We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect family holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azanzi Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Azanzi Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Azanzi Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   Azanzi Beach, Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A perfect family holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We just returned from Zanzibar after a wonderful week at Ananzi where we were treated like both royalty and family. This was the perfect getaway for my husband and I and our two young adult children as it provided enough together time and apart time, enough to do as a couple, for the children to do on their own with other young guests and for the four of us as a family.
We loved the intimate atmosphere of the hotel where we soon wondered around barefoot as if it was our own home (just with better food, thanks to the chef, who cooked some of the best food we ever had in Africa outside of South Africa. That Swahili meal was superb, not typical hotel food at all, but tasted as if it was prepared specially for you with love) The setting of the hotel is lovely, right on a wide white beach, and the diving center with a fun and skilled team on the premises, was very convenient. Bedrooms as well as the bathrooms are large and spacious, and comfortable. But the best is the staff, whose attitude is outstanding. When I e.g admired the way the vegetables was cooked, I was invited into the kitchen where the chef himself demonstrated the recipe to me. If you want to spend time in a hotel that is really relaxed and laid back, without nightly entertainment and loud music, and get into the slow and gentle rhythm of the island, you cannot get better than Ananzi. We strongly recommend it. Thanks for taking such good care of us!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM A, General Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Mrs. Nortje

Thank you very much for your posting on Tripadvisor. We are proud to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests. It was a great pleasure to have guests enjoying their time at Azanzi Beach Hotel and I am happy that you and the entire family felt welcome and cared for.
I am so glad that you chose to make memories at Azanzi Beach Hotel and thank you sincerely for your compliments, which I will gladly pass on to my team.


Kind Regards,
Dewald van der Berg
Azanzi Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    45
    12
    10
    10
See reviews for
27
140
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Polokwane, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We arrived from Or Tambo on Mango. What a trip... We were met by Dewald an booked in promptly. This was our second holiday at Azanzi. This was the best holiday ever. We met some fellow South Africans from the Cape and it was one party after the other. The chef needs to be congratulated as the food were the best we have ever experienced. The staff were so helpfull and friendly. Your glass were never empty, ask my wife Karen,the ladies enjoyed their nights, sometimes up to 03;00 in the mornings. The crayfish night , something to experience....ohh we miss you guys already. Well done to the staff and Dewald.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen F, General Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Charles and Karen

Thank you very much for your posting on Tripadvisor. We proud to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests. It was a great pleasure to have returning guests enjoying their time at Azanzi Beach Hotel and especially that you enjoyed it more the second time around.
I am so glad that you chose to make memories at Azanzi again and thank you sincerely for your compliments, which I will gladly pass on to my team.


Kind Regards,
Dewald van der Berg
Azanzi Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just experienced the most interesting and exhilarating reef tour by our super guide Haji Abbas. He was able to spot and explain many amazing sea creatures, coral and plant species. He was patient, informative and knowledgable. I would gladly recommend him. Tharashini Moodley, Durban, South Africa.

Room Tip: Superior suites were large, spacious and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen F, General Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your posting on Tripadvisor. We proud to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests.
The reef tour is one of the highlights that is on offering at Azanzi and I am so glad that you pointed this out to other readers on our behalf. I hope that the rest of your island holiday was a memorable one.

Kind Regards,
Dewald van der Berg
Azanzi Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

After a wonderful 5 night stay I can highly recommend this lovely relaxing hotel. After a busy week on safari in Tanzania this place was just what we needed. We arrive to a refreshing welcome drink before being shown to our room by the amazing staff, who were so helpful an friendly throughout our stay. Our room was absolutely beautiful with an outside shower and Jacuzzi. The food options were brilliant with the lunches being our personal highlight, especially their club sandwich. The beach and the coastline in general are both stunning and the beach boys do not annoy unlike in Some places I have travelled. All in all an amazing stay which we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen F, General Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your posting on Tripadvisor. We proud to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests.

I am so glad that your island holiday was a memorable one and thank you sincerely for your compliments, which I will gladly pass on to my team.


Kind Regards,

Dewald van der Berg
General Manager
Azanzi Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had our first holiday away at Azanzi beach resort we loved every minute of it, the staff are always willing to help and make your stay memorable.
The room was amazing overlooking the resort pool. we loved the outside shower .
Some days we were the only people at the resort so we got to pick what we would like to eat . this included seafood platters. we were also given a private dinner on the beach.

We thank all the staff for making I a memorable holiday

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen F, General Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your posting on Tripadvisor. We proud to receive such positive feedback from our valued guests.

I am so glad that your island holiday was a memorable one and thank you sincerely for your compliments, which I will gladly pass on to my team.


Kind Regards,

Dewald van der Berg
General Manager
Azanzi Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Flight Centre sold us a "5 star Luxury Boutique hotel" with "A 5-star quality dining experience"

Azanzi is far from this.

All taps rusty
Lounger mattress ripped and decrepit
On 6th request our door was fixed. Locked in and out each time
Salt water shower
Food mediocre
No snacks
Terrible loud music all day
Slow service
Hot tub not hot and salt water
Out side room light not working
Every one had issues with their rooms
pool Towels old and tattered
Broken toilet
Broken general toilet by bar
Cock roaches

The pool is completely under cover and all water is salt water so NO FRESH WATER


After a long complaint process with flight centre the hotel offered us a R950 ($88usd) refund, this is even after we paid to upgrade our room with an upgrade fee of R1670 ($155usd)

We are well travelled and we have never had such a difference in what we were sold and what was delivered.

Room Tip: Dont stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen F, Manager at Azanzi Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear sir/madam

Thank you very much for your posting on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your feedback and use this to continuously rectify and improve our product.

I can assure you that a number of the issues mentioned were already in the process of being resolved during your stay. To address the balance, we were closed for three weeks in April for a general maintenance upgrade. Upon our re-opening, we showcase a much improved Azanzi experience with a fresh feel and a new invigorated staff compliment.

Our marketing and sales team is also ensuring that the agencies that sell Azanzi are aware of all details regarding our offering.

I realize that my reply is probably small consolation to you after the fact, but would like to invite you to contact the office of our Managing Director with a view to revisit us sometime in the future. Please speak to Samantha Shuttleworth, the Johannesburg office manager, on + 27 87 740 9261 or samantha@ahagroup.co.za

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boksburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from the most amazing week at Azanzi Beach Hotel. Our room was stunning and in immaculate condition. Loved the outside shower!! The resort itself is beautiful, clean, well maintained and has stunning seaviews from the bar and dining areas. Waiters were friendly, helpful and acommodating. Especially Jackson, Angelique and Peter. I was given an amazing Birthday treat with a romantic dinner served outside under a beauganvillia filled gazebo with candles and a Birthday cake from management. The manager Glen and his assistant Antionette were extrememly acommodating when it came to arranging excursions for us.I am a photographer and they asked Ali who is an outstanding guide to accompany us on our tour to Stone Town. He knew exactly where to take me in Stone Town and helped me to communicate with the locals. Snorkeling directly outside the holtel was amazing and we saw so many fish. The only bad part was having to leave this little piece of heaven and go back to the real world. We will most definitely be going back!Thank you to all the staff and management of Azanzi for our very special stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azanzi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azanzi Beach Hotel

Address: Azanzi Beach, Matemwe, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Azanzi Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated on the North Eastern coast of Zanzibar, and approximately 45 minutes from the airport in Stonetown. Azanzi is a luxury boutique beach hotel which boasts 35 rooms comprising of 8 Superior rooms, 17 deluxe rooms and 10 deluxe villas The central guest entertainment areas offer guests multi level viewing decks, well stocked curio shop, azure swimming pool, bar and dining area - maximising the sublime view of the majestic and tranquil Indian Ocean, and powder-white beach's scattered with palm trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Azanzi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azanzi Beach Hotel Matemwe, Zanzibar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azanzi Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.