We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zanzibar Retreat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Zanzibar Retreat Hotel to your Saves list
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Matemwe Beach | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We spent 5 nights here after climbing Kilimanjaro and it was the perfect place to relax and unwind. The food was incredible and the service was first class, very friendly and helpful staff. You must go snorkelling in Mnemba Island, great sealife and dolphins if youre lucky which we were. Highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. Nice view, spacious room, excellent service and delicious food.It is a perfect place to relax ,especially after a safari trip.
I. ROOM
The DeLuxe room overlooking the sea with a spacious balcony is highly recommended. It is worth extra dollars. Standard rooms are rather small and mediocre.
II. LOCATION
Approximately 1 hour drive from the Stone Town as well as the airport . There is not much to see around the area. But the beach with white sands is long and good for walking.
III FOOD
Tasty food. I was nicely surprised to come across with delicious seafood spaghetti. The spaghetti was real aldente(not overlooked like in many other places)! I did not feel like going out of this hideout. So I ended up eating 3 meals a day here for 3 days. But I never got bored.
IV SERVICE
All the staff are friendly and helpful. The general manager Jan is managing the hotel professionally . He will give you always a good advice,whenever you need it. I kept in touch with him in email ,since the time of reservation. He was quick to answer and tried to accommodate my preferences (such as the room type). Thank you Jan.
V EXTRA
There was a family who went out to a tour of watching dolphins. They came back very excited,because they could swim with 7 dolphins! If you try to do this in Hawaii ,you have to pay 150 dollars per person(and together with a big crowd).

Room Tip: Definitely choose a DeLuxe room with a balcony. There are not many. So you have to reserve well in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrottingloner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I cannot recommend Jan's place highly enough. The hotel is small and perfect for couples on their honeymoon. The staff are really friendly and helpful and Jan is great for advice on where to go, what to do. It was really good value compared to other places we'vd looked and the food was great.

Room Tip: Ask about the honeymoon offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiamhOD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

The Zanzibar retreat is a fantastic place to stay. Jan and his team provide excellent service. The food is great and we enjoyed the option of ordering fresh seafood a couple of nights which was beautifully cooked! The rooms are very clean and well kept. Even the laundry was perfectly washed and ironed! Happy hour cocktails (4-6pm) were fantastic value and served in the delightful sea view bar. We highly recommend Zanzibar Retreat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BellGell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We found this place on TripAdvisor and couldn't have been happier with our choice. We stayed there 3 nights prior to starting our safari. It was easily the best place we stayed in for our entire vacation. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are just wonderful. The meals were delicious and the wait staff attentive. Jan recommended Scuba Fish Zanzibar for a snorkeling trip to Mnemba Atoll. We had a fantastic time. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razzmatazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberton, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here with friends as a wind-down after a dusty Intrepid trip through Kenya and Tanzania. Jan was very apologetic at forgetting our transfer but, other than that, our stay was outstanding. The room was very comfortable, three steps from the pool, and the resort has a wide range of comfortable and relaxing corners to chill out - love the hammocks. The staff were very attentive, always smiling and taking time to chat.
Though swimming on the beach was a little difficult, there was no problem 'wallowing' and the morning sunrises were stunning. We also met 'Mr.Match' there who organised a trip to Mnemba Island snorkelling and a spice tour combined with our transfer back to Stonetown. Both were very enjoyable and grand value.
However the absolute highlight of the stay was the meals. We took the half-board option and enjoyed two magnificent evening dinners - four courses of the most delightful, locally inspired food. It was undoubtedly the best food I have enjoyed anywhere - many, many thanks to the kitchen staff and Karen.
The Retreat is in a quiet corner of the island but if you want to wind down after the dust and early starts of a safari, then you should very seriously consider this place.

Room Tip: Two rooms upstairs have the view but downstairs on the north side have the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank old55Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Enjoyed the quiet location, good food and friendly staff. "Retreat" is a perfect name for this place. Comfortable and close to great scuba diving and snorkeling. Would recommend this place for families, couples, friends or a solo trip. Management went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matemwe
5.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
15.8 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#1 of 158 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
Ras Nungwi Beach Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
1.7 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#3 of 18 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 816 reviews
8.1 mi away
Mvuvi Resort
Mvuvi Resort
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
5.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzibar Retreat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzibar Retreat Hotel

Address: Matemwe Beach | Zanzibar, Matemwe, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Matemwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Matemwe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zanzibar Retreat Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small beach Retreat. Good food and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your Zanzibar Retreat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzibar Retreat Matemwe
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel Matemwe, Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing