehotel, General Manager at Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
For several s reasons this comment is a full surprise for me, first of all because our hotel is used to have customers which would like to stay longer but unfortunately the airplane is waiting for them and all of this just because they find everything perfect and wonderful. This is the first time somebody wanted to leave before than expected but then again customers are always right and I respect everybody choice and opinion even when I don’t subscribe them.
Then again is admirable the way the tour operator, on a last minute decision, due to PERSONAL reasons of the customers, did manage to find a room and move them, in high season when everything is fully booked, to another hotel for sure more adapt to their need, crowd, festivity and beach party, due to this all it was everybody’s surprise to read that she was not escorted the proper way, the PR Manager together with the rest of the staff, under the General Manager directions, did take full care of them all the way to the taxi which did take them away.
So far everybody did fall in love with our room from the first step in, the usual comment is “WOW” we did see the pictures but this is the first time the reality is better than what is shown on the website, but then again people have different taste……The 2 family we have here just love it and when one of them was told at Zanzibar Airport that, because of the fire at Kenya airport, their plane was cancelled, called us back to see it was possible to return to Kasha and have few more wonderful moments here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at Kasha. We were staying at the sister property in Stone town, and just popped away for the weekend. We were a family and one of the few that were not honeymoon couples but we still felt at home. I was floored by the size of the villas and the beautiful design, and attention to detail. The meals were varied and had really interesting choices. When my daughter got sick, the manager helped us get a Belgian doctor in... Impressive given the size of Matemwe. Also had an amazing experience swimming with the dolphins just in front of the hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

As part of our honeymoon, we had booked 6 nights at Kasha Boutique Hotel. We had a really great stay. On the plus side, this is a small hotel with private villas and clients are mostly couples on honeymoon or just travelling so this is very quiet even around the common swimming pool. The restaurant was very good and especially the bread which was changing every day and is home made. And everything was made so that we could enjoy the time and relax. Our villa was really spacious, more like a suite with a bath and a shower and we were pleasantly surprised to see it nicely decorated with fresh flowers and with a bottle of sparkling wine on arrival. We had a villa with sea view and it is definitely worthwhile as the villas behind face other villas.We could enjoy the mini private pool we had while admiring the view. The spa also is facing the sea and treatments are not that expensive so definitely a must-do. On the minus side, it depends what you are looking for but if you want to party all night that is definitely not the place to be (not enough clients to have a DJ).this was a perfect second half to our honeymoon (first part being 8 days of safari in the Serengeti/Ngorongoro so we would definitely recommend for a honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

You want to know how heaven feels? I spent my best holidays in this classy boutique hotel. Excellent location, amazing final touches at the villas, private splash pools for romantic hours, the very professional trained and friendly staff contributed to the excellent holidays with their friendliness and professionalism.

Room Tip: there are only about 11 villas at the place.. so most you get are 22 people .. its NOT crowed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
18.0 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 145 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
8.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
5.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
8.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 477 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#5 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
9.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel

Address: Kigomani, Matemwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Unique Boutique Hotel in Zanzibar An island that holds a legendary status among travelers as an exotic island paradise blessed with palm fringed shores, timeless fishing villages and lush plantations. Kasha is a boutique hotel situated on the northeast coast of the island surrounded by clear aqua water, access to excursions, and beaches, yet it is very private. It is an intimate hotel for friends, couples and honeymooners that guarantees a peaceful and tranquil holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.