We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to do not very much!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel to your Saves list
Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Kigomani, Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to do not very much!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed here for 7 days after a 5 day safari in Tanzania and achieved all that we wanted to - not much! The staff were all (bar one rather solumn young man) very friendly and helpful and we barely had to lift a finger. The room was exceptionally comfortable and luxurious and very clean. I would suggest the shower could do with a new head but that's about it. The private porch and plunge pool were perfect for the days we didn't feel like leaving our room, and yet as there are so few other villas and guests much of the time the main pool was ours alone as well. The pool was great at the beginning of the week but towards the end of the week for some reason looked a little grotty and may have been as they were closing down for the rainy season. One day we talk a lovely walk out to the reef which made a nice change and also to see some of the marine life (plentiful sea urchins so wear the shoes that the hotel provides!) The food was great, breakfasts were more than sufficient and catered to our every need and the dinners gave a lovely choice of meals which were just the right size and very well presented. Definitely a honeymood retreat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    30
    5
    8
    3
See reviews for
21
129
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Kasha. It is clear that a lot of attention is given to the details - simple elegant decor, delicious food, and private swimming pools when you just don't feel like leaving your cottage. The location is stunning, and my favorite part might be watching the fishing boats pass by one-by-one at the end of the day. It's true, that when the tide is high, there is no beach, but this did not bother us - we just did our beach thing when the tide was low (10ish til 5ish). If 24-hour beach access is essential to you, sure, look elsewhere, but otherwise, I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Fantastic place for a honeymoon. If you have never been to Africa before or only been to the cities (as I had) prepare yourself for another level. This hotel encapsulates the best of what Zanzibar has to offer. The 4 km off road leg of the journey though the villages and serves as a humbling reminder of the real Africa but what awaits behind the orange metal gates is a world away.

We were greeted by the manager who has made sure our stay was perfect. She offered good advice on trips with and without the hotel and was very attentive to all her guests needs. The room was decorated with flowers everywhere, lots of space and a comfy bed in very elegant surroundings. Great place to get away from it all, although they do allow children so its worth checking if you want to avoid that. They made a special effort with the extras for honeymooners which was a nice touch. The the whole environment is the epitome of tranquillity with a nice pool area elevated over the Indian Ocean and a view on Mnemba Atoll, the private patios with plunge pools provided the same stunning view.

Good choice of quality food, especially seafood, a relaxed atmosphere and very friendly staff. there was a good choice of wines at a range of prices. The gardens are well kept with amazing flowers and plants. All in all a truly memorable and pleasurable week.

Room Tip: As it was our honeymoon we went for sea front villa but all the villas have a view of the sea from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

The hotel and the service were great. We had a villa that was lovelly, with a private swiming pool. We enjoyed it a lot, is a really good place to relax. Food is also good, and staff really kind. Only pitty is the beach, its imposible to swim or enjoy due to the tigh and the strong sea. They should include excursions for free snce you cant enjoy the beach. We spent all 4 days on the swimingpool and enjoying our lovely house.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We've just returned from a perfect stay at kasha. The hotel is very remote but just what we were looking for a the end of our trip. The pool area is beautiful, with a stunning view of the atol, and although the beach isnt the best on the island we really enjoyed wondering along it, watch g the scores of local fishermen out on their dhows.The villas are stunning, with gorgeous interiors. having our own deck area and plunge pool made for a really relaxing atmosphere and we really enjoyed having breakfast bought to our deck every morning! The staff could not have made our trip more special wit their friendliness and helpfulness. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

As honeymooners we did appreciate our stay for 6 days at Kasha. Villas are really awesome and food is excellent (even if sometimes service is lazy).
I can say that the young manager is full of consideration to her guests e.g., when i fallen very ill (very bad angina) she immediately sent out her driver dowtown to buy me antibiotics.
Besides, Kasha has an extraordinaire view on the turquoise Indian Ocean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

My comments mirror that of many other reviewers. While this property has nice rooms and decent food, it unfortunately also has many negative aspects which would prevent me from returning. The service in the restaurant is patchy at best, and the cuisine is not of the standard advertised. People were complaining that they were waiting lengthy periods to be served. There was a distinct air of 'unmet expectations' at each mealtime.

The hotel's location in a remote part of Zanzibar means you are driven through some of the worst poverty-stricken villages I have seen anywhere in the world to get there. This means that unless you want to walk along the beach, there is nowhere to go for a walk unless you don't mind being chased around by villagers who want money.

The manager hides away in her office most of the day and does not interact with guests, even when walking straight past them, e.g. when they are sitting in the bar. Her attitude seems to sway from disinterested to cold. When she does smile it seems forced. We were very surprised at this because in a small property like this you need a visible, service-focused manager who is genuinely interested in people and wants to help them. In addition she failed to inform us of the property's excessively early check-out time which meant we were waiting for nearly five hours for our transfer to the airport after check-out. Had we known this we would have changed to an earlier flight out. She blamed this on our travel agent and she could have and should have managed this situation much better. I believe at a minimum guests should be informed of check-out times on check-in, as they are elsewhere.

My advice is to go to one of the many other better-scoring hotels on Zanzibar, and I would even say that if your travel agent recommends you stay here, reconsider your relationship with that agent. I am asking my agent to reconsider recommending this hotel to her customers. The negative reviews on this property ring so much more true for me than the positive ones.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel

Address: Kigomani, Matemwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Paradise ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel Matemwe, Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasha Boutique Luxury Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.